1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Frankenturbo'd A4 TQS build thread !

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Bradderz_1988, Jul 29, 2011.

  1. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    Few more ....... ready to test fit !!

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  2. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    The maf may not read correctly that close to a bend. Do you still have the screens in the maf tube? That will help if you have
  3. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    Yes its still fitted at the filter end !!

    How will a bend affect the MAF reading its not loosing air or drawing any more unmetered air in ??

    The original tip has a bend to it although i no its not mega at 180' lol !!

    This setup is going to be a very tight fit so i cant go spacing the MAF out any more i think i may have to shave the filter neck down an inch or so to give me more clearance under the headlight !!
  4. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    I dont know why, but it will. the straighteners help a lot tho. I think its due to turbulent air
  5. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    Hmm i could always swap the coupler and MAF round if i encounter any problems !!
  6. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,785
    Likes Received:
    6
    Looking forward to seeing this fitted!
  7. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    Well i had a quick go at test fitting the S2000 filter today and the results wernt all that great !!

    The filter is way to big to go under the headlight and anywhere behind and piped up !! The only physical way i can see to get it to fit is by removing the a/c pipes and drier unit then try attemp number 2 lol

    Has any one removed the A/C in there car, can you leave the evaporator in place and just remove the pump, condensor and pipe work ??

    I dont really use it so it will free up some weight and give extra room for an intercooler, and possibly allow me to fit this massive filter !!
  8. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    i'd leave the aircon and make it fit somehow, it's supposed to be a comfortable cruiser
  9. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    Well ive scrapped the idea of the S2000 filter mod as i want to keep the A/C inplace, now toying with the AEM dryflow filter again so will update when i get round to it but still going to use the couplers and pipe to move the filter closer to the headlight and further away from the manifold, or if anyone else wants to be the test monkey and make it fit i might look into it again haha

    Id say that the S2000 mod will be ok for the V6 guys due to location of the intake pipe but theres just not enough room on the 1.8T due to the TIP and A/C drier and pipes !!

    Ahh well least i tried ..
  10. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    send it my way and i'll have a play on the track car :p
  11. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    Too late ive already returned it to the parts department and got a refund !!
  12. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    Ah fair enough then!
  13. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    Well the puzzle is complete !!

    [​IMG]

    Got my pagid discs today from eurocarparts on ebay for 79.98 delivered, so all being well i will get this lot fitted and see if my wheels will clear them hopefully i will be posting pics of them fitted with minimum clearance lol !!!
  14. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    Bloody dear pads them. I bought them premium pad things that kev recommend
  15. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    Pads were £13.99 delivered off ebay from ECP !!
  16. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    Oops mis read that I thought pads were 78.98. Lol
  17. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    Im also tempted to give the front discs a skim as the new place has one :) now they havent been on that long but i tend to get some brake judder through the steering now and then so i could give the pads a clean up too and grease it all up !! Im also going to look at doing the boots and seals on the B6 S4's just incase there sticking as very rarely it feels as though one caliper isn't doing much and pulling the car under braking ??
  18. foursprungdugtechnique
    Offline

    foursprungdugtechnique Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    22
    Bradderz have a look at http://www.car-bock.de/man-audi
    Their discs are Fremax Carbon +, check out the Fremax site. Mine going on on Tuesday, got a full set, discs, pads, bearings (shells pressed in and ABS rings on rears) after seeing the stuff it's very good value even taking the €18 shipping into account
  19. Chriscooke
    Offline

    Chriscooke Clueless!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    18
    Are the pagid disks any good then? I have a mate who can get me some at trade price but I have t taken him up on the offer yet as I've never really heard of them before.
  20. 2.8 30v
    Offline

    2.8 30v Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    16
    Pagid discs are classed as oem standard I've just fitted some on the front of mine a few weeks ago along with some black diamond fast track pads the brakes are a lot better now
  21. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    Well there on :) !!!

    Before
    [​IMG]

    After
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Brake hose routing
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Side on with B6 S4 Fronts

    [​IMG]

    From the 'spokes' clearance pics i dont think the calipers arent sitting true as the disc seemed to be alittle to close to the inner pad seat wheel bearings are all straight as it stays in the same place when turning, as the brakes seem to be soft then go hard so im having to double brake alot i may try bleeding them again monday !!

