1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Genuine Disc???

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by lau06275, Jun 13, 2014.

  1. lau06275
    Offline

    lau06275 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 13, 2014]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. fangio
    Offline

    fangio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    101
    [Jun 13, 2014]
    Ask him/her!
    #2
  4. pluves1
    Offline

    pluves1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    51
    [Jun 13, 2014]
    No chance. It will be a back up copy as the seller is open to offers on £29.99! There is another seller with genuine discs for £143 inc postage which is a big discount on the list price of these.
    #3
  5. lau06275
    Offline

    lau06275 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 13, 2014]
    Cheers, If you think its too good to be true, it probably is.
    #4
  6. S3 AEX
    Offline

    S3 AEX Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    50
    [Jun 13, 2014]
    My mates got an eBay one in his, works perfectly.. Why pay 100-200+ when you can pay 20-30?!
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2014
    #5
    shortfletch11 likes this.
  7. RustyBucket
    Offline

    RustyBucket Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jun 13, 2014]
    Wasn't there something on here recently about one of these getting stuck in the unit? I think the conclusion was to make sure the label that was stuck to the disc was removed before putting it in.
    #6
  8. Lewbo
    Offline

    Lewbo OEM Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    86
    [Jun 13, 2014]
    I never use a copy nav disc as it can ruin the laser, happened in my last nav. Now I only use genuine ones.
    #7
  9. JRock247
    Offline

    JRock247 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jun 13, 2014]
    Yea, as long as you remove the label you will be fine. I've used many 'Backups' b4 in my RNS-E and probably saved myself a fair bit of £££.

    Not sure how a backup disc can ruin the laser though, Lewbo???
    #8
  10. cyhliu
    Offline

    cyhliu Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jun 13, 2014]
    I've heard that back-ups can cause the laser to 'jump' as it's trying to pick up data, over time this can cause it to become mis-aligned...

    I'm in the market for an updated version and that same item, however I noticed it was using the same photo as another seller...that was enough to put me off. They all seem to be from Lithuania too!
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2014
    #9
  11. Dan-Jnr
    Offline

    Dan-Jnr Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    149
    [Jun 14, 2014]
    There is nothing wrong with the backup versions, used them in last 2 RNS-E with no problems.
    All the so called issues above are laughable and don't even make technical sense.
    Think of it this way, you would still burn some MP3's to CD/DVD and still use that in the drive, if you don't use the SD cards obviously.
    #10
    RedDejavu likes this.
  12. Sayam
    Offline

    Sayam Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Jun 14, 2014]
    Use a backup disc. The 'problems' mentioned above are load of rubbish. If the disc got stuck it's too thick cos of the label not because it's a backup
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2014
    #11
  13. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    258
    [Jun 14, 2014]
    Well ebay add is for a copied disc. As above backup discs are fine, been running them for the last 8 years from MK1 to MK2 RNS-E and 2G MMI all my Audi's and Audi's in the family run them and never had a problem.
    #12
  14. lau06275
    Offline

    lau06275 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 23, 2014]
    Cheers for the replies, I found a guy selling his 2013 disc (up to date enough for me) for £20 and received that, not tried it out yet. I take it there are no compatibility issues with going from such an old version (2006) to the 2013 version
    #13
  15. cyhliu
    Offline

    cyhliu Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jun 23, 2014]
    I just updated mine from a 2007 version to a 2013 also. I didn't experience any issues but did get worried when it first flashed up that there was no disc! It then recognised it and started loading, which took about 5-10mins, it was fine afterwards, once loading had completed.
    #14

Share This Page