1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fuel Gauge Issue

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by nohope17, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. nohope17
    Offline

    nohope17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 14, 2014]
    Hi all.

    I've read lots about the fuel sender unit playing up in Audi's. Mine seems to work about 50% of the time. Sometimes not moving at all, sometime showing the wrong reading and sometimes showing the correct reading.

    The thing that I'm confused about is that my range in the DIS and the fuel warning light always works correctly. Could this mean my gauge is faulty or does the calculation displayed on the DIS not come from the level given by the fuel sender unit?

    Its a Tdi 130 if that makes any difference.

    Cheers chaps
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    77
    [Jan 14, 2014]
    Have done a dial test? There is a way of making all of the dials move in sync from bottom to top and back again. Think it is done via VCDS rather than the dash buttons.
    #2
  4. nohope17
    Offline

    nohope17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 14, 2014]
    Thanks, No I've not tried a dial test. What is VCDS? is that the diagnostic software?
    #3
  5. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    77
    [Jan 15, 2014]
    VCDS is Vag-Com Diagnostic Software. Google VCDS and it will lead to a Rosstech website, the makers.

    If you don't want to pay for the full activated version, you can buy the Lite version ($99) and use a copy lead from eBay (£12) but uses are limited. It will scan most modules and do some tests and edit some parameters.

    Dan
    #4
  6. nohope17
    Offline

    nohope17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 16, 2014]
    Thanks Dan I will look into that.
    #5
  7. Jimmy TDI
    Online

    Jimmy TDI Pro Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    71
    [Jan 17, 2014]
    Do you know how to do this as mine sometimes drops 1/8 from one journey to the next, but it only tends to do it for the first half of the tank when I fill it up.
    #6
  8. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Jan 17, 2014]
    You can't do this on the B6 or B7...with VCDS or anything else, the firmware just doesn't exist in the instrument cluster to do it.
    #7
  9. Jimmy TDI
    Online

    Jimmy TDI Pro Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    71
    [Jan 17, 2014]
    Well that's sorted that out :eiertritt:
    #8
  10. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    77
    [Jan 17, 2014]



    What dash is this then? B7? It's not the same as my B6.
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 15, 2014
    #9
  11. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Jan 18, 2014]
    It's not the same as my B7 either. Looks more like an A3 to me.
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 15, 2014
    #10
  12. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    77
    [Jan 18, 2014]
    When the wife comes back I will check if I can do an output test with my A4.

    Dan
    #11

Share This Page