1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting the New A3 but which one!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by ducks1978, Jun 12, 2012.

  1. ducks1978
    Offline

    ducks1978 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alreet everyone,

    After having a year with the A5 and loving it, we had decided a while ago to change the car and we went through most models but yesterday I ordered an A3 S LIne Black Edition 2.0tdi in black with comfort pack

    The new shape has 0 discounts so went for soemthing I knew I liked being a former owner of the 2.0tdi 170

    I ordered the 140bhp thinking cheaper tax, cheaper car, and a chip bx will see it have the same power as a 170

    But when we got back I started to think I should have just ordered the 170bhp the dealer has said the 140bhp has better resale and holds its money well but the 170 we had did hold its money really well.

    Any 140 drivers out there to give me there words of wisdom??

    I can change my mind and order the 170 unit instead
    #1
  2. A3Kent
    Offline

    A3Kent Different Gear

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    82
    With the 170 comes the DPF (diesel particulate filter) which has caused some people who make shorter journeys some problems.

    I have a 170 and it's great tbh. I'm sure others will say the 140 is great too.
    #2
  3. ducks1978
    Offline

    ducks1978 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    My DPF never caused us problems. I think the light came on twice but know people who have issues with them.

    I never hear alot from 140bhp drivers but they are supposed to be good too
    #3
  4. A3Kent
    Offline

    A3Kent Different Gear

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    82
    What's the price difference from new then, if you don't mind me asking?
    #4
  5. dex140
    Offline

    dex140 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    3
    I love my 140 but will shortly be upgrading to the 170!
    #5
  6. martinivw
    Offline

    martinivw :)

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    18
    After 08 both 140 & 170 hp diesels came with dpf :(
    #6
  7. ducks1978
    Offline

    ducks1978 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    It £900 quid i think but it saves the hassle with remaps etc. The appealing thing with the 140bhp is tax, but £60 notes over a year is not alot. The 140bhp is supposed to be smoother??
    #7
  8. A3Kent
    Offline

    A3Kent Different Gear

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    82
    Are you going for the manual or DSG/S-Tronic? I have the manual 170 and you do have to get through the gears pretty quickly if you are accelerating quite hard but it's out of preference really. I did have a DSG 2.0TFSI before but I wanted a manual this time around.
    #8
  9. ducks1978
    Offline

    ducks1978 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its the manual, I had the 170bhp manual last tme which is pictured and changed it for the A5 170bhp (no where near as quick) My cousin has the Golf GTI with DSG although its fab I still like the manual. Its just the choice between the 2 and the 170 has 2 exhaust pipes. The 140 has 1!
    #9
  10. A3Kent
    Offline

    A3Kent Different Gear

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    82
    Go for the 170 i'd say :racer:
    #10
  11. ducks1978
    Offline

    ducks1978 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha I think you have talked me into it. Im gonna go for it I think will change it tomorrow. Thanks mate. The other thing that annoyed me about the A3 was the media stuff - Ipod connection is naff, No SD card reader so looking at an aftermarket one but dont know anyone who has bought the £400 quid ones of Ebay and if they work with Bose
    #11
  12. A3Kent
    Offline

    A3Kent Different Gear

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    82
    No problem mate. I would see what others have to say about the 140 though but if I had the choice it would seem silly to go for the 140.

    Regarding the media stuff, do you want Sat-Nav? I had a RNS-E(sat nav with 2xSD card) unit, AMI (for my iPod), Bluetooth and SDS retro-fitted a couple of weeks a go to mine, all genuine Audi parts, it's superb to be honest.

    And yes it will all work with BOSE providing you cable it properly.
    #12
  13. ducks1978
    Offline

    ducks1978 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im not really that bothered about sat nav, more the IPOD and SD cards really but the RNS-e would be the one I think.

    Is it not plug and play with the bose or does it need rewiring?

    Did you BT module from previous unit work or did you need new one.

    I would probably fit myself as I used to install units years ago but since having Audi's have never touched them as the sound is great
    #13
  14. A3Kent
    Offline

    A3Kent Different Gear

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    82
    Have you ordered any iPod connectivity with your A3? I have a genuine iPod dock for the glove box for sale if you are interested.

    There is a lot of stuff about BOSE and connecting it up to RNS-E on here but i'm led to beleive it is just moving one cable from one location to another location on the back of the RNS-E.

    I had mine all supplied and fitted by NHN.

    Am i right in saying that BT comes standard on the Black Edition? You should be able to get this all hooked up with the RNS-E as well. Don't ask me how though!

    You will need to get it coded too with VCDS as you car computer will have lots of errors otherwise although it will work but may cause you problems further down the line.

    If I were you, once you've got the car, PM NHN on here and he'll help you out with supplying and fitting(if needed).

    I seem to be singing NHN's praises alot on here, advertising his excellent work! Get that code over to me NHN!!! Haha!
    #14
  15. ducks1978
    Offline

    ducks1978 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didnt order the dock as the one I had in our last A3 would not give us information like artists etc so didnt bother putting it in.

    Will give NHN a shout when I save up some dollars to get sorted. Thanks tho
    #15
  16. A3Kent
    Offline

    A3Kent Different Gear

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    82
    Yes, it's very basic, that's why I changed mine for AMI which fits in the same location of the glove box and it gives me track names etc.

    You can use the "Thanks for this post" links on each reply btw but all the best:icon_thumright:
    #16
  17. Sand87
    Offline

    Sand87 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the 140bhp currently, I had a 170bhp also, depends if the 140bhp seems quick enough for you, might also save you some money with the smaller one as well.
    #17
  18. ducks1978
    Offline

    ducks1978 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its done now fella's. Just changed it to the 170bhp. Its cost a little more but I wont ever wake up thinking "we should of got the 170" instead I will wake up and say "We should have got the S3"
    #18

Share This Page