1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Haldex 01155 clutch mechanical malfunction

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Joshstan, Jul 9, 2014.

  1. Joshstan
    Offline

    Joshstan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    Hi all as above I am getting the code for haldex clutch mechanical malfunction I have today changed the haldex oil and filter and also the precharge pump
    But when I got to draining the oil there was absolutely none in there I think I got 1 drop when removing the drain plug and nothing came out when I removed the pump either
    I can't do output tests on Vcds lite but the pump does not run when the engine is running. Is this normal? I bench tested the new pump and all was well same with the one I removed
    Basically this is a long way of asking am I going to need a new diff?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. jasongtr
    Online

    jasongtr Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    can't image running it without oil will do good things for it, did you get any tyre grabbing or grinding noises when turning on full lock slowly
    #2
  4. Joshstan
    Offline

    Joshstan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    Nothing like that at all just no rear traction at all just drives exactly like my mk4 golf did
    #3
  5. jasongtr
    Online

    jasongtr Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    def not the fuse? if it turns out to be the diff i have a couple for sale, just in case

    i had a guy wanting to buy a diff from me once and i told him to check the fuse 1st as he had no other symptoms just lost 4wd all of a sudden, it was his fuse, having said that he might of had some oil in his diff though so it might not help you.
    #4
  6. Joshstan
    Offline

    Joshstan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    I have a 1999 apy and it doesn't appear to have a fuse for the haldex I have checked every single fuse in the drivers side dash and all are ok
    #5
  7. jasongtr
    Online

    jasongtr Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    its def got a fuse, number 31 iirc
    #6
  8. Joshstan
    Offline

    Joshstan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    Just going to have a look now
    #7
  9. Joshstan
    Offline

    Joshstan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    31 was a 5a marked as auto gearbox... There was a fuse in there but I don't have an auto box
    #8
  10. jasongtr
    Online

    jasongtr Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    sounds about right, its not actually labelled haldex, i assume it was ok - in which case you have 2x options i guess, continue with the fluid and filter change (assuming you haven't done so) and see if that works, if it doesnt, quite possibly replace the diff
    #9
  11. Joshstan
    Offline

    Joshstan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    Well Erm after taking that fuse out and putting it back in I have just taken the car round the roundabout at the end of my road full throttle and the back stepped out
    Jason you sir are a hero!!!
    #10
  12. jasongtr
    Online

    jasongtr Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    could of been as simple as a dodgy connection maybe.
    #11
  13. Joshstan
    Offline

    Joshstan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    I assume so buddy I'm glad I filled the oil before finding that fuse lol
    #12
  14. jasongtr
    Online

    jasongtr Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    probably was a decent way round to do it.
    #13
  15. Joshstan
    Offline

    Joshstan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    I have had the car 4 months with no Quattro and in those 4 months I will be honest I was finding myself wondering why the hell I didn't buy a leon cupra r... 20 mins of Quattro and now I am thanking my lucky stars I bought an s3 270bhp of pure sticks like s*** to a blanket I purely cannot get it to wheelspin anymore!
    #14
    rupe likes this.
  16. jasongtr
    Online

    jasongtr Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    just drive it without the esp on, get it into a 4 wheel drift and it temporarily cuts the power to all wheels, found that out honing around a corner once years ago in a 4motion, power didn't come back in until it stopped sliding (by then on the other side of the road) luckily no oncoming traffic. Not big or clever and it was about 14 years ago and yes I've grown up since then... blah blah blah
    #15
  17. Joshstan
    Offline

    Joshstan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    I don't have esp thank god and I'm afraid I'm still only 23 so many lessons left to learn lol
    I don't think I have ever wanted it to start raining as much as I do now
    #16
  18. jasongtr
    Online

    jasongtr Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    haha, it is nice too have 4wd and no wheel spin, both my cars are 4wd
    #17

Share This Page