1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help/advice on changing aux belt?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Mikemc, May 4, 2013.

  1. Mikemc
    Offline

    Mikemc Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    32
    I noticed mine is a little perished were done of the grooves have came off in a patch sort if thing.

    I'm going to give it a go myself, is there anything else I should be changing at the same time whilst its off?

    Should I get it from audi or will a contitech one be fine from ECP?
    #1
  2. A3_130
    Offline

    A3_130 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Not much else to think about changing and it should be a pretty straightforward job. Contitech's good stuff so ECP is fine or CarParts4Less do the same parts for even cheaper. You'd pay a fair bit more at the dealers for the same quality item.
    #2
  3. Mikemc
    Offline

    Mikemc Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    32
    So I don't need to be changing no pulleys etc?
    #3
  4. Johnny Bravo
    Offline

    Johnny Bravo 6+1 Gears

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    57
    You'd better change the belt tensioner and alternator pulley too.
    When I did mine I only changed the tensioner. Now I have to change it again because the alternator pulley got stuck and forced the belt to press harder on the tensioner. It gave up again.
    Pay once and stay relaxed. Don't be cheap because you may end up paying more in the end.
    #4
  5. elrao
    Offline

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    16
    How difficult are these to change? Do you just release tension by pushing back on the tensioner, slip the belt off and a new one on?
    #5
  6. Mikemc
    Offline

    Mikemc Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    32
    From what I can gather pretty much, I think you can lock the tensioner with a drill bit?
    #6
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Its allot easier with 2 people, takes a few minutes usually, just use a iirc 17mm spanner on the raised lug on the top of tensioner, push it the way that loosens the belt, pop old one of, put new one on & get it under tensioner, then slowly move spanner so tensions back on, check with torch all in grooves ok, run it up & inspect, voila.
    #7
  8. bmh.01
    Offline

    bmh.01 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    15
    What engine? When was the cambelt and tensioners last changed?
    #8
  9. Mikemc
    Offline

    Mikemc Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    32
    Cambelt was done just before I bought it August last year, and its a 2.0 tdi bkd
    #9

Share This Page