1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gas gauge problem

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Nimosonen, Aug 17, 2013.

  1. Nimosonen
    Offline

    Nimosonen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys. My gas gauge is showing me wrong all the time. When I fill my tank up, it indicates 5/4 gas. And it stays there for like 200km. When I have 1/4 tank left, the fuel warning lights comes up. What can be wrong?
    #1
  2. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,727
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Fuel tank sender I suspect.. any fault codes?

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  3. Nimosonen
    Offline

    Nimosonen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have acces on VAGCOM, so I don't have any codes. Is it possible to change the fuel tank sender?
    #3
  4. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,727
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    #4
  5. Nimosonen
    Offline

    Nimosonen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you mate :)
    #5
  6. Nimosonen
    Offline

    Nimosonen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've done some research, and it seems like the sender and the pump are 1 unit.. The pump costs 300$..
    #6
  7. phil miller
    Offline

    phil miller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    83
    does the speedo work?
    #7
  8. Nimosonen
    Offline

    Nimosonen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, everything else but the fuel gauge is working
    #8
  9. phil miller
    Offline

    phil miller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    83
    check the fuses and if all is good, check the gauge when manually moving the level float, if still not working then it needs replacing :)
    #9
  10. Nimosonen
    Offline

    Nimosonen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can I manually move the level float?
    #10
  11. Nimosonen
    Offline

    Nimosonen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've uptained that I get low fuel warning light when I'm almost empty. The gauge is showing 1/4 of a tank still. Is there a good reason for that? Seems like the sensor is working fine, but its just showing wrong in the dash..
    #11

Share This Page