1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Forgotten to remove the the dvd and my SD cards.

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by crypric23, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    As the title says , i have removed my RNS-E in a rush as i sold the car.
    Of course i have forgotten to remove the the dvd and my SD cards.

    Is there away of getting them out ?

    I do not have access to an Audi that i could use as a doner
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2009
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 26, 2014]

  3. gynads
    Offline

    gynads Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    i cant find any links (im sure some of the guys will post up) but there are some on here of the wiring diagrams for the RNS-E`s. you can put a 12v supply to the connectors on the back just to power it up and retrieve your items. Then sell to meee!! at a reduced price of course! hope this helps. I`ll try looking for the wiring diags in the mean time.
    #2
  4. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,473
    Likes Received:
    1,262
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    the wiring labels on the top, cnat miss it & the flip down screen can actually be manually dropped down given its only a motor attached, so can at least get SD out, dvd should be released when you power it up.
    #3
  5. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,163
    Likes Received:
    691
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    Nigel is Audi Sport.
    #4
  6. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    So how on earth do you manually get it to drop down ?

    I do not really fancy trying to force it...

    The wiring diagram means 0 Zero to me !
    #5
  7. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    51
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    #6
  8. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    Again thanks staz , still no idea how to do that , but i will continue with the thread in the correct section ( sat nav ) it's just not many people seem to check in there.
    #7
  9. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    51
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    I wasn't saying you were specifically wrong by posting in both places I was just pointing out that Dave had answered the question on how to power the unit.

    You need to put the pos and neg from a 12v battery onto those 2 pins. There's a quick but risky way using 2 wires from your car battery, it just depends on how confident you are with putting live wires onto the back of the unit without touching them together or touching both wires yourself!

    I have a 12v battery made up from AAs for bench testing from a 12v source. No chance of killing myself :nyah:
    #8
  10. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    eeemmmmm think ill pass on that more than likely fry the head unit and me!


    is it a 12v in the cigarette lighter / non smoking , ?

    If so : Could i get a phone charger put that in there but have striped the other ends off and have them attached to the head unit ?
    #9
  11. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    51
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    #10
  12. Shades
    Offline

    Shades Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    Does the unit not have an emergency (power not required) disc eject mechanism like some CD players and CD-ROM drives have?
    #11
  13. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    That is perfect , Thanks Leon.

    All for 2.99!
    #12
  14. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    i though it might also , but no cant see one any way , i know what you mean though , the kind of hole they sometimes have that you stick a pin in etc..
    #13
  15. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,473
    Likes Received:
    1,262
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    No emergency eject, just pop your rns out from new car, then stick urs in, make sure u have codes for both, ask nate as he has radio keys.

    You can force the screen to slide down with pushing at the top of screen & trying to pull from bottom, works for me anyway everytime.
    #14
  16. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,473
    Likes Received:
    1,262
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    Huh, not likely, ASN is comprised of many knowledgable people, I just know a few things, but collectively, we all know alot.
    #15
  17. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,163
    Likes Received:
    691
    [Nov 11, 2009]
    Indeed Nigel.
    #16

Share This Page