1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Head unit wiring problem

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Paradox1, May 13, 2012.

  1. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [May 13, 2012]
    Ok so i fitted my cd changer about 6 months ago,put everything back together the after a week or 2 i had no sounds through the speakers. pulled the head unit out and saw this?anyone else had this problem? I can put the wires back but it doesnt hold in place. Could i solder ther in?any input appreciated.

    [​IMG]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. rhubarb4
    Offline

    rhubarb4 Certified Jardo Slayer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    107
    [May 13, 2012]
    Have you got a mouse as your passenger lol
    #2
  4. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [May 13, 2012]
    lol you would think so.

    anyone got any advice?
    #3
  5. Nick090884
    Offline

    Nick090884 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 13, 2012]
    Hi ya Mate

    Is it catching when you push the head unit back. i would imagine if you can push each pin from the harness you could solder them back on or gentle recrimp them.
    #4
  6. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [May 13, 2012]
    Thanks Nick,

    havent got any crimping tools so I will have to solder it together.just thought id ask first
    #5
  7. Nick090884
    Offline

    Nick090884 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 13, 2012]
    No worries just try and tag the wires onto the spades dont think they will go back with to much on there. there should be a little clip in each hole holding each spade, eiether plastic on the harness or a metal tag from the spade. i havent seen a audi harness so could comment on which it has.
    #6
  8. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [May 13, 2012]
    Just solder them together, or use a small terminal block. Crimped connections like those in the picture are always going to fail.
    #7
  9. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [May 14, 2012]
    Cheers lads will have a crack at it during the week.been listening to my enginebsound for so many months now I've forgotten what music sounded like
    #8
  10. AJD S3
    Offline

    AJD S3 2nd Gear

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    15
    [May 14, 2012]
    I'd strongly advise against soldering the leads directly into the plastic connector plug, or it'll end up very messy with melted plastic everywhere - unless you're some kind of micro-precision-soldering god!

    Pull the old crimp connectors out with long nosed pliers, or anything else appropriate, and either attach either these, or new connectors, to the ends of the wires first - if you're going to solder them, at least do it whilst their out of the plastic connector plug.

    Good luck!
    #9
  11. Nick090884
    Offline

    Nick090884 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 14, 2012]
    i would of though you would been taken the crimps off, bit to close to be doing anything with them. bit pointles to have a crimp that close to the harness if the cables are broke. looked like the crimps were there frist time around to save soldering the harness. clean cable just past the crimps id stripped them back. as said in my second reply remove the spades from the harness to solder.
    #10
  12. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [May 16, 2012]
    Right lads due to my certified overly gangsta soldering skills (first time since school days) I have sorted the wiring out and now how music. Wired up the sub and no boom boom. Checked all the wires which are cool. Checked the fuse and it was blown. No biggie, sobi got one from the driver side panel and Boom, bog blue spark and that one blew aswell. The engine and music was off so what am I doing wrong?
    #11
  13. TDIQ
    Offline

    TDIQ 8L > 8P > 8V

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 16, 2012]
    Are you sure it's the correct rated fuse? Check for any shorts.

    Is that a VW Gamma unit in your A3?
    #12
  14. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [May 16, 2012]
    Yeah factory gamma unit, I had the sub and amp fitted previously and it worked fine. The pic at the top of the thread is why I took it out as I couldn't be arsed to sort it. Now I've finally don't it, it keep popping fuses. The fuse should be the last thing to go in right? It's a 25amp fuse I was using
    #13
  15. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [May 17, 2012]
    You obviously have an incorrect connection and for it to blow without the HU on then it has to be the permanent live shorting out on the earth or the chassis of the HU as that it the only fused feed that is live with the HU off - some pics would be useful
    #14
  16. Paradox1
    Offline

    Paradox1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    86
    [May 17, 2012]
    [​IMG]

    All the wires are in the correct place as far as I remember.
    #15
  17. Nick090884
    Offline

    Nick090884 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 17, 2012]
    looking at your picture the red is in ground and the black is in 12v permant swap em over.
    Last edited: May 17, 2012
    #16

Share This Page