1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FMIC worth it???

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by GforceA4, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. GforceA4
    Offline

    GforceA4 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    Ive decided it time to start gettin more power and doing more to my TQS

    i keep thinkin it worth having one, but been told they are not all they are cracked to be?

    help on this please!!!!!!!

    i gonna con someone for one Xmas prezzie :yahoo:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    If its a standard car, its not worth it.

    If your getting into remaps and hybrid turbos then it will be worth it.

    If its just a remapped standard car its probably questionable, but likely still worth it.
    #2
  4. GforceA4
    Offline

    GforceA4 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    i was think FMIC first then get a remap and then see what im runnin to see if the a new turbo is nexted
    #3
  5. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    To make the most out of the FMIC you'd need a custom map. To pay for a custom map and then swap your turbo and go for another custom map will cost you a fortune.

    I'd fit the FMIC and turbo when funds are available and then get a map to suit.
    #4
  6. GforceA4
    Offline

    GforceA4 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    what would be the best turbo to go for?
    #5
  7. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    That depends how much power you want.
    #6
  8. GforceA4
    Offline

    GforceA4 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    i want around 260 -280bhp anywhere around that ill be happy
    #7
  9. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    get one, the stock item is pants.
    I dropped inlet temps by 25 degrees and got 2-3mpg more at 80mph (test track).
    even just a 25deg drop allows the engine to run a better timing curve under load.

    all that on a stock engine with a Miltek turbo back.
    If you are even thinking of a remap then you will see more benefit with an FMIC especially after long bursts of WOT. (wide open throttle)

    the inlet temps rocket when you are running at WOT on skinny little KO3, it becomes a hot air pump and you will feel it lose power/torque at the top end when hot.
    #8
  10. GforceA4
    Offline

    GforceA4 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    rite then

    where the best place to get FMIC??

    What turbo would be best to use?

    What else would be best to do at the same time?
    #9
  11. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    That sort of power will require a fair few mods mate..

    Injectors
    MAF
    Turbo
    TIP
    FMIC
    REMAP
    De-cat/sport cat
    Exhaust
    Clutch
    etc.. etc..

    Not easy or cheap to add over 100HP.
    #10
  12. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    Can find fairly reasonably priced FMICs on ebay eg. Autobahn88 kit.

    Could go hybrid K04-015 or something a bit more meaty.. Garrett etc for the turbo.
    #11
  13. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    Or fit a V8 for much cheapness for the instant noise and 300hp's worth of 8cyl goodness.
    #12
  14. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    OMG.. you must have that in cut and paste lol
    #13
  15. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    and 15mpg thirst....
    #14
  16. GforceA4
    Offline

    GforceA4 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    ok cool cost doesnt bother me, its a long term project, ill do what it take to get it to bhp i want it,

    rite now ive got a list

    betta start buying!!! oh the missus will be so proud lol

    Am I being stupid what the TIP???
    #15
  17. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    I totally agree with this, watched my inlet temps drop over standard as soon as I fitted one.
    #16
  18. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    Turbo Intake Pipe. It's between the MAF and the turbo, with various off shoots for other valves and breathers. They are renowned for crushing under high intake loads...

    And my missus wants to murder me, and the car, for the amount of time and money that it gets that she doesn't.... hahaha. She knows where the door is.
    #17
  19. GforceA4
    Offline

    GforceA4 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    lol mate yeah agree with that lol

    looks like it going flyin machine when i get it finished!!!!
    #18
  20. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    Depending on what turbo you go for you might need to take various different steps to get it all working correctly.

    Eg. A K04-015 hybrid will bolt straight to your existing exhaust manifold (although you might choose a performance one anyway) and will fit to the standard Turbo Intake Pipe allowing you to use the standard airbox.

    A GTxxx turbo will require a different flange to bolt to and more than likely a totally different intake setup and air filter etc.
    #19
  21. GforceA4
    Offline

    GforceA4 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    cheers for that more info that i need
    #20
  22. GforceA4
    Offline

    GforceA4 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    K04-015 hybrid where would i get one from?
    #21
  23. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    You'd need to find a K04-015 then send it to someone like scroll for hybridising.

    Another option might be to use a k03-073 as they're a bit easier to get a hold of and see what scroll can do with one of those.
    #22

Share This Page