1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

haldex issues on dyno?? :(

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Rob_B, Apr 10, 2011.

  1. Rob_B

    Rob_B Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi chaps,
    I was at a dyno day today, my s3 was attemping a run however the haldex was playing havoc with the dyno and the car just couldnt run up...i was just wondering if anyone else had similar experiances and what is the way to solve it?

    can you simply full the haldex fuse out to leave it front wheel drive?? can you use a vagcom to switch the car into perminent 4wd??

    any help appreciated :)

    regards
    rob
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,003
    Likes Received:
    2,290
    Pull the fuse mate... do it all the time....

    <tuffty/>
     
  4. Rob_B

    Rob_B Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    simple as that...doh! lol..cheers mate

    will go back to the dyno and do that :)
     
  5. Welly

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    121
    Number 31 for reference.
     
  6. Rob_B

    Rob_B Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    nice one welly, is it found in the fuse panel on the side of the dash or is it under the bonnet somewhere
     
  7. Welly

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    121
    In the side of the dash mate, top of the middle column on the bank of 3 columns.

    Just look at the fuse map on the cover.
     
  8. R1KVX

    R1KVX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    will it do any damage taking the fuse out? sorry if its a stupid question
     
  9. voorhees

    voorhees Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Team Brill Red Black Edition

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,735
    Likes Received:
    1,582
    It can do but we all do it before Dyno's just remember to put it back after
     
  10. badger5

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,143
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    for short power runs, its ok.
    sustained running however I would'nt advise - it will get hot with the prop moving and the clutch pack not.
    Usual dyno runs for power check are short and not sustained like when mapping cars -
     
  11. Speedy Steve

    Speedy Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    15
    and diont forget a warning light will come on after you have put it back in and driven off for a little bit but will clear itself
     
  12. R1KVX

    R1KVX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh right thanks guys, I put mine on the dyno on the weekend with the fuse in it was ok, but the graph had a horrible power line instead of a nice smooth curve it was all over the place up + down would this be to do with the fuse being in? just trying to get to the bottom of this problem
     
  13. badger5

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,143
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    you ran it with fuse in in front wheel drive mode?
     
  14. R1KVX

    R1KVX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    the esp was turned off, is that what you mean?
     
  15. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator quattro Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,327
    Likes Received:
    2,429
    Legend if he did! lol
     
  16. badger5

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,143
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    nope.. not what I meant.
    esp not haldex isolation.. handbrake on would(should) prevent rears working but its not the same as disabling the thing by removing fuse.

    Did the car go onto a 2wd or 4wd dyno?
    only front wheels turned yea?
     
  17. Brendan12

    Brendan12 Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    3
    Get it on a 4wd dyno. I went on a Dyno Dynamics 4wd rolling road the other day and it ran in 4wd with no problems.
     
  18. cecilthesausage

    cecilthesausage ...It's Never Finished...

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    112
    These are my graphs Rob with Haldex issues [​IMG].... Undynoable next time round... For whatever reason which I couldn't even begin to explain lol
     

Share This Page