1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Forum Issues.

Discussion in 'Forum Support' started by Vorshprungdork, Nov 27, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vorshprungdork
    Offline

    Vorshprungdork Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Nov 27, 2013]
    Not sure if anyone can help with this, I am at work posting this so all OK here but when I am on my own computer at home I can't seem to reply to any posts any more. The box for a quick reply is not fully formed and I can't type into it, if I persevere a bit I get into another box but it doesn't look right either and I can't type into it. I can click the go advanced button but basic's not there so guess what, no advanced either. I haven't tried a new post but PMs seem OK, any ideas?
    Cheers in advance for any advice/assistance.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Jan 26, 2015]

  3. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17,357
    Likes Received:
    2,826
    [Nov 27, 2013]
    ​Can you post when you hit the reply button instead of using the quick reply?
    #2
  4. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,779
    Likes Received:
    2,076
    [Nov 27, 2013]
    It could be a browser issue, what browser are you using?
    #3
  5. Vorshprungdork
    Offline

    Vorshprungdork Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Nov 28, 2013]
    Sorry had to wait till I was back at work to reply, frustrated like you wouldn't believe last night, got replies and I can't talk back!
    Reply button takes me to a screen where, the title box is OK but the main text box is a kind oof bluey colour and I can't get a cursor to type into it. I don't know if the blue thing is significant but if I click a few times in the normal quick reply box I get a blue blinking line up the left side of the box but still can't type into it. The difference in this box is there are no lines at the side, just the top and bottom. I am on Windows 2000 incidentally. Cheers for the help.
    #4
  6. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,186
    Likes Received:
    585
    [Nov 28, 2013]
    have you just updated ?

    i did an update and got the same problem as you i just took the updats off

    i also got it a few month ago after a diffrent update
    this was windons updates.
    #5
  7. Vorshprungdork
    Offline

    Vorshprungdork Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Dec 2, 2013]
    Had a look at the weekend, I have various Mocrosoft service pack updates but nothing that I can see that's recent (since the probelm has arrisen). How wiouldI identify the most recent ones and take them off?
    #6
  8. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,779
    Likes Received:
    2,076
    [Dec 2, 2013]
    Just download Mozilla Firefox! I had issues browsing using explorer in the past.
    #7
  9. Vorshprungdork
    Offline

    Vorshprungdork Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Dec 5, 2013]
    Went on to the Microsoft website last night and updated everything but still teh same. I can see the updates I have had and when in there but not sure if I can delete that last lot? They seem to be security related so notsure if it's a good idea either, any suggestions?
    #8
  10. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,779
    Likes Received:
    2,076
    [Dec 6, 2013]
    I would leave the updates personally. I think the site is not optimised for use on latest Microsoft browser. Though I've not used IE in years! What version is it on now?
    #9
  11. Vorshprungdork
    Offline

    Vorshprungdork Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Dec 6, 2013]
    Think I am on version 8.
    #10
  12. Vorshprungdork
    Offline

    Vorshprungdork Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Dec 11, 2013]
    Anyone any ideas, I deleted a bunch of files in case it was a memory thing but no change?
    #11
  13. Vorshprungdork
    Offline

    Vorshprungdork Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Dec 18, 2013]
    Cheers to all who replied, I got a MS update a few days ago and all seems fine now.
    #12
  14. mattyboyc
    Offline

    mattyboyc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    50
    [Dec 18, 2013]
    I am having the same issues but only via iphone or ipad,laptop seems ok, can't bring up the keyboard either to reply to posts or write new post nor do any of the "quick reply" ect boxes work but can in classifieds?
    #13
  15. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17,357
    Likes Received:
    2,826
    [Dec 18, 2013]
    We are aware that there are some problems with posting on the site. We are working on this problem asap.
    Please keep checking back.

    Tapatalk for your mobile devices is still working

    Many thanks Admin
    #14
  16. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,256
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    [Dec 18, 2013]
    Change your forum theme to Mobile View and it works fine so far.
    #15
  17. ijgreer
    Offline

    ijgreer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Dec 18, 2013]
    I'm having a lot of issues when using tapatalk on iOS
    #16
  18. FactionOne
    Offline

    FactionOne Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,247
    Likes Received:
    141
    [Dec 18, 2013]
    Hi All,

    We're still working on the issue; but you should find that using the norma (ASN Fixed) style, you should have a basic text editor back and functioning; you may need to force-reload the page in order to see it - in most browsers that's Ctrl+F5.

    For those using the Mobile Style, click the link to "Full Site" at the bottom of the page to switch back to a normal style, then set as above.

    We'll update you all again as soon as we can.

    Rob.
    #17
  19. Mindak
    Offline

    Mindak Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    57
    [Dec 19, 2013]
    Iv had to download the tapatalk app in order to post anything, can't post anywhere on the forum this goes for my private messages too....
    #18
  20. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,779
    Likes Received:
    2,076
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    Had to help another forum member via text last night with the same problem. Try these few thing, swop the forum skin using the drop down menu at the bottom right of the page, log out and back in, and also try refreshing the page, your device may have the old non working page settings in the cache.
    #19
  21. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,256
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    [Dec 20, 2013]

    Tried this?

    Also CTRL+F5 works
    #20
    s3dave likes this.
  22. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    730
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    Cheers scott cntrl + f5 worked for me...:)
    #21
    ScottD3 likes this.
  23. Mindak
    Offline

    Mindak Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    57
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    Yes.... Cleared all my internet data/cookies from my iPhone and I'm typing as normal... How strange! Lol cheers guys!👍
    #22
  24. ijgreer
    Offline

    ijgreer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    Back to normal :)
    #23
  25. voorhees
    Offline

    voorhees Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,380
    Likes Received:
    1,335
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    On that note :)

    Thread Locked as sorted
    #24
    ijgreer and Sandra like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page