1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Full Colour DIS clocks

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by TheDriver, Jun 3, 2014.

  1. TheDriver
    Offline

    TheDriver Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Jun 3, 2014]
    Hi guys,

    I'm after the full-colour clocks for my B6 Tdi. Does anyone know if the mileage can be changed to match that of my car? And if so how complicated of a process is it?

    Cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 24, 2014]

  3. GeoffDunk
    Offline

    GeoffDunk Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    57
    [Jun 3, 2014]
    I thought the millage is actually logged in the cars ECU but I am sure someone will have a better answer.

    If this is the case it may be a straight swap and you'll get your millage.
    #2
  4. ruffrida
    Online

    ruffrida Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    243
    [Jun 3, 2014]
    Nope it al can be changed via vcds, i had mine changed in me 8L, but you may have to convert it from miles to KM and back again !!

    Also if they are anything like the 8L, they control your immo, so if you dot what your doing, you will kill the clocks, or even the car, not fun!!

    The only other thing is, yur washer bottle etc, if these dont have sensors in now they will have to be changed, the whole unit and then wire them in, Danio from the 8L section is your best man, but he is hardly on ere any more
    #3
  5. TheDriver
    Offline

    TheDriver Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Jun 3, 2014]
    Yeah, I'm just reading through a lot of technical mumbo-jumbo and hardships on the US forums regarding the IMMO coding and ability to change mileage, looks like a bit of a minefield. I'm not paying Hazzy Days £924 to get it done I know that much! Thanks for the pointers ruffrida, I'll continue to investigate....
    #4
  6. ruffrida
    Online

    ruffrida Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    243
    [Jun 3, 2014]
    If you can get hold of Danio he will do it all for Budwieser and is based in Skem, bout 5 mins from me, he is a sound polish lad, with a lot of elec knowledge on Audi's, can just be hard to get hold of !!

    Like i say, if you know ya way round vcds, then it should be a doddle!!
    #5
    Cobra88 likes this.
  7. TheDriver
    Offline

    TheDriver Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Jun 3, 2014]
    Nice one mate, I'll see if I can get hold of him... and a set of clocks! Each one is probably a small miracle in itself. If you happen to catch up with him can you give us a shout. Cheers pal.
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2014
    #6
  8. ruffrida
    Online

    ruffrida Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    243
    [Jun 3, 2014]
    I sent him an email the other day but he didnt get back to, think he has fallen out with me over me 8L, he helped me out loads with it, then i wrote it of an had an argument with him over building it back together, but i didnt have the time or money, no heard from him since !!

    Yeh i bet the clocks will be fun to get hold of, you ever tried breakeryard.com, has worked a few times for me !! Even better if you have the part number!
    #7
  9. TheDriver
    Offline

    TheDriver Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Jun 3, 2014]
    Shame that... buy him a bottle of vodka, you'll be best mates again soon! I'll have a go on breakeryard.com. Ta mate :)
    #8
    ruffrida likes this.
  10. ruffrida
    Online

    ruffrida Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    243
    [Jun 3, 2014]
    or 24/7 parts is another good one !

    Im sure if you go on BBA Reman they should have the part number on there that you need, let me know as this is on me wish list lol
    #9
  11. jbcalvin
    Offline

    jbcalvin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Jun 3, 2014]
    These things are rarer than the proverbial hens teeth..... Been on here 4 years and only know of 1 person who has done it... Good luck anyway....
    #10
  12. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Jun 3, 2014]
    Danio is very hard to get hold of at best of times.

    Milage cannot be done with vcds unless a new cluster.
    I can change milage and immo data to suit your car if you find the set of clocks you are looking for. Milage is indeed stored in the ecu too, and i will use this and original cluster milage to determine correct milage.
    #11
  13. ruffrida
    Online

    ruffrida Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    243
    [Jun 5, 2014]
    AHhahah you know him well then lol.

    Sorry yeh forgot to mention you will need to another cluster to change the mileage, mine had failed in me 8L so paid £25 for a upgraded set (ebay) and got DDanio to program them to me car including mileage.

    With these been so rare, would it not be easier to replace the screen for a full color 1 ????
    #12
  14. TheDriver
    Offline

    TheDriver Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Jun 5, 2014]
    I'm not 100% sure but all the forums I've been on seem to say that the colour screen can't be swapped over because the ribbon has a different way of attaching to the board and also the board controls a colour screen differently due to the higher screen resolution so not compatible apparently? Don't know how much truth there is to it, obviously the people posting are better versed than me on the topic and I've never had them both apart to be able speculate.

    Tbh there was a B6 on ebay which had them in, was thinking of buying the car pulling out the clocks and any other useful bits and either selling it back on with my bits swapped or breaking it, but again reading a bunch of forum chit-chat it seems there are a few versions of the colour cluster so knowing which one is fully compatible with my car is a bit of a nightmare.
    #13
  15. TheDriver
    Offline

    TheDriver Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Jun 5, 2014]
    Yeah I got hold of Danio, on holiday apparently, said to call him next week.

    Nice one A3, will keep you in mind for when I find a set. Thanks very much :)
    #14
  16. chasdrury
    Offline

    chasdrury Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jun 6, 2014]
    Ignore what you've read on US forums about immobilisers. They have different ones in US cars to UK ones.
    #15
  17. TheDriver
    Offline

    TheDriver Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Jun 6, 2014]
    That's good to hear, nice one mate
    #16
  18. amar06fbr
    Offline

    amar06fbr Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    59
    [Jun 7, 2014]
    i have a set of clusters for a4 tdi with colour dis
    #17
    TheDriver likes this.
  19. ruffrida
    Online

    ruffrida Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    243
    [Jun 7, 2014]
    Glad to hear you got hold of him bud, let me know how you get on
    #18
  20. TheDriver
    Offline

    TheDriver Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Jun 19, 2014]
    Cheers for the clocks Amar hopefully have them fitted soon.

    So... after obtaining the proverbial hens teeth, I reckon I just need to get a DIS stalk now.

    Am I right in thinking that the DIS function just needs opening up on the cluster through coding and, in my case, I need to code the new cluster to the car too? Is that it, or do I need anything else? Upgrade SWCM, upgrade power supply control unit?

    Thanks for your thoughts :)
    #19
  21. ruffrida
    Online

    ruffrida Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    243
    [Jun 19, 2014]
    Think that's pretty much it dude,cobra888 had just done his stalk
    #20
  22. TheDriver
    Offline

    TheDriver Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    33

Share This Page