1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

has anyone got an alpine ida-x???

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by denzelburner, Apr 6, 2008.

  1. denzelburner
    Offline

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 6, 2008]
    as the title says, and how do you find them (not as in the shop, or on the internet, lol)? Are they any good?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. fran-s3
    Offline

    fran-s3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 7, 2008]
    It's an awesome system (IDA - X001). Played with one in halfords with my IPod - so quick to use and found my 15gb worth of songs in an instant. (Even when turned on and off!)

    Try your local halford, mine has the display model left which I've put my name down for. Reason there becoming hard to find is that Alpine are apparently bringing out a new range (and updated model for this) in 2 to 3 weeks apparently.. So you may end up getting the older one for a bargain if its a display model as they need to get rid of them... Although if the new one plays video from your ipod then I'd be tempted to get the latest model!
    #2
  4. fran-s3
    Offline

    fran-s3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 8, 2008]
    Voila here's the new one:

    http://www.alpine-usa.com/US-en/products/product.php?model=iDA-X100

    Apart from the new IMPRINT Sound processor, it's mostly the same.. It doesn't play or view photo's from the IPod which I was hoping it might... It also doesn't have built in bluetooth which I thought they may of squeezed in with this version! (You have to buy an extra adapter if you want it!) Dissapointed really, may as well go for the older unit as it'll plummet in price with vendors trying to clear there older models!
    #3
  5. trailer
    Offline

    trailer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 8, 2008]
    You'll need the extra PXA-H100 IMPRINT unit for this. It isn't built in.
    #4
  6. fran-s3
    Offline

    fran-s3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 8, 2008]
    #5
  7. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    59
    [Apr 8, 2008]
    just to be clear on these guys
    make SURE you buy a kosher uk unit a lot of internet dealers are importing from various countries such as united states
    if you buy an imported version you WILL have trouble with software and certain features will not work
    my advice would be to buy from somewhere where you know not just anyone
    #6
  8. denzelburner
    Offline

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 11, 2008]
    I've seen the standard few on the bay, but wasn't entirely sure wether to go for the foreign import ones or not. I thought I might have a look at these as my old headunit has given up the ghost, and it'll be too much to repair.
    Do the X001's go red or are they just blue? and also, am I able to put any usb hard drive into it (with just music on in folders?) or does it have to be an ipod?
    Many thanks for the replies so far
    #7
  9. fran-s3
    Offline

    fran-s3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 11, 2008]
    Yes the X001 does go Red and Blue as I played with one in Halfords... Not sure how well it matches the red in the cockpit will confirm next week. (Im having one fitted 2moz!)

    I believe it has the abillity to read of usb drives, but there may be a limit on how much in can read from a usb drive... I'll be using my IPod so im not bothered, if your locol (northampton) your welcome to try mine...
    #8
  10. denzelburner
    Offline

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 14, 2008]
    Thankyou for that offer fran-s3, unfortunately I'm down in devon, so a bit far. If it is possible, would you be able to put any photos up?
    #9
  11. fran-s3
    Offline

    fran-s3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 14, 2008]
    Hi Denzel,

    Arr a tad fair then!!!

    Sure no problem.. Im having a few issues with it as im getting the 'popping' issue when I fitted it even though I bought the correct loom.... Im in the process of fitting some capictors in the phono out sockets which hopefully will eliminate this....

    Read more about it here as yours will do the same... (http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?t=26307)

    Also having some issues with the facia, as I had double din and finding a converter to single din that actually fits is proving a nightmare... even modifying it didn't work! Bear with me I'll get there in the end hopefully!
    #10
  12. denzelburner
    Offline

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 16, 2008]
    thanks for that, and good luck with that, sounds like you have a fair bit on your plate
    #11
  13. ReaperRCJS
    Offline

    ReaperRCJS New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 18, 2008]
    TheSpaceCowboy has one in his A3 and looks sweet, the red back light fits in with the rest of the dash lights perfectly.
    #12
  14. denzelburner
    Offline

