1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

haldex issues on dyno?? :(

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Rob_B, Apr 10, 2011.

  1. Rob_B
    Offline

    Rob_B Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 10, 2011]
    Hi chaps,
    I was at a dyno day today, my s3 was attemping a run however the haldex was playing havoc with the dyno and the car just couldnt run up...i was just wondering if anyone else had similar experiances and what is the way to solve it?

    can you simply full the haldex fuse out to leave it front wheel drive?? can you use a vagcom to switch the car into perminent 4wd??

    any help appreciated :)

    regards
    rob
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 26, 2014]

  3. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,127
    Likes Received:
    1,433
    [Apr 11, 2011]
    Pull the fuse mate... do it all the time....

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  4. Rob_B
    Offline

    Rob_B Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 11, 2011]
    simple as that...doh! lol..cheers mate

    will go back to the dyno and do that :)
    #3
  5. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Apr 11, 2011]
    Number 31 for reference.
    #4
  6. Rob_B
    Offline

    Rob_B Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 11, 2011]
    nice one welly, is it found in the fuse panel on the side of the dash or is it under the bonnet somewhere
    #5
  7. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Apr 11, 2011]
    In the side of the dash mate, top of the middle column on the bank of 3 columns.

    Just look at the fuse map on the cover.
    #6
  8. R1KVX
    Offline

    R1KVX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 2, 2011]
    will it do any damage taking the fuse out? sorry if its a stupid question
    #7
  9. voorhees
    Offline

    voorhees Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,201
    Likes Received:
    1,233
    [Jun 2, 2011]
    It can do but we all do it before Dyno's just remember to put it back after
    #8
  10. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,396
    Likes Received:
    738
    [Jun 2, 2011]
    for short power runs, its ok.
    sustained running however I would'nt advise - it will get hot with the prop moving and the clutch pack not.
    Usual dyno runs for power check are short and not sustained like when mapping cars -
    #9
  11. Speedy Steve
    Offline

    Speedy Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jun 2, 2011]
    and diont forget a warning light will come on after you have put it back in and driven off for a little bit but will clear itself
    #10
  12. R1KVX
    Offline

    R1KVX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 2, 2011]
    oh right thanks guys, I put mine on the dyno on the weekend with the fuse in it was ok, but the graph had a horrible power line instead of a nice smooth curve it was all over the place up + down would this be to do with the fuse being in? just trying to get to the bottom of this problem
    #11
  13. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,396
    Likes Received:
    738
    [Jun 2, 2011]
    you ran it with fuse in in front wheel drive mode?
    #12
  14. R1KVX
    Offline

    R1KVX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 2, 2011]
    the esp was turned off, is that what you mean?
    #13
  15. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,470
    Likes Received:
    1,864
    [Jun 2, 2011]
    Legend if he did! lol
    #14
  16. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,396
    Likes Received:
    738
    [Jun 2, 2011]
    nope.. not what I meant.
    esp not haldex isolation.. handbrake on would(should) prevent rears working but its not the same as disabling the thing by removing fuse.

    Did the car go onto a 2wd or 4wd dyno?
    only front wheels turned yea?
    #15
  17. Brendan12
    Offline

    Brendan12 Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jun 2, 2011]
    Get it on a 4wd dyno. I went on a Dyno Dynamics 4wd rolling road the other day and it ran in 4wd with no problems.
    #16
  18. cecilthesausage
    Offline

    cecilthesausage ...It's Never Finished...

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    111
    [Jun 2, 2011]
    These are my graphs Rob with Haldex issues [​IMG].... Undynoable next time round... For whatever reason which I couldn't even begin to explain lol
    #17

Share This Page