1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Grundig CD Player - standard fitment in 96 A4?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by imported_bpascua, Jul 13, 2004.

  1. Hello,

    My A4 has a grundig head unit which looks very stock/standard indeed. One thing I hate about it is that you can switch it on when the key is out of the ignition. I know you probably need to remove one of the permanant lives from the head unit. My question is will my head unit have a CODE? if so I am reluctant to pull any wires out as I dont have the code...

    Thanks

    Brian
     
  2. HotSauce

    HotSauce Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine did. If you go into the jacket that holds your owners manual and things like that, there should be a manual for the stock head unit. On the first page, there should be a small card, with a tag on it. That should have the code. If not, I'm not sure how to help you.
     
  3. RICH2JOSH

    RICH2JOSH Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's probably worth giving your dealer a quick call as my main dealer over here in London provides the decoding service free of charge. (As long as you can provide proof of ownership)

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif
     
  4. I spoke to the main dealer in Reading, they want £24 to decode it. It could be worse.

    Cheers

    Brian
     
  5. RICH2JOSH

    RICH2JOSH Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ouch. The servicing department at Docklands Audi will do it for free. If you are ever in the London area and need your code sorted ask for Wendy.

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif
     
  6. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    37
    I think that function (power on with key out) is a function of the CAN-BUS so even if you get to the back of the unit it is unlikely you will be able to disable it without disabling the unit completely. You may be able to just unplug the CAN-BUS connection (the big red plug with only one wire on it), but I don't know what else it uses it for.
    The unit should power down after 1 hour with the keys out so it won't flatten your battery.
     
  7. Hello,

    So are you saying that the unit is properly fitted and working by design? I assumed it had been replaced/badly fitted?

    Thanks

    Brian
     
  8. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,638
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    Unlikely. I've just had brand new Alpine HU fitted, & unlike the 'orrible Concert HU it replaced, it does not power up unless the keys are in. It's a small sacrifice to make for a radio that works properly & sounds good.
     
  9. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    37
    Yes Brian all Audi's allow you to turn the HU on manually without the keys, but only for an hour. It should turn off when you take the keys out, but you can then turn it on again if you so desire.
    It's this attention to detail that persuaded me to buy an Audi. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_roll.gif
     
  10. Hello,

    I wouldnt mind if that was the case, my problem is with the stereo on, if I stop the engine and remove the keys the strereo will continue playing. So I have to remember to switch it off when I leave the car. It would be OK if it went off when I took the keys off - and I was then able to switch it on without the keys, surely this cant be right.


    Cheers

    Brian
     
  11. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    37
    No that's not right. Sounds like they've connected the ignition on live to the permanent live. You can rectify this without disconnecting the permanent live thus not needing the CODE for the radio, but just like bomb disposal, if you make a mistake you'll need the code to get it running again.
     
  12. HotSauce

    HotSauce Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    With the stock HU my car did the same. It shut off, when the door what opened. Try that.
     

Share This Page