1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fuel cap locking

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B8 Chassis)' started by Rodders., Oct 28, 2013.

  1. Rodders.
    Offline

    Rodders. Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Hello,

    My fuel cap opens even when the car is locked. I just checked the manual release and I don't seem to be able to pull it, so guess someone may have done this. I cant see up in there, can only feel.

    Is there a way to reset the manual release, or does it all need pulling out?
    #1
  2. NHN
    Online

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Its just a solenoid, so the plastic cable just slides this to open & thus remote should then relock, open the flap, then lock the car & see if the bars slides across, if not then its one of: fuse, solenoid, wiring or coding.
    #2
  3. Rodders.
    Offline

    Rodders. Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    22
    ok, will go try. I didn't see any options on the MMI for central locking associated with the fuel cap, so when you refer to coding, what could that be?
    #3
  4. NHN
    Online

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Well coding advises the cars, what's fitted & features are available, that's not to say your car has a codable option, but many others do.
    #4
  5. Rodders.
    Offline

    Rodders. Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Cannot see anything slide across with flap open and locking car. But i cant see anywhere where it would come from.All i see is the plunger that twists and holds the flap closed.
    #5
  6. NHN
    Online

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Can you see a hole on a protruding piece of metal stuck to the flap, where the solenoid may slide across into?

    Pics?
    #6
  7. Rodders.
    Offline

    Rodders. Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    22
    20131028_153818.jpg 20131028_153823.jpg 20131028_153835.jpg 20131028_153839.jpg
    Photos attached, am I being soooo blind? (Hence the name!)

    Excuse the dirtiness, the outside is much cleaner :yum:
    #7
  8. Gillm
    Offline

    Gillm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    2
    Mine doesn't lock either . Interested in how you guys get on
    #8
  9. A4B8Sline
    Offline

    A4B8Sline Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    16
    Mine needed a new solenoid as it also failed. Luckily I had one months warranty left.
    #9
  10. NHN
    Online

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Interesting, it looks like some form of lock is integrated into the push button, as it has a part on the end that looks like it twists round into a slot to hold the flap closed/locked as such.

    Can you leave the flap open, push in the piston like piece top left of the flap hole, so it clicks in & stays, then see when pushing in or locking if it twists round or not.
    #10
  11. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,747
    Likes Received:
    495
    just checked mine the push in piston does twist to lock the cap
    #11
    NHN likes this.
  12. NHN
    Online

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Is that only when you lock the car, not when you push the piston in by hand?
    #12
  13. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,747
    Likes Received:
    495
    it spins when you push it in
    but when the car is locked and you push it it wont relese
    unlock car push it in and it releses and spins back round
    #13
    NHN likes this.
  14. Rodders.
    Offline

    Rodders. Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Open/shut, locked or unlocked. I can still open it.

    Im not convinced the manual release hasnt been pulled and disengaged the solenoid. I need more info on how it all works. I canot pull the manual release anymore. But it also wont go back. If you can put it back without taking something apart.
    #14
  15. NHN
    Online

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Bottom line is, if it has manual release, then it must have a lock, otherwise no manual release would be needed for a flap that cant be locked as such, so yes it would appear to be faulty, have to remove boot lining side panel to get to probably.
    #15
  16. craigbeal
    Offline

    craigbeal New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mine had the same problem. Ordered the new solenoid and fitting took about 15 min tops.
    #16
  17. Gillm
    Offline

    Gillm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do you have a part number and price ?
    #17
  18. NHN
    Online

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Approximately £17 8K0862153F
    #18
  19. Gillm
    Offline

    Gillm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is that for a avant or saloon ?

    Many thanks
    #19
  20. Rodders.
    Offline

    Rodders. Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Not worth a warranty claim for that price
    #20
  21. vw754
    Offline

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    25
    part number for solenoid(its called a throttle control) is=8KO862153H
    THE BLACK SURROUND(INSERT) IS=8KO809999D
    ****SALOON****

    did mine aswell a few weeks back,the black plastic surround will have 4 rectangular slats,you need to pierce them to release the tabs,then once the surround is off,you can replace the solenoid(very easy job)...buy both parts first,then you will figure it out easily,around £30 for both parts from tps,or a bit nmore from audi.
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2013
    #21
  22. Gillm
    Offline

    Gillm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi guys just fitted a new one today NHN that number has now been superceeded with a 'h' at the end

    I spent a good hour messing around trying to figure out how to replace it , removing trim etc and all you need to do is open the flap and remove 1 screw and pull the plastic housing off to revel the switch which slides in on 2 locating parts . It really is a 5 min job but sadly took me an hour lol .
    #22
  23. dieseldoos
    Offline

    dieseldoos Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    62
    I posted this on another forum, but for those that have the problem and are not sure how...

    Open the panel in the boot on the right hand side (it folds down) to reveal the red release cord.

    [​IMG]

    Tie some string to the release cord (to aid pulling back through)

    Next, open the fuel filler cap and remove the single torx screw.

