1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Headlight adjuster screw/cog

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Rs6mick, Apr 25, 2013.

  1. Rs6mick
    Offline

    Rs6mick New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi people looking under the bonnet of my s3 today and noticed one of my headlights is missing the screw and cog that adjusts it so I thought I can just buy them from Audi but looking at the etka online on the web and it looks like you cannot buy them on there own can someone please help me or point me in the right direction

    thanks
    #1
  2. Dan-Jnr
    Online

    Dan-Jnr Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    125
    I had this problem too, the garage who did my MOT managed to stick a nut on the adjuster.
    Audi will want to replace the whole headlight if you let them touch it.
    #2
  3. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
  4. vfr800
    Offline

    vfr800 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    44
    Hi

    I assume you're left with this

    [​IMG]

    Cos this has fallen off?

    [​IMG]

    It's a bummer.

    There is a thread somewhere on here where someone mentions where you can purchase this type of bevelled cog from. I think it was HPC Gears Home page I was going to send them a sample one and they'd make one that would fit.

    Unfortunately without this cog the head lights flap up and down when you go over a bump and you cannot (obviously) adjust the lights.

    Liam
    #4
  5. Slammedorion
    Offline

    Slammedorion Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    12
    Pull it out as far as possible and put a thick zip tie round it... :yes:
    #5
  6. Sam_
    Offline

    Sam_ Down under

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,822
    Likes Received:
    340
    Aren't you supposed to calibrate the lights in VCDS and not really touch those? I just re-calibrated mine after sorting the front and rear sensors and it's miles better.
    #6
  7. vfr800
    Offline

    vfr800 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    44
    No, VCDS calibrates the motorised level adjusters. That puts the motors in theirs default home or middle position.

    you then use the manual adjusters to aim the lights where they should be pointing.

    the motors merely move both lights up or down a bit to compensate for the loads in your cars, Thats why you have sensors on the front and rear wheel. So that the car knows if there's more weight in the front or back.

    liam
    #7
  8. Sam_
    Offline

    Sam_ Down under

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,822
    Likes Received:
    340
    Ah ok. It is also possible to change the home/default position in VCDS too, if needed.
    #8
  9. rhys1210
    Offline

    rhys1210 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    19
    I had the cog missing on mine. i just went to a scrap yard pull one off of a car and fitted it to mine.
    #9

Share This Page