1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Front door not operational after door card swop!??? HELP!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by sportbackbkd, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. sportbackbkd
    Offline

    sportbackbkd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just completed the change over from my standard seats to S3 seats and door cards from what I understand do be from a 2008 model, My SB is a 56 plate i had this wood trim ewww! and rubbish seats. The seats I got in fine except there was an additional wiring loom from the S3 seats that i couldn't find a connection for in my floor space which I assume could be the loom for the heated seats which I don't have a switch to or maybe electronic lumbar support?? dunno how I can get that working BUT!!! most importantly!!!!......... After I transferred my front door cards over from my older ones to the brush aluminium ones all the switches stopped working?? i don't know what i done I was just a straight forward plug n play and now nothing is working.. HELP!?
    #1
  2. sub39h
    Offline

    sub39h Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    5
    extra connection is for heated seats.

    there's a little pin that's inside the door cards and attached to the handle. if that's dislodged then the door won't open from the inside. happened to me when i had my windows tinted. not sure exactly where the bit is or what it looks like cos it was 5 years ago, but someone will no doubt be along to help shortly.

    also you didn't need to replace the door cards to replace the trim. it comes off separately
    #2
  3. sub39h
    Offline

    sub39h Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    5
    oh wait you mean none of the SWITCHES are working? that i dunno about. wait for NHN to give further guidance. probably something to do with the door modules
    #3
  4. sub39h
    Offline

    sub39h Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    5
    oh wait that might be the solution actually. put the new trim on your old door cards.
    #4
  5. sportbackbkd
    Offline

    sportbackbkd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    i tried exhanging the entire loom from the old ones to the new ones (i like the s3 one cuz it has the better material on the side of it, my old ones had granny cloth on it) well yes the locks dont work the windows dont work on both sides, the lock engage light on the drivers side is dim and flickers plus i noticed that on my light switch the fog lamp icon is green cuz i dont have any fog lamps but it also too is flickering so im thinking there must be some sort of wiring problem with the new connector as the door cards where off an S3 which has the indicators on the wing mirrors... i dont know what i can do because i also tried putting the old cards back on and it dont work any more?
    #5
  6. sportbackbkd
    Offline

    sportbackbkd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    i can open the doors using the handle, the key fob is functional to open and lock, i cant operate the front windows in anyway even with the key fob function it dont work, the rear windows work fine.
    #6
  7. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&#

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    Have you swapped the door module itself ? (the box that all the wires plug into behind the door card )
    #7
  8. sportbackbkd
    Offline

    sportbackbkd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    door module? there is only a wiring loom which has a main connector, then it has one bulb for the door handle then one bulb for the red light on the bottom side and one white bulb for the bottom of door card and obviously the window switch... as for door module im not aware there is one on the door card itself?
    #8
  9. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&#

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    It isn't on the door card, it is behind it.

    It's a process of elimination my dear watson.

    So if its still the same door module, you need to double check all your plugs are connected properly.

    Does the old door card operate as it did when you put it back on?
    #9
  10. sportbackbkd
    Offline

    sportbackbkd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    nope i tried putting the old ones in and nothing..... maybe a fuse is gone? i did disconnect the batter with some of the cards abd especially when i fitted the new seats in.. i cant understand what has gone wrong... the lead connects to what looks like the window motor unit so i didnt replace that because i dont have it.
    #10
  11. sportbackbkd
    Offline

    sportbackbkd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    just a thought while reading up, im reading alot about the comfort control module.. some say its under steering wheel, some say its under passanger side footwell (which i noticed had a hold through the carpet because my foot went through the carpet when i was fitting the front seats.. some say its under all plastic in the boot.. could i have disturbed that? also maybe it would be good if i check all the fuses in the morning but which one??, im gonna try get some sleep as i dont have the foggiest, i used used to have a saxo and become an expert with em, then a golf v6 4 motion which i did the same then a bmw 330ci m sport which again i learnt alot about but this audi a3 i dont have the foggiest. Thanks all for your help, i might end up having to take it to my audi specialist which i didnt want to do.
    #11
  12. sportbackbkd
    Offline

    sportbackbkd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone? im still stuck here?
    #12
  13. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    1st, take a deep breath & look at one thing at a time, trying to do everything at once just gets you in a mess, resolve one problem then work on another even if on same wiring.

    2nd, did your old seats have any connections, if not then forget seat connections as you wont have them, it will be for 1 or all of the following: heated seats, airbag, seat belt warning, electric lumbar, I can wire a number of these in properly.

    3rd, if you have the facelift 08 door cards, these are wired differently, you need to swap for your old loom in both doors, you cant have 1 old & one new, it will feck both doors up as they communicate with eachother & they both need connecting up for proper functionality, plus you will definitely at some point need vagcom as there will be errors thrown & this will also guide you in resolving your issues as it will tell you what faults are on the car.

    The conv module is hidden behind the boot trim on the right hand side wall, you couldnt have disturbed this if doing the seats solely.

