1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Freeview boxes

Discussion in 'Home Cinema, Hi-Fi and Gadgets' started by jojo, Sep 24, 2005.

  1. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,707
    Likes Received:
    2,014
    [Sep 24, 2005]
    Not sure if these have been covered before, but I fancy getting one for my shop, as they are pretty cheap atm. Question I have though is, does the area need to have a good signal for one of these to work? I cueently can receive channels 1-5 through the standard antenna, but BBC2 and channel4 are a but fuzzy, as I'm based in a dip. These 2 channels get worse when it's raining outside, so if anyone can help, many thanks /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 22, 2014]

  3. DaveACQ20v
    Offline

    DaveACQ20v Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 24, 2005]
    #2
  4. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,707
    Likes Received:
    2,014
    [Sep 24, 2005]
    Cheers Dave /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #3
  5. DaveACQ20v
    Offline

    DaveACQ20v Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 24, 2005]
    just had a thought jojo, is your aerial inside or outside. Tried mine on indoor aerial and it doesn`t pick up all channels. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #4
  6. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,707
    Likes Received:
    2,014
    [Sep 24, 2005]
    It's outdoor bud, but probably long in the tooth, like around 20 years old and due for replacement, see how it goes. Freeview boxes are approx. £30 at my local Tescos, so thinking about it.
    #5
  7. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 24, 2005]
    you could always buy one from argos if you have one near you if its no good you could always get your money back.
    #6
  8. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Sep 24, 2005]
    dont read too much into the website either.

    the website reckoned i needed a new aerial - i didn't

    The website reckoned my parents couldn't get it at all - they could receive it fine.

    these are both examples from norfolk though.

    you've got to be careful though, as it's really funny with dips. My friend in Bath can't get it at all.
    #7
  9. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,707
    Likes Received:
    2,014
    [Sep 24, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    you could always buy one from argos if you have one near you if its no good you could always get your money back.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I think I might just that, at least test it and take it back wether it works or not lol. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #8
  10. pimpeda3
    Offline

    pimpeda3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 24, 2005]
    if u buy it from currys or something the'yll take it back no hassle if it dont work
    #9
  11. imported_fingermouse
    Offline

    imported_fingermouse Guest

    [Sep 26, 2005]
    when i got my pace digibox from argos they said it was non returnable if the box had been opened /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    btw the pace digi box was good until a software upgrade now it locks up now and then when looking at the tv guide.
    #10
  12. bainsyboy
    Offline

    bainsyboy Guest

    [Sep 27, 2005]
    Humax hard disk free view recorders are good but a little expensive i havent recorded onto vhs tapes in months, if your looking at getting one of these or similar make go for twin tuner, with the humax i click a programme and it records it even the wife sussed it out
    #11
  13. marctwo
    Offline

    marctwo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 27, 2005]
    I have a Topfield 5800 and can't say enough good things about it. It's pricey but it kicks the a*se out of everything else out there at the moment. You can record 2 shows at the same time and watch a 3rd live or recorded. You'll never miss a thing. In fact, I have so much recorded, I don't have enough time to watch it all!
    #12
  14. carltonbbc
    Offline

    carltonbbc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 25, 2005]
    Hi All,

    I was told as a general rule of thumb re freeview reception possibilities and aerial compatibility that if you can get good Channel 5 reception from your existing aerial then a freeview should fit like a glove..If Channel 5 is a bummer for you then its Aerials R Us for you, I'm afraid
    #13

Share This Page