1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gear Change Indicator On MANUAL Gearboxes

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by danb986, May 31, 2011.

  1. danb986

    danb986 In awe of VCDS
    Team Daytona

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    56
    While I had the handbook out yesterday I had a flick through to see what features I wasn't aware of. Most of them I knew from a thread on here, but I did notice an extra line on the DIS I hadn't seen before.

    It says that right at the bottom of the display there is a bit that shows when to change up and down gears. I thought this was for S-Tronics/DSG's, but it said for 'cars with manual gearboxes with gear change indicator'. On the next page it had the one for the S-Tronic's/DSG's so it must've been for the manuals.

    Does anyone know if this is something that can be turned on with VCDS?
    I know it's not the most important feature, but it does fill a blank space on the DIS.
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. poli84

    poli84 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    57
    I've got it in my S3.
    Was activated when I bought the car.
     
  4. MattBE

    MattBE Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    How old is your car? My MY11 car came with this already activated.

    I'm sure you can turn it on in the menu part of the DIS.
     
  5. danb986

    danb986 In awe of VCDS
    Team Daytona

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    56
    Mine's only an '07 and sadly just a Sport. I don't have that many menus on my DIS. I think there's Check, Service and Help. There might be one more, but I'm not with the car at the moment.
     
  6. slade777

    slade777 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    8
    On my MY10 I can activate it on DIS. Very rarely look at it more for Eco driving but when you do put your foot down it recognises and tells you to change and the "optimum" rev.
     
  7. danb986

    danb986 In awe of VCDS
    Team Daytona

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    56
    Does anyone know if this can be activated by VCDS if it doesn't have the option on the DIS?
     
  8. Farhan

    Farhan Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    57
    WHERES NIGEL! (NHN) :)
     
  9. yuan2211

    yuan2211 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    3
    there is a way i think but it didn't work for me yet. you need to go into instruments and then adaptions and special functions and change to 111. i think this is only available if you got the white dis i think so you might need Nigel to get you 1 first. but like i said i done what i said and got the option in the menu but mine aint working so there might be more to it.
     
  10. welshwoody

    welshwoody Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ive got this on my 2008 A3 Sportback too, think I posted pictures of it in action on a thread on here somewhere.... It can be turned on and off through the DIS. Pointless but a nice touch none the less, you know just incase you suddenly forget when to change gear.
     
  11. The Engineer

    The Engineer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    22
    Can this be activated on all the 8P's?

    My DIS doesn't have mush or any options come to think of it. :unsure:

    I have drove a 09 convertible TDI with the new white dials that has it,
    quite handy when your not used to driving a diesel. ;)
     
  12. danb986

    danb986 In awe of VCDS
    Team Daytona

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    56
    Nigel the wise, can you help clear this up for us please?
    Can an '07 Sport (red DIS) or a '09 convertible (white DIS) have this feature enabled by VCDS?
     
  13. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,190
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Are you saying you have fitted your clocks now?

    Afaik it was white dis only, I can code it on my dis but doesnt show on my dsg, as per woodys post here:

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/new-a3-s3-sportback-8p-chassis/38244-dis-feature-list.html#post1203683
     
  14. danb986

    danb986 In awe of VCDS
    Team Daytona

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    56
    That's a shame. I was convinced there'd be a way because it mentions it in my handbook and that was written before they released the white DIS.
    Hmm, so is this an excuse to fit a white DIS :sly:
     
    #13 danb986, Jun 1, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2011
  15. Harrelson

    Harrelson Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    3
    don't waste money trying to get it. i found it a useless feature

    my average mpg went up from 49.1 to 55.1 when i turned it off and relied on my senses to change gear. on my 1.6tdi it will tell me to shift into 5th at 33mph and 1000rpm, not good for the flywheel
     
  16. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,705
    Likes Received:
    31
    I find manual driving more econimical than using cruise control too LOL.

    I have it as an option on my retrofitted white LED DIS but even though its ticked it doesnt work. Not sure if its the revision of my Central Electronics Module or more likely, the engine ECU revision.
     
  17. yuan2211

    yuan2211 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    3
  18. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,190
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Told yer it worked fine lmfao, glad all sorted mate, looks so much better now huh

    Was it the same dealer you used?
     
  19. yuan2211

    yuan2211 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    3
    yeah same dealer i guess it was just a case of clearing all codes and getting all the modules coded correctly.

    so Nigel whats your take on the gear change indicator? i coded it comes up in the dis menu but not appearing on the display. is there something im doing wrong or is it a case of something missing.
     
  20. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,190
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Depends on what your coding is & any adaptations changed, enlighten us?
     
  21. J.R.

    J.R. "Started From The Bottom"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    68
    I've just changed over my cluster for a white DIS and I've got the suggested gear option on my cluster now but it doesn't do anything when I select it.

    Anybody know if this can be coded ?
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. The Governor

    The Governor Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    72
    +1

    I've got it on my MY11 disel, it always give you the wrong advice anyway, usually to high a gear at too low a speed, or too high a gear under load going up a hill.

    Trust your feelings, be as one with your car, it will tell you what gear it wants to be in itself :)
     

Share This Page