1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Headlight Wiring

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by stevereid, Apr 22, 2010.

  1. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Folks,

    I've had some LED strips i've wanted to fit for a while. My Turbo hose has just come off for the third time in 3 weeks, so while I had the air intake off I decided to have a look at the headlight..when I eventually got the multiplug off...after snapping the little lug that keeps it on..I put a multimeter over the pins and couldnt get any conclusive reading from a specific pin with the side lights on.
    So, does anyone out there know which wire feeds the sidelights ? so I can attach the led's to it, if that makes sense.

    Steve
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone help ? Which wire in the headlight multiplug feeds the side lights ?? :(
     
  4. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi Avant Owner Group Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,019
    Likes Received:
    532
    Most people run them from a wire that's live when the ignition is on, so they are in effect on with the engine. The easiest way to do this is to find a feed in the ecu box.
     
  5. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    James,
    This was supposed to be a quick and simple mod..and they've been in the boot for months now..I can't find a bloody ignition live in the engine bay.,..anywhere..ahhh.
    Have got door blades on the way tho :)
     
  6. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi Avant Owner Group Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,019
    Likes Received:
    532
    Surely it must be fairly straightforward to run a wire through into the fuse box?

    What blades are coming?
     
  7. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    James,
    Electrics have never been my strong point, can fit kitchens, bathrooms..tiling and flooring etc..but never got to grips with electrics !
    I've got some S-line door blades coming, should be here early next week.
     
  8. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi Avant Owner Group Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,019
    Likes Received:
    532
    I'm with you on electrics!

    The door blades are an easy fit however!
     
  9. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    i see on my car some one has run a wire from my ignition live for a none audi stereo they had put in this is not hard to do at all very strate forward.
    just take off the steering colum case then with your multymeter find the ignition live now you can follow this down to a safe point to pinch its feed from the fuse box
    or just tap into it but make sure you put an inline fuse in for the lights.
     
  10. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wired mine up to the headlight adjustment cable, as that's always powered when the ignition is on and of course I used a relay. Can rememer which it was, but can check tomorrow if you need or if you have a meter, just put the ignition on and see which one has power.

    Rich
     
  11. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers Rich,
    As much info as poss would be great ..cheers

    Steve
     
  12. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry Steve, my day hasn't gone to plan today, so first time on the computer.

    Now I've looked at it I'm not sure if it is the headlight adjustment, I thought it was but I guess it was that long ago I just forgot. Anyway, behind the passenger side headlight lift the small black plastic cover up, you'll see a connector like below:

    [​IMG]

    Tap into the white & red wire like you can see I have above. I'd just double check it with a meter to be sure it's the right one. I cut the wire and soldered it back together with the additional wire connected and then used some shrink wrap.

    Good luck mate.

    Rich
     
  13. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the info Rich, I'll try and have a go at it this afternoon, weather permitting :)
    Is that the headligh multiplug in the picture ?
    Steve
     
  14. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's just behind the light, there's a small reservoirs with a black plastic cover on top of it, lift that cover up and you'll see what I photographed for you. Sorry, I shouldn't have zoomed in so much. I haven't got my car with me, but can take a wider photo later if that would help?
     
  15. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers Rich, I'll have a look when I get in tonight/this afternoon.
    Thanks again mate.
    Would did you use to fix the led strips in place by the way ?
     
  16. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're welcome, good luck with it.

    The ones I have had a sticky strip on the back, but I also used a glue gun to put a little glue at each end as I found that it was a bit of a week bond there.
     
  17. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine don't have any sticky strip, so glue gun it is I think. hopefully this afternoon :)
    Did you just earth them to the chasis ?
     
  18. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yip, I took a bolt out and used one of those washer type connectors.
     
    #17 wallacr, Apr 26, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2010
  19. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi Avant Owner Group Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,019
    Likes Received:
    532
    I'm following this with interest ;)
     
  20. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rich,
    Spent last night fitting door blades..so aslong as the weather up here holds, i'm going to pickup some wire and terminal connectors and have a go at the led's tonight :) With my electrical knowledge, the car will probably be off the road tomorrow :)
    Steve
     
  21. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure you'll do just fine Steve, good luck with it.

    I'm thinking about some door blades.

    Rich
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
  24. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that. Mines a saloon though, so not sure if they'd fit mine. Plus think I best wait a month or so as I've done quite a few mods this month already, lol
     
  25. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    They would fit :) I know what you mean tho :) I need a turbo pressure hose which is around £50 which wasnt budgeted for...and my wifes tax is due..
     
  26. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's good to know, thanks. It all comes at once.
     
  27. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you fit a relay to your led lights ? or just wire them live with the ignition ? Pardon my ignorance, but I think i've made it clear how bad my electrical knowledge is :)
     
  28. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did fit a relay, but used that ignition feed I mentioned as the trigger and don't forget an inline fuse, I used a 15amp one in place on there.
     
  29. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    see, now its getting complicated :) I was hoping to just tap into the live feed and then earth it.. can feel i'm getting out of my depth by the second :(
     
  30. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could do that, a relay isn't totally necessary as those lights should draw too much power, I just always prefer to use them. I'd definitely put a fuse on the positive cable though.
     
  31. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, the fuse on the positive I can manage :) Did you power both led strips from the same feed ? (stupid questions..i know) :)
     
  32. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I did. Good luck mate
     
  33. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers Rich, Going to call at my local motor factors on the way home to pick up the bits :)
     
  34. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problem Steve
     
  35. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rich,

    Sods law, behind my passenger headlight, on the multi plug where you have tapped into the red and white wire..I dont have a red and white wire from that f*cking multi plug, I seem to have the other coloured wires you have and have a red and white wire from the multiplug below, but not as you have :(
     
  36. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nightmare. Do you have a multi meter? Maybe one of the others in there is also run of the ignition.

    Rich
     
  37. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thnk fook for that :) job done..lights fitted and working..The red and white wire was there..just dirty :)
    Thanks Rich for all your guidance and help.
    Steve
     
  38. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're welcome and nice one, glad you found it and got the job done :)
     
  39. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    They look good, i'll post some pics tomorrow, seeing as its dark now and i need a shower :)
     
  40. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    LED's..if you can see them
    [​IMG]
     
  41. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice one Steve, glad you got them on ok :)
     
  42. stevereid

    stevereid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes,,,eventually :)
     

Share This Page