1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gearbox Compatability

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Broken Byzan, Feb 17, 2008.

  1. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,964
    Likes Received:
    381
    Ok so i need to swap out my gearbox as 2nd is getting bad and i need to do the clutch anyway as the turbo/remap is causing it to slip.

    Oh i am 2wd BTW

    My question is, will a diesel box fit on the 1.8t? I know a V6 one will as i need to get a stronger box preferably with higher ratios for cruising etc.

    I also aim to swap the shafts too

    A 6 speed would be lovely but.............OUCH How much !!!!!
     
  2. Markey

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    This was covered a few weeks back, the 2.5 Diesel 6 speed will fit and they are about 400 quid from what i have seen, when i do my clutch im going to replace it.
     
  3. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,964
    Likes Received:
    381
    I did search and read quite a lot of posts but couldnt find anything useful, hmm how did i miss that?
     
  4. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,964
    Likes Received:
    381
    Found it !!! Was back in December !!!!!
     
  5. Siena

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    4
    Diesel box will fit, 5 or 6 speed.

    May be a tad over-geared for a petrol engine though, especially a turbocharged one.
     
  6. Markey

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you mean by over geared ?
     
  7. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,964
    Likes Received:
    381
    My take on it is this, a Diesel car revs less so need to make top speed @ like 5k revs and petrol cars make top speed @ 6.6k. So in theory it is possible to use the box but i think it would be a true overdrive solution. On a cruise i recon the engine would be barley ticking over rather than the annoying 3.5k i have now @ 70
     
  8. Markey

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    So its good really then and better to be used on a mapped car with a bit more torque ?
     
  9. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,964
    Likes Received:
    381
    HMM not sure whether we will have enough torque to make the difference. I guess its a trial and error thing as i am sure i can afford to have the revs at least 1 k less at 70 as the k04 makes max boost @ around 2.2k ish iirc
     
  10. macca

    macca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    i watch with interest as i have been toying with the idea, my gearbox is starting to make noises. would love 6 speed box.
     
  11. Markey

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    As soon as my clutch is up i think ill chuck one in and see what happens.
     
  12. Markey

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would the 6 speed from a 53 reg 1.8t fit ? a 1998 ?
     
  13. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,964
    Likes Received:
    381
    YUP indeed it will Not sure if the one i have picked up is a straight fit having looked at it after i got it home. I need to wait until i have the 5 and 6 speed side by side. Just in case i have a v6 box on its way as a fall back position
     
  14. Siena

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    4
    6 speed box is slightly longer.

    6 speed box is slighter wider, so you'll need 6 speed driveshafts.

    6 clutch slave cylinder is slightly larger, you MAY need a 6 speed master.

    6 speed selector linkage is different, you'll need matching linkage.
     
  15. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,964
    Likes Received:
    381
    Thanks Oh Guru !!!
    Off to ebay i go now then, is it 6 speed or 6 speed diesel parts i need?
     
  16. Siena

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    4
    If the 6-speed box you've got is from a diesel, it MAY have the funny, petal-shaped larger flanges, then you'll need 6-speed driveshafts from a diesel. If it just has regular large flanges, then 6-speed items from a petrol car will be fine. Just match the inner CV's to your flanges.

    As for the linkage, it doesn't matter which 6-speed B5 / B6 it comes from, petrol or diesel, quattro or FWD, all are compatible.
     
  17. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,964
    Likes Received:
    381
    Siena

    Will i get away with just using the correct petal inner Cv's on my driveshafts, and will the linkage swap straight over? or will i need to "mod" the car or link somehow?
    Thanks
     
  18. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,964
    Likes Received:
    381
    I noticed the linkage is on the other side of the 'box, so will i need to modify the car in anyway to fit the new linkage?
     
  19. Siena

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    4
    The 6-speed linkage goes into the box on top, just behind the bellhousing. The 5-speed version goes into the box at the rear.

    The 6-speed linkage is a direc bolt-on part, no tunnel modifications required.

    The petal-style inner CV joints don't fit stock driveshafts, the spline is much larger than usual.

    An easier option is to have yours cut down, welded and balanced.
     
  20. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,964
    Likes Received:
    381
    Thanks, i have to ask, how do you know so much as you know lots of the techie stuff that the rest of us dream of knowing
     
  21. Siena

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well, after graduation, I went for my training in Germany, courtesy of Audi, they footed the bill. Then I spent 18 months there. After I returned, I worked for Dovercourt Audi in Plaistow for a number of years, before leaving to do my own thing.
     

Share This Page