1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Head Unit/Ipod Integration Woe :(

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by Donna86, Jun 9, 2013.

  1. Donna86
    Offline

    Donna86 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all,

    Im very new to this forum and I have only just got my Audi A3 1.9tdi 2009 car, I love it but...
    I have the Bose system and a double din concert head unit and I am used to a lot of bass so wanted my sub in my boot, anyway il explain the full story.

    Received my Audi Saturday 25th of May.
    On the day I collected it I noticed the ipod preparation didn't work so phoned Audi.
    Audi then informed me I had the wrong plastic adaptors and they would order me a pack.
    Saturday 1rst June - Pick up the adaptors. Also notice still does not work, tried Ipod Touch, and another Classic both didn't work.
    I then ordered an adaptor from Ebay because it felt like my ipod wasn't secure.
    This day my dad also tried to install a line out connector to the back of the head unit (He knows what he's doing). My sub didn't power so he took it out, put the head unit back in and the head units display is blank! ARGHHHH. It fully works, all the buttons work just no display. He's checked every pin, every connection and all is fine.
    I contacted Audi last Monday and booked my car in for Friday just gone.
    In the meanwhile I received the ipod connector and it didn't work again with my iPhone, with the ipod touch or two classics.
    Took my car into Audi on Friday and basically they have refused to repair the head unit and refused to repair the (now been told retrofit ipod prep). They say my dad is correct that all wires and connections are correct but they wont do it under warranty (this I understand because we may have broken it) but the Ipod prep has never worked.

    My question is...
    1. has anybody experienced any of the above problems.
    2. Does anybody know what could be wrong and do I need a whole new head unit
    and 3. if I do need a whole new head unit will a sat nav Audi head unit fit into my car and is it worth while paying an extra 100/150 to upgrade?
    #1
  2. Donna86
    Offline

    Donna86 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    to make matters worse my dads just gone to get the part number code of the stereo and its creating a burning smell so I now have no head unit at all!!!!
    #2
  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    What line out connector did your dad try to install?
    Sounds like he fried the HU with whatever it was as there is no adapter available that I am aware of that will provide this while keeping the Bose amp connected. You need to tap into the Bose loom at the Bose amp if want to continue using the Bose amp and add a proper subwoofer amp, or use the high level output from the cable already going to the Bose sub
    #3
  4. Donna86
    Offline

    Donna86 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yer what im going to do (when i get a new head unit) is get a company to do the exact above. He will charge me 90 quid but id rather get it all done professionally and have cover if anything goes wrong.
    #4
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,228
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Sounds like he's goosed the head unit as per Andy states.

    Question is, what do you want to happen now, get it working as per factory or upgrade to a better system?
    #5

Share This Page