1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fuel gauge problems !

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by S3LAK, Apr 17, 2003.

  1. S3LAK
    Offline

    S3LAK New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 17, 2003]
    The fuel gauge and computer on my 99 S3 is going mad!
    Sometimes it will read full when it is empty and sometimes it reads empty just after Ive filled it up, the rest of the time it gives false readings in between ???
    Any ideas ?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. Drill
    Offline

    Drill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 17, 2003]
    Congratulations, now we are 2 /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile_smoking.gif OK, so far, I've had my tank re-leveled, my fuel gauge check no less than 3 times, and my entire instrument cluster replaced. So far, no luck /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cry.gif My A3 is going in on Tuesday for 2 days, specifically for the mechanics to track this down. (btw, it's been going on since last JULY /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/burningmad.gif ) All I can recommend is keep track of your miles. For instance, I know I can get at least 600kms off of a full tank, so each time I fill up, I reset the odometer. If you can wait til wed or thurs, I'll let you know what they find and how much it cost me /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif

    btw, I think it might have something to do with the Quattro.

    Thanks,
    #2
  4. S3LAK
    Offline

    S3LAK New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 17, 2003]
    Im glad Im not alone, please let me know if you solve the problem.
    ps yes it is a quattro
    #3
  5. Drill
    Offline

    Drill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 17, 2003]
    Yeah, I realized afterwards that you've got an S3, I already changed the post /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #4
  6. S3LAK
    Offline

    S3LAK New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 18, 2003]
    Yes both of what you say happens with mine. Ive also run out of petrol with a quarter of a tank showing, and yesterday it showed half a tank when I had done 325 miles and I knew it was nearly empty. But sometimes it will show completely empty just after I filled it up !!
    Has anybody got any suggestions ??
    #5
  7. Drill
    Offline

    Drill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 18, 2003]
    Like I said Dude, I'm going in on Tuesday morning, if you don't get anything figured out before then, I'll let you know what was found (If anything /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif ) I've been in at least 5 times over the last year for this, and it still hasn't been fixed /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif LUCKILY it happened and we reported it, 2 months before my warranty expired /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif It is kinda funny though, when you start off with a half tank, drive 100+ kms and end off with a full one /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif If only gas TRULY reproduced like that /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile_smoking.gif

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #6
  8. Drill
    Offline

    Drill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 18, 2003]
    Aman, I see you have an S3, what year is it?

    Thx,

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #7
  9. Aman
    Offline

    Aman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 18, 2003]
    It's a 2000 model...
    #8
  10. Drill
    Offline

    Drill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 18, 2003]
    OK, so we have a 99 S3 (S3LAK), a 2000 S3(Aman) and a 2001 A3TQ (Me) /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif Well, I'll bring it up with the mechanics on Tuesday, hopefully knowing it's a problem with you guys MIGHT motivate the bastards enough to FIX it /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smirk.gif I frickin TOLD THEM it's the Quattro way back in July, but no one wanted to listen. I remember there was an issue with A6 Quattro fuel gauges. There was something about how the Quattro fuel tank was shaped in order to fit around the rear diff. I REALLY think this has something to do with ours /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif But when I find out, I'll let you guys know.

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #9
  11. Aman
    Offline

    Aman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 18, 2003]
    Hey do any of you guys also experience problems when refeuling.

    It seems to take me ages to fill up, the nozzel jus clicks straight away, i have to keep the trigger half pulled or pull the nozzel out slightly. I have tried different pumps but still the same problem...
    #10
  12. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 18, 2003]
    a blocked/trapped breather pipe can cause pumps to click off but that usually only occurs after a tank has been changed (poorly). My old E30 BMWs gauge could be a bit erratic (not in your scope though). I put it down to the fact that there is kind two tanks as it hangs over the driveshaft like saddlebags and there was a small connecting pipe between them - technically both halves should have the same amount but it isnt always the case. It sometimes could alter if you were pulling a few sideways G's /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif
    #11
  13. Drill
    Offline

    Drill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 25, 2003]
    I've wondered about that myself. It does seem that the UK dealers really give it to y'all. I've wondered why y'all don't just source your parts from over here, but I'm unfamiliar with the whole "Customs" thing. Would it be tax evasion for you to source parts from somewhere that DOESN'T require VAT, then ship them to a VAT country like the UK?? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif Hmmm.

    And it was 330 Euros for the part itself, I have no idea (nor do I want to know) what the labor costs were [​IMG]


    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #12
  14. S3Bangs
    Offline

    S3Bangs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 25, 2003]
    Well...

    Ok I had this problem for a while when I just got my car, the rev counter had a mind of its own, mileage counter kept flickering and the fuel gauge... well.. same as most of you..

    As I knew that the mileage/rev counter sensors sat on the engine block, I took it out and reseated it and havent had any problems since... whether this will work for some of you, I havent got a clue, but it worked for me.. downside is I wondered why t'was not seated properly, but thats another story... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smirk.gif
    #13
  15. Crafty
    Offline

    Crafty Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 25, 2003]
    Drill...

    Import duty is cost+10%+VAT, so if something costs the equivelent of £100its
    100
    + 10 (10%)
    + VAT on 110

    Total 129.25
    #14
  16. Drill
    Offline

    Drill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 25, 2003]
    [​IMG]
    #15

Share This Page