1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Heated seats retrofit installation help? audi a3 8p

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by ps44u, Nov 11, 2011.

  1. ps44u
    Offline

    ps44u Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 11, 2011]
    Basically, iv got the leather heated seats, the loom from kufatec and the climate control with the heated buttons, is there anything else i require for this installation? i just wanted to know if anyone else has retro fitted heated seats into an a3 and if they could provide me with some assistance? because i know that its not just a plug and play job.
    #1
  2. audicruiser
    Offline

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    46
    [Nov 11, 2011]
    Surely you will need the heating elements for the seats??
    #2
  3. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,261
    Likes Received:
    1,078
    [Nov 11, 2011]
    See above.

    I think thats all you need.
    the switches does all the controlling and the Kufatec loom makes it close to 100% plug and play.
    You just need to earth the loom and plug it in to a live with a fuse.
    #3
  4. audicruiser
    Offline

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    46
    [Nov 12, 2011]
    Sorry guys, need specsavers lol!!!!
    #4
  5. ps44u
    Offline

    ps44u Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 13, 2011]
    right, that would explain the extra wires with the loom, theres three wires, im guessing, one must be permanent live, the other switch live and an earth? so could i earth it anywhere or is there a specific place?
    cheers
    #5
  6. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,156
    Likes Received:
    571
    [Nov 14, 2011]
    use Elsawin! Kufatec cables from my experience are setup the same way that it would show you in Elsa... i could try and get you the diagram if you dont already have Elsa... what year is the A3?
    #6
  7. ps44u
    Offline

    ps44u Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2011]
    its on a 2005 plate, and a diagram would be great! cheers
    #7
  8. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,156
    Likes Received:
    571
    [Nov 15, 2011]
    do you have an email address so i can send you the diagram?
    #8
  9. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,156
    Likes Received:
    571
    [Nov 15, 2011]
    ok so i just managed to upload a screenshot of it for those who want it... (right click and view image for a larger view)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #9
  10. ps44u
    Offline

    ps44u Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 16, 2011]
    #10
  11. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,156
    Likes Received:
    571
    [Nov 16, 2011]
    sent :)
    #11
  12. audi_s5
    Offline

    audi_s5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 4, 2013]
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2013
    #12
  13. a31.6sport
    Offline

    a31.6sport New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 6, 2015]
    Hi j have the kufatec loom on the red and white wire to fuse box what'si you connect to the other end in fuse in box ?? If that makes sense
    Audi A3 8p 2006
    #13
  14. audi_s5
    Offline

    audi_s5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 6, 2015]
    Wire configuration:


    Red/ White - Constant Hot - Fusebox

    Wires (Gray) on the opposite needs to be connect to the climate control Connector D PIN 13, 14 Brown - Ground point A-column White - climate control connector D PIN 2 (if already used solder onto line) Blue/ Yellow - climate control connector C , PIN 10 Blue/ Red - climate control connector C, PIN 9 Gray with Yellow mark - climate control connector D, PIN 5 Gray with Red mark - climate control connector D, PIN 6
    #14
  15. a31.6sport
    Offline

    a31.6sport New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 12, 2015]
    All my wires. Are grey some have numbers on some don't im guessing the kufatec loom is made for left hand drive if this is the case I've connected the plugs the wrong way on seats
    #15
  16. riz1990
    Offline

    riz1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 20, 2015]
    I have the same problem, I've messaged kufatec asking for updated instructions and also made some educated guesses.

    I've tested the wires for continuity between the seat plugs and marked them for the drivers seat and passenger seat.
    The 2 grey wires that connect to one crimp I assume are ground for some kind of sensor or signal in the seat, I'm pretty sure these are white in the instructions.

    The two thicker grey wires are 12v, and I believe these are the grey with yellow mark and red mark, one for each seat.
    Which only leaves 2 skinny grey wires which must be the signal wires (blue/yellow and blue/red). the problem is knowing from their instructions which one goes to which seat. :-/

    Also I have the climate control unit in case that changes anything.

    cheers
    Riz
    #16
  17. riz1990
    Offline

    riz1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 20, 2015]
    I just got a reply from Kuftec, apparently the wires have the colours written on them...I just checked and they don't have the colours written on them but the pins, and example T16d/5 so plug D pin5. hope this helps.
    #17
  18. Ceylon
    Offline

    Ceylon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Jan 20, 2015]
    Check the pins with a multimeter, my harness was cross wired for the heat sensors.
    #18

Share This Page