1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Head light switch

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by matt116, Oct 24, 2005.

  1. matt116
    Offline

    matt116 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 24, 2005]
    Just a quick one if someone can help. My head light switch is illuminating intermittently (sp?)
    It is only the headlight section as the fog and switch light up as they should. I have checked and it would appear that I can get to the unit via the fuse board at the end of the dash, but my question is what will I find, do I replace a bulb or could it be a loose wire?

    Many thanks

    Matt
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. Kevint
    Offline

    Kevint Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 24, 2005]
    The unit pops out, there's no need to gain access via the fuse board.

    I think it was a4sline that posted how to to it in the tech section, hang on I'll see if I can find it.

    Kev.
    #2
  4. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,124
    Likes Received:
    1,640
    [Oct 24, 2005]
    To remove the switch, you need to puch the lightswitch nob inwards(it's spring loaded) then rotate it left and pull the whole unit out /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #3
  5. jcs356
    Offline

    jcs356 Brum brum

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,684
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Oct 24, 2005]
    Mine does exactly the same thing - nothing obvious to replace when you do get the light switch out so I reckon it is a new switch job. Hence decided to live with it.
    #4
  6. matt116
    Offline

    matt116 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2005]
    Thanks lads, I must say this site is excellent.

    I thought the same as you jcs356, a whole switch unit, thanks Audi but I may have a look anyway.

    Thanks again

    Matt
    #5
  7. matt116
    Offline

    matt116 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2005]
    Sorry to be a pain, but just had a go at removing the switch and it will push in and turn to the left a little but it won't go any further.
    Should it just pop out or do I need to be really forceful. If I do get it out will the whole unit come out as I would have thought the lights are built into the whole surround thats why I thought about the rear access. Make sense or am I rambling on?
    #6
  8. jcs356
    Offline

    jcs356 Brum brum

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,684
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Oct 26, 2005]
    Hi, from memory, the switch comes out with the curved piece of plastic around it. Just a gentle tug should do it.
    #7
  9. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Oct 26, 2005]
    isnt it to the right you turn it?
    #8

Share This Page