1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Headlight switch

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by marcyp, Sep 29, 2009.

  1. marcyp
    Offline

    marcyp Only me

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey has anyone got a guide for the headlight switch removal, as mine is playing up so i would like to get it out clean it up and see if that fixes things, any help would be nice tips or anything
    thanks guys and girls
    #1
  2. ruairi83
    Offline

    ruairi83 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    28
    id say you remove cover from fuse box then you can push switch out mate. fuse cover comes of, the fuse box screws out with 4-5 screws you can see the relays and switch from there...
    #2
  3. jojo
    Online

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    25,989
    Likes Received:
    1,580
    Nono, you can see it, but you don't remove it like that....

    What you need to do is grab the knob bit you rotate and push it inwards, it's spring loaded, then I think you need to twist it anti clockwise until you can feel it stop and pull the whole thing out. There will be 2 connectors you need to remove, one is for the lights, the other is for the dimmer/headlamp height adjuster.
    #3
  4. marcyp
    Offline

    marcyp Only me

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    jojo you were right, after i had taken it out found out that one of the springs had fallen out as the plastic that holds it in and broken away but i did mange to find it so might try and glue it, other whys dose anyone know if you can get just the knob itself? thanks
    #4
  5. jcs356
    Offline

    jcs356 Brum brum

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,682
    Likes Received:
    34
    Nope, it's a whole unit. I had a similar problem on mine with a bit of the plastic which got jammed in the switch so when I switched the lights on my front fogs came on as well. Not wanting to look like a chav with front fogs on I priced up a new unit, nearly fainted, then got one off eBay off someone breaking an S3.
    #5
  6. MikeA3
    Offline

    MikeA3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,178
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a headlight switch for an A3 at home that's no use to me anymore as I've got the S3 now - It's fully functional but has a small scratch on the knob itself (that's why i ended up replacing it)

    if it would be of use to you drop me a PM

    Mike
    #6

Share This Page