1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Having a problem fitting an alpine stereo :(

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by GlennP83, Oct 8, 2012.

  1. GlennP83
    Offline

    GlennP83 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Im having a problem fitting my alpine stereo,the speakers make a boom when I skip a song and the settings dont save for sub or base levels. Has anyone had this problem before? Thanks for looking
    #1
  2. Yohan87
    Offline

    Yohan87 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    12
    Welcome to ASN :)

    The settings not saving is the result of two wires at the back being the wrong way round.

    Not sure if the colours on yours will be the same but on mine I had: -

    Red -> Red
    Yellow -> Yellow

    When in fact it should have been

    Red -> Yellow
    Yellow -> Red.

    There is a guide on uk-mkivs by Chris (Imagewerx) which explains it better.
    #2
  3. GlennP83
    Offline

    GlennP83 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Cheers Yohan ill give that a go now,still cant get my head around why the speakers are making the boom noise,its driving me crazy!
    #3
  4. Yohan87
    Offline

    Yohan87 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    12
    Can you describe the "boom" noise or even better record it for us?
    #4
  5. GlennP83
    Offline

    GlennP83 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Its like the speakers are getting a surge of power and making a boom. Ill go and record the noise and post it up
    #5
  6. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,806
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Have you got a Bose system? which adaptor are you using? year and model of car will help... options vary so a little more info is useful... connecting to a Bose system requires an adaptor lead... non Bose systems are differnt again and there is a 'half' Bose system too IIRC... some have an amp for front and rear speakers (full Bose typically) and others for just the rears and sub...

    <tuffty/>
    #6
  7. GlennP83
    Offline

    GlennP83 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    The car is a 99 s3 with the full Bose system with sub in the boot. The lead I'm using is pc9-410
    #7
  8. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,806
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Ok... thats the RCA one isn't it? not used that one myself... I used a PC9-408 (speaker out version) with no problems other than a very slight thump (barely audible) when I turned my stereo on...

    As for the settings... I wired mine to be permanent powered rather than using the flaky canbus adaptors... if you have the power the wrong way around then turning off would lose the settings I would imagine...

    <tuffty/>
    #8
  9. GlennP83
    Offline

    GlennP83 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah its the rca one would the pc9-408 work with my pre facelift s3?
    #9
  10. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,806
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Not sure tbh... should do but never tried it as mines a facelift... actually sounded ok and I used it for ages before removing it altogether and fitting the rest of my stereo gear...

    <tuffty/>
    #10
  11. GlennP83
    Offline

    GlennP83 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    The boom doesnt happen when I use the ipod so happy days but still happens when I turn the car off, I can live with it for now. If anyone has any solutions to this problem please let me know thanks
    #11
  12. cabrio boy
    Offline

    cabrio boy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine flattens the batt so when not using my car i take out the fuse lol any ideas ?
    #12
  13. BtownA3
    Offline

    BtownA3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    The solution to the "Pop" is Ground Loop Isolators about a tenner each at maplins
    #13
  14. dansansome
    Offline

    dansansome Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used these to get rid of a very quiet whine on my full Bose a4 cab when I fitted a kenwood dnx head unit, using adapters for canbus and Bose harness. They worked perfectly BUT they also totally killed the low end bass.
    #14
  15. GlennP83
    Offline

    GlennP83 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Where do the ground loop isolators go? I'm not great with wiring :)
    #15
  16. dansansome
    Offline

    dansansome Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    They plug inline between the RCA leads from the car and head unit harness.
    #16
  17. VAB
    Offline

    VAB Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Take you have fixed the memory loss issues. As the other have said change the two power in wires - one is a switch that turns the unit on/off and the other is the constant power (does not turn off when you turn the key off ) feed that supplies power to the memory.

    Re popping - As we do not have the access to the variety of adaptors and too far to get an Andy Mac Su, I tried various ways of wiring to eliminate the popping - both from speaker outs & RCA. Found that the popping was isolated to the Bose sub and that if you pull it apart and replace the small internal amp with a separate amp for the Sub it eliminates the popping - Does not sound as good as an ANDY Mac probably does but def better than standard.
    #17

Share This Page