1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting factory fitted ipod lead to work (concert stereo)

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Beans, Oct 17, 2012.

  1. Beans
    Offline

    Beans Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 17, 2012]
    Hi all, my car has a factory fitted ipod lead in the glove box (car year: 2006). However I can't get it to work at all. The cd/radio I have is a audi concert sound system. I have the manual and the separate ipod manual and it says to press the CD button twice (as though it's a CD changer). However every time it says no magazine?

    Will it only work with old ipods or something? I've only tried a newish ipod and an iphone 4s.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. A3Kent
    Online

    A3Kent Different Gear

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    84
    [Oct 17, 2012]
    Should work, when you plug your iPod/iPhone in does it display the Audi logo on the iPod/iPhone?
    #2
  4. Beans
    Offline

    Beans Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 17, 2012]
    Nope, it just says charging not supported.
    #3
  5. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    [Oct 17, 2012]
    Might be worth getting the coding checked, or asking Audi if there are compatibility issues with newer iPods
    #4
  6. A3Kent
    Online

    A3Kent Different Gear

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    84
    [Oct 17, 2012]
    When you say it's factory fitted, does the glovebox connection look like this?
    [​IMG]
    #5
  7. Beans
    Offline

    Beans Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 17, 2012]
    No, it's just a wire with the ipod connection on the end that's in the glove box. I'll take a pic tomoz. There is a manual with the car which is for the audi concert sound system which goes on about the ipod - hence I'm assuming it's factory fitted.
    #6
  8. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 17, 2012]
    Should work but definitely not charge the newer devices - not without a charge converter between the cable in the glovebox and the iPod/iPhone
    #7
  9. Beans
    Offline

    Beans Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 18, 2012]
    Ok, I've tried it all again with my mates ipod (not iphone). The Ipod charges fine. Also, if you turn the radio on with the ipod off it turns the ipod on.

    Here is the connector:

    [​IMG]

    When you try to play it you see this:

    [​IMG]


    And finally it shows this error:

    [​IMG]

    It's like it is trying to find a cd changer which doesn't exist.

    Do you think I need it recoded by Audi? What does this actually entail? Do you think the ipod connector is factory or retro fit?
    #8
  10. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 18, 2012]
    Try creating some playlists in iTunes - Name them beginning with numbers i.e. 1 Artist A, 2 Artist B, 3... up to 5 add some songs into them and sync. Now when plugging into car CD1 -5 correspond to these playlists - 6 is everything on the iPod. See if anything changes...
    #9
  11. Sidhu88
    Offline

    Sidhu88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    74
    [Oct 18, 2012]
    These kits normally trick the headunit into thinking the ipod is a cd changer. Try pressing and holding the eject button to "eject" the device, safely remove. Reconnect, start again. Failing that sometimes they need to be disconnected and essentially reset by leaving it without no power for a while. One of two ways to do this, easiest being to disconnect the battery for an hour or so if you've got the code for the stereo (if it needs it), or take out the stereo and disconnect it that way.

    The only other thing i can think of is the fact that after a while the ipod connections changed in terms of voltage outputs which is y the newer ones connect but dont charge. There are loads of adaptors available to fix this, look for a 12v to 5v convertor
    #10
  12. fangio
    Offline

    fangio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    101
    [Oct 18, 2012]
    Try pressing the cd button twice. I think the ipod is regarded as a 2nd cd changer.
    #11
  13. Beans
    Offline

    Beans Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 18, 2012]
    Hi, it doesn't charge the new iphone because of the difference in voltage. I've tried holding the eject button and that doesn't work. The manual does say to press the CD button twice, and it does show the cd changer which is the ipod.

    I've looked everywhere and I can't find my radio code so I don't want to disconnect the battery (another thing not provided when I bought it). I assume it needs a radio code.

    I think I need to ring Audi, although I fell out with the salesman when I was looking to buy so I might have to go to another dealership.

    So no one has come across this before?
    #12
  14. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 18, 2012]
    I think there's a chance the iPod adapter might be faulty but if possible verify first with an older IPod - I use an old school one as my car one and its solid as a rock on old and new systems. With it being a 56 plate? The iPod prep will be one of the original ones so could be faulty or fussy with newer iPods and iPod firmwares. No way to flash the iPod adapters either.
    #13
  15. Beans
    Offline

    Beans Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 18, 2012]
    Oh, and just to add the audi logo never appeared on the ipod.
    #14
  16. bigcheese
    Offline

    bigcheese Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 18, 2012]
    Have you tried having the music app open then plugging it in? Mine only works when I'm actually in the playlist.
    #15
  17. Greeny233
    Offline

    Greeny233 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    126
    [Oct 18, 2012]
    I have an aftermarket lead plugged in mine and it is most probably different but try selecting CD1 on the stereo.
    Mine is CDC1 for individual tracks or albums or CDC4 for playing playlists.
    #16
  18. fangio
    Offline

    fangio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    101
    [Oct 18, 2012]
    The stereo is "married" to it's car and should not need a code putting in. It recognises it's parent!
    #17
  19. Beans
    Offline

    Beans Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 19, 2012]
    Ok, should I unplug the battery for an hour or so? I don't have the tools to remove the stereo. If I unplug the battery I won't f up anything will I?
    #18
  20. Beans
    Offline

    Beans Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 20, 2012]
    Ok, I've tried unplugging a battery for several hours. Still the same problem.

    I'm going to try someone else's ipod before I ask Audi.
    #19
  21. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 20, 2012]
    Worth a go. I fitted one in my 56 plate A3 back in 2008 - that was new from the dealer then - and if I remember rightly worked with all my ipods at the time - including one like the one in your pic. If yours was factory fit in 2006 that a 2 year difference in hardware. I'm afraid if you ask Audi they'll have little to no knowledge and will just charge you an inflated price to swap like for like. You'd be better off swapping it for a 3rd party one that is capable of charging anything you throw at it without requiring additional adapters inline.
    #20
  22. Beans
    Offline

    Beans Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 20, 2012]
    Well I suppose I could just stick to CDs... It's only because I don't like Nick Grimshaw in the mornings! Lol.

    I can't even figure out how to remove the stereo, I suppose something slides down the side of the stereo.

    If it's going to involve a lot of cost I may as well replace the whole head unit. Then I could get a stereo, sat nav, bluetooth (for phone calls) in too - obviously with a nice flip screen. Not sure what is out there, but I dare it's expensive for what I want.
    #21
  23. Holtan
    Offline

    Holtan New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 15, 2014]
    I know this thread was along time ago but I'm having the exact same problem with the 2006 a3 sline I have recently bought, I believe it is factory fitted and been told it could of been an option between the iPod or a cd changer at the time..
    Was anyone able to resolve the issue?
    I am yet to try an old ipod this is my last resort before I give up!
    #22

Share This Page