1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fuel gauge and computer giving wrong reading, help!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Cossie_boy, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. Cossie_boy
    Offline

    Cossie_boy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jun 8, 2009]
    Hi all,

    The range of fuel left on my A3 has always been a bit iffy, at 1/2 a tank it often used to read 0 miles left and beep, so a good 3 or 4 times i filled it and it took about 30 litres, so with the Quattro holding 60 litres my conclusion was the gauge actually works, but the computer it incorrect.

    Recently i have been running it lower and lower, and managed to get it to read 70 odd miles left, after putting £10 in, and the gauge reading a bit under half.

    All was ok, until i ran out of fuel the other day :sadlike: to be fair the range had been on 0 for a few days, but the gauge was a little over a 1/4.

    So where do i go from here?! Could it be the tank sender, £155 my mate can get one from VW, or the unit in the dash, which is even more!

    Any advice on how to sort this would be much appreciated.

    Cheers

    Dave
    #1
  2. Cossie_boy
    Offline

    Cossie_boy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    3
  3. Boro&Beth
    Offline

    Boro&Beth Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 10, 2009]
    Have you had it on vagcom?
    #3
  4. Cossie_boy
    Offline

    Cossie_boy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jun 11, 2009]
    I did when i had it re-mapped, but nothing showed up then, do you it should?
    #4
  5. Nilz
    Offline

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,612
    Likes Received:
    576
    [Jun 11, 2009]
    £155 for a tank sender, are you having a laugh??

    I had one in my A4 go and that was about £35, im sure its the same as the one in the S3, surely it cant be £120 more???
    #5

Share This Page