Hanging a plasma

Jiny_P

Reaction score
Hi

I want to hang a plasma up but the problem is my house is a newish one and has not got solid walls instead has got plasterboard walls, i was wondering has any one managed to hang one up with this problem?? I spoke to a builder and he said they would have to put beams in the walls. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

There is most likely going to be beams running behind the wall, did this builder come and have a look? Is the wall an original wall or has it been put in after the house was built? Seems unlikely that it would have no support behind the wall at all. Don't know a huge amount about it so I could well be wrong!

I've put up two plasmas/LCDs, one in my house (where the walls are really soft stone so had to use huge plugs then screws) then another at work (with plasterboard walls where i just had to knock about untill i found a beam behind that was strong enough to hold the 42" tv!)

i fit them for a living, there is usually some sort of frame in the wall. try and get as many fixings into this as poss, get a bracket that has lots of mounting holes to give more stregnth. thats about all you can do.

im a joiner, **** easy to fit i did mine few months ago, ur wall will have studs,framing running vertical at 600 centers. hold ur bracket up and draw round it. cut a hole 25mm all round inside that line,and place timber like 100x25 behind plasterboard between studs.screw pb into wood and then refit cut out the same. when u fit bracket it covers the cut out.

The wall should have a timber or metal stud frame behind the plasterboard usually at 400mm ctrs vertically, you could use a wood, wire, detector thingy from B&Q it beeps when you hit a bit of wood... if you fix into that you should be fine, you could also cut a bit of plasterboard out and screw a piece of plywood to the studwork then skim over...at least with the p'board it should be easier to hide all youre wires...