    [​IMG]

    Now, using a blunt flat edged screwdriver, gentley prise each of the four corners to release the clips. (The correct way is to push through each corner (theres a small retangle in each corner) and this breaks the clips, which is why Audi will (try) and sell you this part as well, but if you are carefull, they wont break. (i brought this incase but did not break any clips).

    Once this is uncliped, it simply pulls out (with the flap attatched) revealing the Actuator itself.

    [​IMG]

    Simply slide this out and unplug the connector on the rear of the actuator. Gently pull it through, untie the string and tie the string onto the replacement pull cord ready.

    [​IMG]

    Then, re-connect the plug onto the new actuator, and put it back in position.

    Now back in the boot, gently pull the string, to get the red pull cord back through, undo the string and clip the cord back.

    Then simply re-insert the fuel flap surround (or new one if you break the clips), and rescrew the torx screw back.

    Test its working and job done! 15 mins top!

    Only other notes are if you do use a new fuel flap surround, then you need to slide out the flap cover from the old one and slide it on the new one.

    Regarding parts you will need the new Actuator, the other items (the fuel cap insert and sticker!) you will only need if you break the clips.

    The whole lot cost me £33.34 but with just the Actuator it would have cost £14.01

    hope that helps
    #23
  24. Gillm
    Offline

    Gillm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    2
    That's bang on . Could of done with that a few hours ago lol
    #24
  25. rabhrab
    Offline

    rabhrab Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    part number for solenoid(its called a throttle control) is=8KO862153H

    Do I need to order this from Audi, or is it available elsewhere?
    #25
  26. NHN
    Online

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Are you asking this because you consider £14.01 expensive or because the dealers too far away?
    #26
  27. rabhrab
    Offline

    rabhrab Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am presently in France and therefore wondered what the ordering options were, that's all.
    #27
  28. NHN
    Online

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Just order from a French dealer or order from a site sponsor Stoke audi who will deliver.
    #28
  29. JG51 AUD
    Online

    JG51 AUD Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    232
    Can anyone tell me where the fuse for this is located, just noticed mine doesn,t lock either, but want to check the obvious first before buying the new throttle control part. A pic of the fuse location would be even more helpful if anyone can oblige.


    Cheers JG
    #29
  30. vw754
    Offline

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    25
    it works with the central locking........so in theory if your central locking is working,you need a new unit.
    i replaced both parts(actuator and plastic surround) and the sticker that go's on inside of fuel flap £33 inc vat.
    #30
    JG51 AUD likes this.
  31. JG51 AUD
    Online

    JG51 AUD Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    232
    Cheers mate, makes sense re central locking. I'll get both parts ordered tomorrow and hopefully fitted at the weekend.

    Cheers again, John G.
    #31
  32. vw754
    Offline

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    25
    no probs,very easy to fit,any probs,il be glad to help
    #32
    JG51 AUD likes this.
  33. JG51 AUD
    Online

    JG51 AUD Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    232
    Sorted, took me half an hour, and I managed to save the plastic surround. Cheers to all who supplied info on this thread.JG
    #33
  34. Johnsmith123
    Offline

    Johnsmith123 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Audi A4 and fuel cap stuck, I had to force it open without breaking anything, I pushed the protruding pin back and it does not lock the cap anymore when I lock the car. Pin may have stuck inside when I pushed back with a screw driver.

    Any idea how I unjam it ?
    #34
  35. Phil-1
    Offline

    Phil-1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    295
    Sorry to resurrect an old post.

    I have a different issue with my fuel filler flap not opening. I found the red pull string attached behind a blank so didn't need to remove any trim. I managed to open the flap and test the actuator, it works OK when the flap is open (you can see it moving in and out) but when you close the flap it wont open. I did notice that the silver pin feels loose and can move it up and down.

    What do you think? is the actuator on its way out or are the bit loose?
    I don't want to strip it down if its not necessary, also is it the same process for the 8P?

    Thanks
    Phil
    #35
  36. Phil-1
    Offline

    Phil-1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    295
    Can anyone please help me with this? If I need a new actuator I need to get it ordered on Monday.
    #36
  37. rabhrab
    Offline

    rabhrab Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    Phil-1,
    Is this not what you are looking for? It worked for me. Part number for solenoid (its called a throttle control) is=8KO862153H. Let us know how you get on.
    #37
  38. Phil-1
    Offline

    Phil-1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    295
    Thanks is it the same process for an A3? I'm still not sure if it is the solenoid, as it works fine when the flap is open. It just won't unlock when the flap is closed
    #38
  39. rabhrab
    Offline

    rabhrab Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    Oops. Sorry, I should pay more attention, I didn't realise you were referring to an A3, so not sure if this does apply to your car.
    #39
  40. Phil-1
    Offline

    Phil-1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    295
    Thanks for the reply. I have asked Dave at Stoke Audi for a price, I did ring Audi Harrogate they wanted £40 + Vat and an hours labour to fit one. :(
    It's strange that it works when open but not when closed???
    #40

Share This Page