    Where abouts are you?
    #13
  14. sportbackbkd
    Offline

    sportbackbkd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    :D sounds promising, ok.. deep breath, im not bothered about the heated seats that could be tackled later, the seats feel way better and the seat belt warning comes on and off as they should with no airbag warning lights on as i took the battery off when i fitted them so thats all good. Looks like i need to swap the looms over then, i did do that for the passenger side loom over as i suspected it might be that but i swoped it back after it didnt work just on the passenger side but obviously as you said both looms need to be swopped i think i will try that and maybe the vagcom needs to be done after as i am sure that i tripped some errors up with my experiments. so i will do that and report back! my fingers are hurting my backs hurting, my ass is hurting doing this job... im glad i got some hope. Im located in wolverhampton near birmingham.. any good?
    #14
  15. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Hold on, anyone seen my violin, do wonder why your arse in hurting though mate & certainly not interested in replicating why either lmfao

    Any good in what respect?
    #15
  16. sportbackbkd
    Offline

    sportbackbkd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    My gf plays the violin so i had plenty of that all ready, and the pains from all the hard labour, anyway. it was a tough challenge changing the loom over on the drivers side, i basically had to take the whole door card apart to get 2 of the clips off but its been done.. and.... Still NO GOOD!, im getting no lights on at all now, as before the red light for the door lock switch used to be on. so no functionality. i dont know if thats a good thing or a bad thing. And you asked where i was from so i told you and asked if that was any good in respect to service. I think i will take it to midland VW... and audi..maybe. im regretting this change.
    #16
  17. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Hard labour, lol, dont be a wuss, its only a few seats & door cards.

    When you disconnect the battery it throws up a shed load of errors on many car modules & you need to clear these 1st then work on the issue, assuming you have stuck vagcom on it havnt you.

    Stick the original loom with the original door cards & see if this then works.

    The conv module can get confused aswell with too many wrong connections or remote uses in a short span of time.

    Check fuses as it maybe a combo of issues.

    It can only be a handful of things tbh as I have done this time & time again & always got back to functional state.

    Given you need this fixed tomorrow then I cant help you resolve it with my involvement hands on as such.
    #17
  18. sportbackbkd
    Offline

    sportbackbkd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have not got vagcom so cannot check if there is any errors, i have got access to a Bosch device that aparently costs 3k so i can try this, i checked the fuses and nothing is out the ordinary.... it must be something to do with the codes. by the way, when i changed the loom, should i of changed all the switches and lights from the old one too? because i didnt, im assuming all the switches at least should be the same?
    #18
  19. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Did you swap it back yet to test if still worked with original kit?

    Buy vagcom, end of.
    #19
  20. sportbackbkd
    Offline

    sportbackbkd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bosch Fault codes:
    0078: Drivers side control unit: exit light electrical fault in circuit
    0079: passenger side control unit: exit light electrical fault in circuit

    After a interior change this is the problems i got, none of my switches drivers and passengers are working but the rear are fine. any advice?

    I think it means take it into audi. :D
    #20
  21. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    1 sec, its not a LHD interior you got was it, hey have to ask as some people do make silly mistakes like this
    #21
  22. sportbackbkd
    Offline

    sportbackbkd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    No its a right hand drive... Ive contacts a mobile autoelectrician so hopefull he can sort it out. :D
    #22
  23. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Have you got the left & right looms round wrong way?

    Actually thinking straight, probably dont fit anyway as plugs would be different aswell as more wires.
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2010
    #23
  24. sportbackbkd
    Offline

    sportbackbkd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    its impossible to get the looms the wrong way round as they are different. anyway i sorted it out, my mate had a his MOT bay free so i went down and check every single fuse with the help of autodata and a dodgey fuse tester, then i stripped out the door cards and the door control modules, left em off for 15 mins to defuse any static, connected up the Bosch diagnostics unit and located faults to a whole world of Sh... but then deleted the faults of which some could not be done. anyway, connected em up and hey presto! we have light and now i can open my window to throw milkshake at haters and also locked the doors when i drive past theifs. true.
    #24
  25. sportbackbkd
    Offline

    sportbackbkd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I forgot to say, I dont care what anybody says but changing an interior and stripping the door cards down to its bare bones is hard work! so no violins please!
    #25
  26. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    You'll be amazed at what some people have done with wiring even if the connectors dont fit or seem impossible to be for these said doors.

    Static has nothing to do with the issue you had at all, it sounds like you either didnt connect them up properly somewhere or you didnt do as suggested & that was clear the codes & then test, which the scanner has done but not totally, hence the reason for the suggestion to get it scanned with vcds which would of cleared all your faults or at least pointed you towards the problem.

    Also there will be faults showing returned anyway after you cleared them, as the door cards were of when you did it, they wont disappear until 1st the cards were properly connected, 2nd the codes are cleared after card is connected & 3rd if there are any faults with the doors components still these are resolved..

    You dont get away that easily fella.


    [​IMG]
    #26
  27. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&#

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hell yeah....

    [​IMG]

    And i'm playing........
    #27
  28. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    LMFAO he did ask for that huh lol
    #28
  29. sportbackbkd
    Offline

    sportbackbkd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    you guys kill it!
    #29
  30. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    We try to please

    [​IMG]
    #30

Share This Page