1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fogs as DRLs.

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by AidenUK, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Jul 14, 2011]
    Before anyone says it's illegal to yours fogs etc, i know this but hear me out before slagging commences.

    I have noticed a few new Skoda's etc with the fogs used as DRL and the new polo also.

    The light output has been greatly reduced obviously so it's not a pain in the arse for oncoming motorists.

    Am i right in thinking the brightness is reduced by 75% down to 25% light output when using the fogs as DRLs?

    Next question is, can this be done on a 2006 Sline SB? I'm West Yorkshire (bradford area).

    Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 25, 2014]

  3. Rhyso
    Offline

    Rhyso Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Jul 14, 2011]
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2011
    #2
    AidenUK likes this.
  4. FranA3
    Offline

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,145
    Likes Received:
    248
    [Jul 14, 2011]
    #3
    AidenUK likes this.
  5. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Jul 14, 2011]
    Thanks.
    #4
  6. Rhyso
    Offline

    Rhyso Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Jul 14, 2011]
    No probs; I'm looking at an A3 same year as yours on Saturday so I'll let you know if it can be enabled :icon_thumright:
    #5
  7. FranA3
    Offline

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,145
    Likes Received:
    248
    [Jul 14, 2011]
    you the man with vag-com rhys ;)
    #6
  8. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Jul 14, 2011]
    Ah i see, if you could let me know if it can be enabled or not that would be great!

    Cheers Rhyso!
    #7
  9. andi1
    Offline

    andi1 WWW.APR-REMAPS.CO.UK

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jul 14, 2011]
    Ive been thinking about this too, i could probably get some h11 canbus led bulbs made up s it would just be like the other cars youve seen with LEDS in there Fogs etc
    #8
  10. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,841
    Likes Received:
    482
    [Jul 14, 2011]
    I have seen this option in mine, but as i have DRl in my Bi-xenon headlamp and i have xenons bulbs installed in my fogs i dont use it
    #9
  11. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Jul 18, 2011]
    Did you manage to find out if this could be enabled on a 56 plate A3?

    Cheers Rhyso.
    #10
  12. Rhyso
    Offline

    Rhyso Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Jul 19, 2011]
    I did and it can be done; I enabled it on AudiCruiser's A3 on Saturday. What you have to look out for is that the extended menu's for the DIS cannot be enabled meaning you need to use VCDS (VAGCOM) to disable them
    #11
  13. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Jul 19, 2011]
    Yep i know what you're saying mate, thanks for your help.
    #12
  14. audicruiser
    Offline

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    46
    [Jul 19, 2011]
    Rhyso is the DRL man!!! lol
    #13
  15. FranA3
    Offline

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,145
    Likes Received:
    248
    [Jul 19, 2011]
    i wonder if it can be done with mine hmmm as ive got the main headlights as my drl's now but when we were coding it , it would only do the scandinavian setting not the north american setting so the front and rear lights are on not just the fronts any ideas ????
    #14

Share This Page