1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FPR Question...

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by RichA3Turbo, Dec 2, 2005.

  1. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    Right, are the FPR's in the 1.8T Variable? i.e, do they supply 4 bar or >4 bar?, likewise is the 3bar FPR >3bar.

    Pretty certain they are variable i.e supply on demand.

    Rich
    #1
  2. Ess_Three
    Offline

    Ess_Three Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    6
    4 bar if the vacuum hose is not connected...
    Less than 4 bar at idle, with that line under vacuum, to reduce the fuel pressure further and assist idle emissions....pretty much 4 bar everywhere else except under full vacuum (idle, with a closed throttle butterfly).

    Same principle with the 3 bar versions...

    I verified this the hard way...try setting up a standalone ECU with the vacuum line connected! The fuel pressure is all over the place at idle...not good for setting baseline idle maps up.
    #2
  3. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    Cool.. Thanks Glen.
    #3
  4. dummi
    Offline

    dummi smoking a6

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rich, there is a bosch 5 bar fpr available that will give linear fuel curve for mapping, have yet to find where to get them though, try bosch motorsport.

    also some peope use crushed fpr's, like 4 bar on s3, s4 to give 5 bar, only problem is it will give non-linear fuel curve, is PITA for tuners on RR
    what has actually happened here is the fpr spring has been crushed and is constantly more compressed giving the higher pressure but at the same time gives it less movement under compression so non-linear fueling , this is the principle of the adjustable fpr's that are 3-5 bar etc,

    hope thats helpful
    #4
  5. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    My query is concerning emissions... I need to cut mine down a little for the MOT... CO2 is too high, which means its running too rich...

    Rich
    #5
  6. dummi
    Offline

    dummi smoking a6

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh my appologies. thats what happens when i skim read.
    #6
  7. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    No worries dude... I didnt mention why in my first post anyway! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #7
  8. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using a 3.5bar fpr or thats what jabba said and it sailed through the emissions.
    Maybe your mapping is at fault?AMD isn't it.
    #8
  9. god_thats_quick
    Offline

    god_thats_quick Numptie of the highest order

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Ryan,

    is that a not so subtle moan about AmD, are you speaking from experience?

    Just interested to know...
    #9
  10. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    No fault with the map thanks. Had a major air leak last year which wont have helped. I've checked AFR numerous times and its perfect.
    #10
  11. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't know anything about AMD mapping,i know gary handas car melted after a rr session there whos fault i have no idea..
    In my opinion Mike at Jabbasport is the best 1.8t mapper in the uk.
    #11
  12. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    But Gary Handas is not the only one... There have been numerous cars that have melted housings...Bill's ibiza being one of them.
    #12
  13. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gary Handa melted a piston ring on the dyno being tuned on the RR at AMD and need a complete rebuild

    Bill melted a housing on the track after 45k of track miles,engine was not harmed.

    big difference.
    #13
  14. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    Not going to get into this arguement again...Its getting dull.

    My question was answered.
    #14
  15. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didn't relise there was/is a argument.
    #15
  16. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    There isnt.. But i dont want to get into one, because thats the way it always ends up...
    #16
  17. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    No worries.end of discussion
    #17
  18. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    Had MOT done today...passed no problem! emissions are perfect .etc, so last years prob was vacuum leak messing up the mixture!

    Rich
    #18

Share This Page