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 20, 2008]
    Nice, do you know if he has any photos of it?
    #13
  15. TheSpaceCowboy
    Offline

    TheSpaceCowboy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 28, 2008]
    Sorry I dont, but it works well the only thing I've found is the sound isnt as punchy as I would've liked. I will take a picture later and upload it, it does work with USB memory sticks and Iphones... I did have a bit of a mess around using my N95 as a mass storage device and it worked. Best thing to do is feed the USB wire down and then into the gutter under the glovebox, I couldnt find a hole in the glovebox already and didnt want to drill one in.
    I've got an inconspicious black memory stick with music loaded and just leave it in the car works well only thing is Ipods and Iphones get the art work on the screen I just like the fact its integrated and dont have to mess around with CD's.
    Reaper picked up an IDA-X100 and is using it with his Iphone works really well.
    #14
  16. fran-s3
    Offline

    fran-s3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 28, 2008]
    My installer wired mine up last week to test it out (double din facia is being custom made so not in the car permanently yet)... Red matches really well I can confirm, was presently surprised will take pics when perm installed. If you could dim it it would be 100% but the dimmer function wasn't working for some reason.. (when headlights are turned on)

    As for it not being punch am very surprissed space cowboy, mine was well punchy with the full bose even at bass midway! Sound quality was awesome, makes a HUGE difference if you use the specialist equiliser setting turned on which it isn't as standard...Set it to level 3 and on 'flat' setting... It's not obv where seeting is, hold down audio button for 3 secs I think it is to access it... Sounded rubbish before I had this on!

    My installer used a grommet allready in the dash to wire my usb wire through dude, no need to drill... So my ipod is hidden in the glovebox... Amazing system love it.
    #15
  17. denzelburner
    Offline

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 30, 2008]
    All good stuff guys, thankyou, and can't wait to see the photos:icon_thumright:
    #16
  18. Ozzyb
    Offline

    Ozzyb Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 30, 2008]
    Hi

    Sorry to jump in on this thread but i have just purchased a Alpine IDA-X100 but having trouble installing it. I have bought the correct ISO lead with the RCA's (AIS2250A from Car Audio Direct) as i have the Bose system but when i plg this all in i get the stereo working but no sound. Now i noticed the speakers fro the HU are not connected in any way? Do i need to run extra cable?? please help as i'm dying to get this working.
    #17
  19. ReaperRCJS
    Offline

    ReaperRCJS New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 1, 2008]
    I got an iDA-x100 now and i'm very happy with it; links to my iPhone.
    #18
  20. denzelburner
    Offline

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 7, 2008]
    Has anyone managed to get some photo's yet, as I would be interested to see itin the dash?
    #19
  21. fran-s3
    Offline

    fran-s3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 12, 2008]
    [​IMG]

    Dimmer On, and Level 1... Looks superb and matches the red PERFECTLY! Easily the best looking stereo on the market, so pleased with mine! :)

    Here is it in the day:

    [​IMG]
    #20
  22. denzelburner
    Offline

    denzelburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 15, 2008]
    Thanks for that fran-s3, looks really good, and seriously thinking about getting one now. Have you had any issues with it, as my current (broken) alpine does not play through the front speakers?
    #21
  23. fran-s3
    Offline

    fran-s3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 16, 2008]
    Thanks dude, no it's a superb unit.. Only thing at the moment is im getting speaker buzzing and altenator whine, but I believe its because its not been earthed properelly as it has been working fine when it was first installed. So its to do with the wiring I believe, but other than that superb unit love it!
    #22
  24. andyccr
    Offline

    andyccr 2003 1.8T Sport Ebony Black A4 Cabriolet

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 19, 2008]
    I've got a IDA-X100 to put in my cabriolet with the matching KCE-BT300 box. Will post pics when I've put it in. I work in the car audio trade so mines costing me nothing !!!

    Andy
    #23

Share This Page