1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gas gauge problem

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Nimosonen, Aug 17, 2013.

  1. Nimosonen

    Nimosonen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hey guys. My gas gauge is showing me wrong all the time. When I fill my tank up, it indicates 5/4 gas. And it stays there for like 200km. When I have 1/4 tank left, the fuel warning lights comes up. What can be wrong?
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,778
    Likes Received:
    3,209
    Fuel tank sender I suspect.. any fault codes?

    <tuffty/>
     
  4. Nimosonen

    Nimosonen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    I don't have acces on VAGCOM, so I don't have any codes. Is it possible to change the fuel tank sender?
     
  5. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,778
    Likes Received:
    3,209
  6. Nimosonen

    Nimosonen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thank you mate :)
     
  7. Nimosonen

    Nimosonen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've done some research, and it seems like the sender and the pump are 1 unit.. The pump costs 300$..
     
  8. phil miller

    phil miller Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,211
    Likes Received:
    166
    does the speedo work?
     
  9. Nimosonen

    Nimosonen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, everything else but the fuel gauge is working
     
  10. phil miller

    phil miller Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,211
    Likes Received:
    166
    check the fuses and if all is good, check the gauge when manually moving the level float, if still not working then it needs replacing :)
     
  11. Nimosonen

    Nimosonen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    How can I manually move the level float?
     
  12. Nimosonen

    Nimosonen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've uptained that I get low fuel warning light when I'm almost empty. The gauge is showing 1/4 of a tank still. Is there a good reason for that? Seems like the sensor is working fine, but its just showing wrong in the dash..
     

Share This Page