Help!! 98 A4 2.8 Weird TICK noise from engine after 5 mins drive

tonygump

Reaction score
I am a newbie here~~~:eyebrows: My car is a 1998 (B5) Audi A4 Quattro 30V V6 2.8 MANUAL... The mileage is only 72k. I bought it as a second hand and do not drive it much.

The problem is:
Everything is fine when I start the car. After driving for about 5 minutes, there is little ticking noise (like "Ke le Ke Le") coming from the front of the car.

At first, I thought the noise went away when it is in neutral. So I thought it was the problem in transmission. After I took it to a garage which is specialized in German cars, they said it is from engine and I did hear the ticking noise when it is in neutral. Currently, they recommend me to change the timing belt. But it does not make sense to me why the noise only comes out after the car is warming up...:keule:

Any one has some ideas?? I do appreciate your help!!:hi:

Hey, man

That ticking noise you're hearing is most likely the EVAP Purge Valve that sits right next to the airbox. There's a solenoid inside opening and closing and working.

I have a '98 2.8 Quattro V6 manual as well and I get it too. It's annoying, haha.

I don't know how loud it should be before considering replacement. But don't worry too much just now.

Hey Mark, I do appreciate your reply!!! It's quite useful! :rockwoot:
BTW, do your noise comes out after the car is warming up? I will find garage to look into it~~~ It has no relation with the timing belt?... Thank you so much...

Hey, man

That ticking noise you're hearing is most likely the EVAP Purge Valve that sits right next to the airbox. There's a solenoid inside opening and closing and working.

I have a '98 2.8 Quattro V6 manual as well and I get it too. It's annoying, haha.

I don't know how loud it should be before considering replacement. But don't worry too much just now.