1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fuel tank calibration?

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by @udi A3, Oct 12, 2012.

  1. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Oct 12, 2012]
    I saw some menus on vcds relating to the fuel tank.
    Since fitting a full dis and MTE, the MTE has always been too high, and goes down too slow.
    The fuel needle has always gone 120-150 miles before moving off the full mark.

    Can i recalibrate with vcds?
    Also looking at dash cluster codings, the cluster was from a quatro tdi, should i be coding it to 2wd, i read somewhere the quatro has 2 tanks, or a larger tank, could this be the problem? Where should i start looking?

    Thanks tom.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. Ian-83
    Offline

    Ian-83 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 12, 2012]
    If your car isn't a Quattro I would recode it as Quattro tanks are different shape and size to accommodate the propshaft. I would try this first before recalibrating the level sensor.

    Calibrating the level sensor requires draining the tank dry then only putting in what is seen as reserve quantity (see handbook about 8 litres I think) then you set the gauge up by hitting a button as the reserve lamp comes on. Not sure if that is how VCDS works but that's how the VW diag system works when I did one at work the other week.
    #2
  4. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Oct 12, 2012]
    So my next noob question, how to recode as a non quatro?! :D
    It LOOKs straightforward, but i pooped myself after doing brake testing thingy with vcds yesterday, and then realised i had to go on a drive to get the abs working again! so i figure it will be very easy to break something!
    #3
  5. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Oct 13, 2012]
    Recoded it, read my old logs before the dash change and was just one easy digit needed changing.
    Ian, thats interesting, wonder if i should go to the dealer and ask them to do this when the roof is painted next month.
    #4
  6. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    59
    [Nov 9, 2012]
    do you mind tellng us exactly what you did in vag com
    i have exactly the same issue with the same car
    cheers
    nath
    #5
  7. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Nov 10, 2012]
    Dualmono, I just recoded the clocks to suit the 2wd car, as they came from a quattro. Have you done the same? If so the coding helper in vcds tells you what code to use. My mpg has settled over time to a beleivable figure, and the MTW seems a little more accurate now.
    #6

Share This Page