1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Half Bose or Full Bose

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by NobberUK, Nov 23, 2011.

  1. NobberUK
    Offline

    NobberUK VAG Junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Nov 23, 2011]
    Morning All,

    Anyone any idea how to tell if I've got Full or Half Bose? I'm trying to install my Alpine Headunit but need to buy the correct connector to get the (sorry to all you purists) crappy Bose amp to power up etc.

    Cheers

    Nobber
    #1
  2. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Nov 23, 2011]
    No such thing as half Bose (despite what all the web sites say), if you have Bose you have full Bose
    #2
  3. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,679
    Likes Received:
    42
    [Nov 23, 2011]
    Am i right in saying if you replace the head unit with an after market one you'll remove the BOSE EQ which will mean you don't actually have BOSE any more?
    #3
  4. NobberUK
    Offline

    NobberUK VAG Junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Nov 23, 2011]
    #4
  5. NobberUK
    Offline

    NobberUK VAG Junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Nov 23, 2011]
    The idea is, you still use the Bose Amp and Bose speakers, but it's powered from your aftermarket HU instead of the std Audi one.
    #5
  6. NobberUK
    Offline

    NobberUK VAG Junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Nov 23, 2011]
    #6
  7. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Nov 23, 2011]
    The Bose EQ is just a very flat EQ i.e. little bass & treble control, but you still have Bose, just a more responsive control of the sound i.e. your bass & treble will actually have more of an effect. You can remove the Bose EQ on the standard Audi HU by snipping the Bose wire on the back (or using VCDS). A lot of people do this just to improve the woolly flat sound of the Bose system without changing the HU.
    #7
  8. Helifella
    Online

    Helifella Co-Driver ~ Hattie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    116
    [Nov 23, 2011]
    Having not heard my Bose setup just yet i'm a tad concerned now. Having heard other Bose kit, headphones, home stereo's & aviation headsets i've found them leaning towards heavier bass. It would be good to compare a factory setup and one that has had the 'snip' :-O
    #8

Share This Page