1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Head Unit Help

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by r4j, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. r4j
    Offline

    r4j New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 11, 2010]
    Hi there,

    I am installing a new head unit in my A3 and its got an direct control Ipod connecter, which is ment to go into the glove box, through the back on the headunit.

    Does anyone know how to run the wire into the back of the glove box from the head unit, or take the glove box out?

    Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 20, 2014]

  3. TAC
    Offline

    TAC 3.2 V6 Burble... hmmmmmmm

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 11, 2010]
    #2
  4. r4j
    Offline

    r4j New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 11, 2010]
    That was a great help, thanks very much :)
    #3
  5. TAC
    Offline

    TAC 3.2 V6 Burble... hmmmmmmm

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 11, 2010]
    No worries
    #4
  6. Wozski
    Offline

    Wozski Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 11, 2010]
    i removed my glovebox to install my dension. I unclipped all looms attached to the GB. Does this mean now my airbag wont work??
    #5
  7. TAC
    Offline

    TAC 3.2 V6 Burble... hmmmmmmm

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 11, 2010]
    Should still work as long as while unclipped you haven't turned the ignition on. otherwise you need to get plugged into vagcom/vcds and get the fault cleared.
    #6
  8. Wozski
    Offline

    Wozski Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 12, 2010]
    how will i know if its working without stating the obvious lol
    #7
  9. Pii
    Offline

    Pii Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 12, 2010]
    You could just leave the glovebox plugged in. There is just enough slack on the wires to place the glovebox on the floor.

    Might need something there just to support it from getting scratched.
    #8
  10. Wozski
    Offline

    Wozski Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 12, 2010]
    I had already disconnected the wires
    #9
  11. TAC
    Offline

    TAC 3.2 V6 Burble... hmmmmmmm

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 12, 2010]
    Where abouts in the Uk are you as there are many helpfull audi-sport members that have the data cable and can hook up your car and clear any faults have a look at the VCDS thread to find somebody near you.
    #10
  12. Wozski
    Offline

    Wozski Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 12, 2010]
    im in swansea pal
    #11

Share This Page