1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fuel guage reading wrong

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by TSport_Lolf, Jun 28, 2011.

  1. TSport_Lolf
    Offline

    TSport_Lolf New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 28, 2011]
    Hello,

    Whilst driving today my low fuel warning indicator pinged up unexpectedly telling me to fill up, however my fuel guage is still reading that there is just under half a tank left. Having checked the range on the trip computer this seems to confirm that the computer is saying as I only have 25 miles left.

    Which one is most likely to be wrong and how can I go about having the reading calibrated correctly?

    Thanks,

    Lolf.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. wibble111
    Offline

    wibble111 needs to scratch the itch

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 29, 2011]
    Could be the sender unit in the tank itself. Easy enough to get at, under the rear seat bench is a cover, sender unit inside there IIRC. Make sure its well ventilated before you do it and dont smoke :ermm:
    #2
  4. wibble111
    Offline

    wibble111 needs to scratch the itch

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 29, 2011]
    Forget that last post only just read it properly, not heard of that one mate so not much help dude.
    #3
  5. TSport_Lolf
    Offline

    TSport_Lolf New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2011]
    It actually seems like my electronic trip computer may be out by some margin. I filled my tank up last night from when the trip told me I only had 10 miles left, however the car only took 45 litres to fill and considering they're 55 litres in the Audi, this seemed to tally right with what the guage was saying at just over a quarter of a tank. Where does the trip computer get its readings from?

    Thanks,

    Lolf.
    #4

Share This Page