1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GALA - bingo

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by imported_hburnett, Dec 1, 2005.

  1. imported_hburnett
    Online

    imported_hburnett Guest

    [Dec 1, 2005]
    Guys.

    Just been reading the stereo manual - sad life I lead, and there's a description of getting to the GALA menu on the headunit - Symphony/BOSE. But it doesn't seem to be there /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/bang.gif. Have you guys got the same problem or can you tell me how to get it back?

    Cheers H
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. gizze
    Offline

    gizze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 1, 2005]
    If you have Bose it isn't there, it adjusts the volume with a microphone isntead of via speed pulse on the non bose cars.
    #2
  4. steeve
    Offline

    steeve Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    234
    [Dec 1, 2005]
    Just what he said ...........
    #3
  5. Horchsense
    Offline

    Horchsense Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 1, 2005]
    My Bose system seems to make doodley squat difference to the volume...
    #4
  6. cosmicblue
    Offline

    cosmicblue Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 2, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    My Bose system seems to make doodley squat difference to the volume...

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Likewise for my A3/Bose/DVD Nav

    My last A4 Cab had Bose and DVD Nav and the GALA functions were enabled in the Sound menus.
    #5
  7. imported_hburnett
    Online

    imported_hburnett Guest

    [Dec 2, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    My Bose system seems to make doodley squat difference to the volume...

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Same here. I keep having to turn the damn thing up myself! Quite annoying. Going to have to see Mr Audi.....
    #6
  8. d3fy
    Offline

    d3fy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 2, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    My Bose system seems to make doodley squat difference to the volume...

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Mine is very noticable, has a little bit of lag, so stop at the lights and then listen for the music to go quiet.
    #7
  9. miketweed
    Offline

    miketweed Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 2, 2005]
    Same here.

    You can't have GALA with BOSE. GALA is some German acronym for speed dependant volume which is only available with non BOSE cars. (I had a BOSE A4, again with no GALA)

    BOSE has its own DNC (dynamic noise compensation) system which is noise level dependant. It responds to ambient noise in the cabin, not speed. (the manual says 'GALA' - not available with BOSE)

    Maybe you play **** music that the BOSE doesnt like ;-) ? Mine makes a huge difference even turning up/down with a change in road surfaces.
    #8
  10. Horchsense
    Offline

    Horchsense Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 3, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]


    Maybe you play **** music that the BOSE doesnt like ;-) ? Mine makes a huge difference even turning up/down with a change in road surfaces.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Well on the music front I have varied tastes - from Miles Davis to Lemon Jelly via Purcell, Gluck and Radiohead - but each to their own - however I'm beginning to think the Bose system has a fault - 'cos like I said - makes squat diffence to volume levels...
    #9
  11. d3fy
    Offline

    d3fy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 3, 2005]
    well it should and does so get it checked out
    #10
  12. imported_hburnett
    Online

    imported_hburnett Guest

    [Dec 4, 2005]
    [quoteI'm beginning to think the Bose system has a fault - 'cos like I said - makes squat diffence to volume levels...

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Me too, i think i'm gonna have to get mine seen to as well... Think it might have flu!
    #11

Share This Page