1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gave in and bought an RNS-E !

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Irish, Feb 27, 2007.

  1. Chins
    Offline

    Chins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 12, 2007]
    Still got to find mine, but struggling to see what I need to do on the GPS antenna.

    I have the sharksfin on my car, but std Chorus headunit. I know I will probably need a new Antenna, but do I also need to run a new cable. If so, where does it go to?
    #41
  2. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 12, 2007]
    I've recently done this, have a read here for more info.....

    http://www.navplus.us/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4623
    #42
  3. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 12, 2007]
    My GPS antenna is mounted under the dash next to the left hand heater vent. I regularly see between 4 and 7 satellites which is good enough for navigation. I'd like to go down the "swop the sharkfin" route, but I'd like to know how to get the headlining off at the rear of the cabin without breaking anything!!!
    #43
  4. sat1983
    Offline

    sat1983 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Mar 12, 2007]
    This ebay seller hasn't been selling them for weeks! I want one!:thumbsup:
    #44
  5. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
  6. sat1983
    Offline

    sat1983 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Mar 12, 2007]
    Ta johnS3, just a tad worried about parting with £450 and sending it to Lithuania!
    #46
  7. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 12, 2007]
    Check out my RNS-E thread (in my signature below). I've got a tax disc holder fitted to the windscreen which also has a GPS receiver inside it, and I get up to 8 satellites constantly - very pleased with it!
    #47
  8. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Mar 13, 2007]
    sat1983

    I got mine from the same seller as johnS3 and had no probs either!

    He has excellent feedback and sells a lot of them.
    #48
  9. Chins
    Offline

    Chins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 13, 2007]
    What about an adapter? As Ive got BOSE.
    #49
  10. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Mar 14, 2007]
    The BOSE wire only needs moving from one pin to another on the current wiring harness, no adapter needed.

    I'm sure JohnS3's posts on the links he has given above describe this.
    #50
  11. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 14, 2007]
    No adapter needed, you just move the pins in the existing quadlock connecter. Have a read through my posts on Navplus. If you don't feel confident then ask CraigyB to do the install for you. He is THE RNS guru....
    #51
  12. Irish
    Offline

    Irish Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 18, 2007]
    Well today my DVD started to pack it in!

    It was only a copy but the unit said there was an error and that was pretty much it.

    I really don't wanna give Audi €300+ for it :-(
    #52
  13. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,732
    Likes Received:
    259
    [Mar 18, 2007]
    #53
  14. Irish
    Offline

    Irish Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 19, 2007]
    cheers for that mate, snapped that up as soon as I saw it.

    I don't think TMC is available here so the dealers will probably tell me to go and sh1te but at least I have a genuine disc for a fraction of the price now!
    #54
  15. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,538
    Likes Received:
    579
    [Mar 19, 2007]
    Tell me - with a RNS-E, is it possible to load speed camera location information and you own Points of Interest.
    #55
  16. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 19, 2007]
    Ah, that old chestnut!! It's been asked many times, but sadly it can't be done.
    #56
  17. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 19, 2007]
    Read your post below that you've bought a genuine DVD, but copies are usually okay. Mine threw up a couple of errors a few months ago but just eject the DVD and replace it - usually goes away after that.
    #57
  18. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 19, 2007]
    'Tis true unfortunately. Although the bright sparks on navplus.us are working with some people to try and decompile the RNS-E software to see what, if anything, can be changed. I work as a software developer and the things they're doing are well beyond me - it's pretty advanced stuff!
    #58
  19. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,538
    Likes Received:
    579
    [Mar 20, 2007]
    The latest research indicates that using a Sat-Nav screen in any way whilst driving is as dangerous as using a mobile phone and that we should all rely on the voice instructions alone. Pehaps one day the visual screen with maps will disappear all together when actually driving and will only be used for initial input.
    #59
  20. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 20, 2007]
    I can well believe that. After retrofitting my RNS-E, the novelty was such that I was looking at it all the time. But after a while you look at it less and less, and of course the nav instructions appear in DIS so it's only a quick glance as if you were monitoring your speed.
    #60
  21. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,538
    Likes Received:
    579
    [Mar 20, 2007]
    Does the RNS-E give voice instructions as well as the indicators in the DIS?
    #61
  22. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 20, 2007]
    Yes indeed. The nice lady keeps you well informed when using route guidance, as does the DIS. You can of course turn her volume off and keep listening to the music!
    #62
  23. José
    Offline

    José Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 20, 2007]
    Yeah, looks like topsatnav has nothing for now... I'm really going to buy one of these, let's wait.
    #63
  24. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 21, 2007]
    Send him a message through eBay and ask when he'll next be putting an item on for sale, and he can advise you when. You'll also be able to check postage to Portugal.
    #64
  25. José
    Offline

    José Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 21, 2007]
    You're right, let's see what he says. What came up in my mind is that with this market of RNS-E, having one could be dangerous to our car... It has a code, but maybe that could be solved. The RNS-E hasn't a removable front panel... It's a flashy thing in the dash to get nicked.
    #65
  26. Irish
    Offline

    Irish Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 21, 2007]
    I wouldn't worry too much, it's a lot of hassle to rob a built in unit like that, not exactly a smash and grab type of thing.
    #66
  27. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Mar 21, 2007]
    Jose

    Try nikin777 on ebay, myself and JohnS3 have bought for him with no problems and the units that were sent were 2006 models in excellent condition!

    Hes in Lithuania so is closer to you for postage!
    #67

Share This Page