1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Head unit

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by laney, Feb 6, 2012.

  1. laney
    Offline

    laney Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 6, 2012]
    Is it best to buy an aftermarket head unit or can
    You adapt something to take aux on standard
    Unit?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Feb 6, 2012]
    Standard units a bucket of **** so your just as well replacing it.
    #2
  4. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 6, 2012]
    You can get a Connects2 box for about £30 which allows AUX in via the cd changer input
    #3
  5. Danman1
    Offline

    Danman1 Thorough noob

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Feb 6, 2012]
    I had an after market head unit in my S3, replaced it with an original because it was better in my eyes. However the after market one is a Sony explod which had a 3.5 mm aux jack on the front. £40 if you want it. Like new, with wiring to go into an 8l a3/S3

    Dan
    #4
  6. The Doctor
    Offline

    The Doctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    111
    [Feb 6, 2012]
    I have one of these in my S3 - works fine, keeps the OEM look and the MP3 hides away in the glovebox.
    #5
  7. stumpy83
    Offline

    stumpy83 one legged wonder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 6, 2012]
    im looking for an OEM set to replace my pioneer, you can purchase a cable from ebay for about £9 for an aux ;)
    #6
  8. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 7, 2012]
    Those cables are just a cable, which will be useless on its own, you need a box of electronics that simulate the CD changer otherwise the HU will just ignore the connection
    #7
  9. stumpy83
    Offline

    stumpy83 one legged wonder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 7, 2012]
    the lead im thinking dosent need any box it will connect via the blue mini iso socket at the back of the unit which will give you a direct aux
    and you control the music via your external device
    #8
  10. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 7, 2012]
    Ahh the magic lead yes I forgot about that one. And how do you select the mini blue ISO socket as a valid source with no CD changer connected to it?
    As said you need a Connects2 or similar to emulate a CD changer so that the HU then allows you to select the CD input as a valid source
    #9
  11. stumpy83
    Offline

    stumpy83 one legged wonder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 7, 2012]
    well i know it works so thats ok for me ;)
    the stereo thinks its connected to a cd changer, the apporpriate pin is grounded which fouls the head unit to think its the changer then allows the (LEFT / RIGHT) input to act as an aux input
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2012
    #10
  12. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 7, 2012]
    Wow think how annoyed Dension, xcarlink & Connects2 will be when they find out. All that R&D replicating a databus and all they had to do was ground a single pin!
    #11
  13. stumpy83
    Offline

    stumpy83 one legged wonder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 7, 2012]
    your very sarky!!!! and its the same with peugeot,
    do you know everything?

    im not gonna argue with you guru
    #12
  14. laney
    Offline

    laney Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 8, 2012]
    One problem guys mine doesnt have a cd player, i like the unit thats in now so wanted to keep it but
    if to much hassle il buy aftermarket
    #13
  15. stumpy83
    Offline

    stumpy83 one legged wonder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 8, 2012]
    on the reverse of the unit is there a yellow / blue / green socket above the power / speaker iso??
    #14
  16. laney
    Offline

    laney Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2012]
    just changing convo slightly, do you know how hard it is to fit face lift lights?
    #15

Share This Page