1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help audio system

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by marcodias1988, May 18, 2014.

1. marcodias1988

marcodias1988 New Member

[May 18, 2014]
    Hi all noob here so go easy on me.
    Now got the audi a4 avant b5 1997 with a different head unit on it so as you know back speakers dont work.

My 2 questions are whats the best way to find the back speaker cable on the loom as i just wana run 2 cables from hu to back doors for aftermarket speakers.should i cut and try everysingle cable until i get sound from speakers???
    And can anyone tell me if im running the amp cable from battery to cabin if i run it under the ecu what do i need to take apart in order to see it inside?as ive searched and seen everyone recomending that route but never say where the cable actually shows up inside ? Please help
  2. Ads

Ads

[Sep 18, 2014]

3. aragorn

aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

[May 18, 2014]
    The rear speakers are powered by a small amplifier in the rear. On an avant, its located in the rear left side panel in the boot along with the factory subwoofer.

You have two choices.

Either buy the correct lead (PC9-404) which allows you to connect the pre-outs on your head unit to this existing amplifier, and will fix the rear speakers and subwoofer.

OR

Run some new cable from the head units rear speaker outputs thru the car, and splice them into the rear speaker wires at the amplifier, bypassing the amplifier itself.

cutting and trying every single cable is NOT what you want to do, find the correct cables first, THEN cut them.

If you can get at the amp and take a decent photo of the connector and post it up, it should be possible for us to identify the speaker wires for you.