1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hard Wiring Sat-Nav... Help

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by Tallpaul, Jan 14, 2007.

  1. Tallpaul
    Offline

    Tallpaul Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 14, 2007]
    Well, sort of Sat-Nav. It's actually a trafficmaster YQ2 system but same differance.

    Anyhoo, it comes with a cigarette lighter attachment, i've opened it up and it looks like this:

    [​IMG]

    It has a simple 0.5amp in-line fuse, on the +ve wire is a resistor. Both the terminals are then connected to something encased in glue:

    [​IMG]

    Any ideas what this resistor and thingy in glue could be? Some systems have to step down from 12v to 5v... I don't think that's what this is but i want to be sure.

    My plan is to de-solder the red and white wires from the plug, tap the +ve in to an ignition live and fit a new 0.5amp in-line fuse and earth the other wire to the chassis.

    Anyone got any advice or comments?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 28, 2014]

  3. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 14, 2007]
    I would have thought your plan will be okay, but it's hard to say what the "resistor" really is. Have you got a multimeter? I'd hook it up inside the car with the attachment and see what current is running through it, just to be sure.
    #2
  4. SteveS
    Offline

    SteveS S6 avant

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 14, 2007]
    when i did my tomtom i bought a spare cigar lighter socket from audi. i connected the red to a ign live and brown to earth. i then hid it behind the dash and plugged the tomtom lead into it. this gives you a hidden power lead without cutting the plug off and spoiling the lead.
    #3
  5. 69COU
    Offline

    69COU Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 14, 2007]
    when you wired in where did you decide to mount Tom Tom?
    #4
  6. Tallpaul
    Offline

    Tallpaul Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 15, 2007]
    It's ok, the wires are easily removed/re-soldered to the existing plug. I can easily rebuild the cable so no need for a second socket.
    #5

Share This Page