1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP-00542 G80 needle lift sensor error code

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by sebhar70, Jan 11, 2010.

  1. sebhar70
    Offline

    sebhar70 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Visited Audi dealers recently and this code appeared on the diagnostic, engineer states that the lift sensor in the number 3 injector is faulty and will cost £615.49 to replace. I think they will need to replace the whole injector unit. Anyone had this happen before? Is there a cheaper option?
    #1
  2. staggspeed
    Offline

    staggspeed staggspeed

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had this happen about 5 years ago on a seat alhambra, the hall sensor is part of the injector, so the whole thing had to be replaced,i seem to remember it cost me about £125 back then.
    #2
  3. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,888
    Likes Received:
    475
    The wire to the needle sensor in the injector is prone to rubbing through on the cam cover and shorting, I would make sure they check that first off.
    #3
  4. sebhar70
    Offline

    sebhar70 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was that for the whole injector unit (new) or was you able to recondition?
    #4
  5. sebhar70
    Offline

    sebhar70 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok will do
    #5
  6. staggspeed
    Offline

    staggspeed staggspeed

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    reconditioned if i remember correctly,but james is spot on,check the wire first.
    #6
  7. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,888
    Likes Received:
    475
    I thought I had this issue last year and it was the wire, I can't remember the quoted price of the sensor (maybe £160 ish?), but its only built into an injector from memory, so £615 is ridiculous!
    #7
  8. staggspeed
    Offline

    staggspeed staggspeed

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    definitely built into the sensor James,I remember thinking at the time what a dumb idea that was,it would keep going into limp mode,turn it off start it again and it would be ok for a while.
    #8
  9. sebhar70
    Offline

    sebhar70 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it easy to check the wire? can I do it myself?
    #9
  10. staggspeed
    Offline

    staggspeed staggspeed

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    just check the insulation has not worn through earthing it out.
    #10

Share This Page