    Other than that they look ALOT better than the old ones i can actually see them through the wheels lol
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2014
  22. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    EDIT: repost

    also the hamdbrake cables fell on with the bracket mod !!
  23. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    Right wheres best place to source a GT2871R from ?? Or should i go GT2876R from owen developments ??

    Now the one used on the SR20DET needs adapters and i also believe looking at lees build thread he had to use a spacer to clear the ATP style manifold ??

    Can the 3" maf/injectors be used on a GT turbo on actuator pressure till its ready to be mapped and rodded :)
  24. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    K04-064.
  25. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    Is this basically similar to the gt2871R ??

    Ive got ATP kit with downpipe, 5 bolt v band adapter and all feed lines coming next week so im committed to going with a GT2871/76R, is it ok to run no DV with a GT28 ??
  26. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    You bought the set on srs then. Just get whatever fits the 5 bolt flange I guess
  27. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2014
  28. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    You will require a DV.

    Unless your going for over 400hp, and thus GT30 or larger, i think the K04-064 is a better option.
  29. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,126
    Likes Received:
    179
    Any Gt series turbo will require a DV. Unless you are dropping the MAF based injection system for a Map based one you're stuck with one.
  30. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    But doesnt the K04 064 require alot of modding to get it to fit going of marks thread ?

    I would of stuck with the FT but i doubt it will break the 300hp mark so when the ATP kit come up i thought why not might also get the S2000 filter on then :) Oh and probably due to the FT manifold going south again, I still have the F21 CHRA and comp housing as ive not got round to fitting it so that can go on to the old hotside and go straight on ebay.
  31. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    Do we mean waste gate not dv? or buy internally gated gt30. Still a good solid 350 or more. 064 is easier to fit than gt turbo. Brad you got a manifold? That's the dear bit on gt setup
  32. slepy
    Offline

    slepy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    87
    Iirc the srs setup didnt have exhaust manifold
  33. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    Not got a manifold might just run a ATP clone to get me up and running thought of sending it away for coating at zirotec or just leave it as is with being a clone and save for the ATP as that will have warranty if it ever cracks, im staying with internal wastegate so dont think i will go bigger than the GT2876R, i did mean DV as i sort of like the compressor surge noise on the GT28 jap cars and it would mean less hassle installing the 007p, if i do go ME7 can i run without DV or is it best to run one ??
  34. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    You need a DV if your keeping any Motronic variant.

    The K04-064 is certainly no MORE work to fit than a BT, and comes with the advantage of a pretty solid manifold built in.

    IMO its the right balance for a road car. Any bigger and your starting to compromise drivability and low speed tractability for power, which isnt really what you want for a daily driver.

    I go from my car with its tiny scroll turbo into dawns with its K300, and sure dawns isnt mapped yet, but the difference in lag is really noticable, and its caught me out a good few times at roundabouts.

    I'm also not sure i'd bother with a 2871. Either fit a 2860RS and go for 350hp, or go for a proper full frame GT30, T3 housing and properly flowing manifold and aim for 400+
  35. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    But doesnt the GT2860RS catch the manifold as per lee's thread which would mean spacing it out and then the downpipe having alignment issues or would it involve a different comp housing and wastegate actuator ??

    I think a GT30 would be too laggy although most of my driving is motorway miles so would mean good power/torque up high in the revs but it would have to be a 5 bolt housing as thats whats in the kit, so the kinaguwa GT30 is in a 5 bolt housing but then doesnt that restrict the fact its a GT30 ??
  36. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,785
    Likes Received:
    6
    Are people now fitting the K04-064 off the 2.0T on A4s as well as A3s? Sounds like a decent upgrade. I had seen them fitted to the transverse engine but never the longitude engines. I always thought we could not use OEM turbos which fitted S3s etc.

    What do people get out of them? 300bhp?
  37. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    Mine is at 350 currently more or less. On gtrs tune.
  38. Sulli79
    Online

    Sulli79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    29
    What kind of figures could be expected with a k04-064 and standard displacement?
  39. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    Similar like Prawny. Mine should see 380 when tuned properly. Prawn had 380 when at number 11. When turned down to a safer level 370
  40. Sulli79
    Online

    Sulli79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    29
    Pretty healthy figures then

Share This Page