1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Great instructions for how to log using Vag-Com

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by themanthatcan, May 14, 2008.

  1. themanthatcan
    Offline

    themanthatcan Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 14, 2008]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 29, 2014]

  3. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [May 15, 2008]
    cheers Andy, theres a lot to read but looks very interesting..........

    Tim
    #2
  4. jesters3
    Offline

    jesters3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 15, 2008]
    Good find have a gold star!! I was after that sort of info. As I started to do mine:

    Log Blocks 015 & 016 - To check for bad coils
    Log Block 115 - To see the specified Vs actual boost.
    Log Block 002 - To show air mass from the sensor
    Log Block 032 - To check for a O2 sensor/Throttle Valve (+ =lean & - = rich)
    Log Block 031 - To show lamda reading from O2 Sensor
    Log Block 011 - To log boost pressure (In Excel graph actual/requested boost -vs- rpm )
    In a high gear (4th/5th) give full throttle from 1500-2000 rpm to 3500-4000 rpm

    But you just saved me from trawling all over the place!
    #3
  5. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [May 15, 2008]
    so how exactly would you do this boost check, look at blocks 011 and boot the car at the stated rev range, then stop and produce the graph? or does vag com log a certain test time range....can you explain what you have done step by step to get the actual boost vs the requested boost:icon_thumright:
    #4
  6. themanthatcan
    Offline

    themanthatcan Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 15, 2008]
    The doc I posted shows you how to do everything matey, including producing the graph in Excel. If you don't have Excel then you can download the OpenOffice suite (http://www.openoffice.org/ - It's free and does everything MS Office does!) and use the Calc application which is their equivalent of Excel.

    Block 115 is the one which logs RPM, Requested (Command) boost and Actual boost. You click Start, do your run (3rd gear, 2k RPM to redline) then click stop. That dumps the data into a CSV file which you open with Excel and use to create a graph.
    #5
  7. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 15, 2008]
    is that with the shareware version?
    #6
  8. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [May 15, 2008]
    im sure it is, need to check but have played with the blocks before on shareware
    #7
  9. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [May 15, 2008]
    hmmm, just checked, im running the 3 series edition as the other freewares wont work on my Vista..... and its measuring some things but wont touch blocks 115 without purchase
    #8
  10. themanthatcan
    Offline

    themanthatcan Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 16, 2008]
    I've got version 409-1 shareware running fine on Vista. To run the software properly you have to right-click on the Vag-Com icon and choose the "Run as Administrator" option. I had problems with Vag-Com locking up if I didn't do that.
    #9
  11. jesters3
    Offline

    jesters3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 16, 2008]
    Vag.com is $99 and at the present exchange rate £50. Seriously though invest it in then you can measure to your hearts content plus it is a invaluable tool. TBH it's the best £50 I've spent on my S3. :icon_thumright:
    #10
  12. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [May 16, 2008]
    cheers Jest

    Andy..... i loaded up the 409 version last night, this allowed me to do the auto search option for faults which the other version didnt...still wouldnt allow blocks 115 though:eek:/...gonna wipe it off tonight and try again me thinks
    #11
  13. themanthatcan
    Offline

    themanthatcan Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 16, 2008]
    Don't you also have to purchase a new interface with the latest version of Vag-Com though? I thought the £10 cables off eBay (which most of us have got) only worked with version 409-1 and older?
    #12
  14. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [May 17, 2008]
    wheres the option to 'run as administrator'...cant seem to find it:eek:/
    #13
  15. j4jon
    Offline

    j4jon Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 17, 2008]
    Right click the icon, you may need to hold down the left shift key at the sme time
    #14
  16. jesters3
    Offline

    jesters3 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 18, 2008]
    I've got a USB Gendan cable with 409.1 on XP Pro. When buying it I had to give them the serial number of the trial copy which they then converted to a full version. But yes I would agree that to run the new version you would require one of their specific cables.
    #15
  17. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [May 18, 2008]
    nope when holding shift, still only get option like restore and 'about vagcom' and 'exit'....this is on the main screen where you can select auto scan etc
    #16

Share This Page