1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Flashing glow plug light and no accellerator!!

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by blucoop, Feb 13, 2012.

  1. blucoop
    Offline

    blucoop Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    Hi guys just wondering if anyone can help me. I have a 54 plate 1.9 tdi 130 and three weeks ago i was driving home from work when out of the blue the glow plug light started flashing on the dash, and i lost all accelleration. The engine continued to run fine so i could limp it off the main road and then towed it back to my mates workshop.

    After a load of research and also speaking with a guy at VW we ran diagnostics on it (snap on not vagcom), and got some error codes for the Throttle position sensor. we then did a load more research before ordering a new peddle assembly complete with the sensor and fitted it the next day.

    I thought the problem was solved and all was good up until yesterday when the poxy thing done it again, exactly the same flashing light and no accellerator.

    I turned the engine off whilst rolling , then back on again and it cleared for another few minutes before doing it again, and managed to get it home by repeating this process.

    The car then drove fine today on the 30 mile trip to work, no problems at all????

    Ive now been googling and searching this forum which in turn made me think it may be water in the plenum chamber so ive spent the best part of two hours checking that only to find its bone dry and theres no blockages.

    Therefore I am now stumped, my mate with the diagnostic machine is away for 3 weeks so i am unable to scan it again, although i would assume it would be the same error codes.

    Has any one got any ideas before i bite the bullet and book it in at Audi??

    Any help would be much appreciated.

    Thanks

    Steve
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 31, 2014]

  3. quattro tony
    Offline

    quattro tony Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    New pedal normally solves this problem tbh, think u must have another fault on it , Was it a brand new genuine pedal assembly you fitted? slim chance of a faulty part but really need to see what fault code you have and what number it is. I would suspect it may have a wiring fault from pedal to ecu. Have you had a look at the wiring to the pedal for any damage , and the connector to the pedal?
    #2
  4. SPORT180
    Offline

    SPORT180 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    i had this problem i had a 777 error it was the accellerator pedal replaced the pedel and it went again pedel got replaced at aud'is cost
    #3
  5. blucoop
    Offline

    blucoop Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2012]
    cheers for the replies,

    yes it was genuine audi part so would doubt it would be another failure on that front, guess i'll have to wait for my mate to get back with the diagnostic machine.!

    SPORT180 how long was it between the fitting the new pedal and it failing again??

    cheers

    steve
    #4
  6. blucoop
    Offline

    blucoop Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 14, 2012]
    also noticed over last couple of days that every once in a while when driving the car will skip a beat , ie lose power for a split second and then go back to normal, i assume this is related?? does this indicate that the new pedal from audi could be faulty??

    cheers

    steve
    #5
  7. stuhow3361
    Offline

    stuhow3361 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Feb 14, 2012]
    Mine did this twice around christmas and had to be towed home.Fault was water in the plenum chamber,approx 1 gallon.Cleaned all electrical connections and dried out sound proofing in drivers footwell behind the pedals.Also removed a large grommet from plenum chamber to allow for better drainage.Did not have to buy new pedal sensor,seems ok at the moment.
    #6
  8. blucoop
    Offline

    blucoop Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 14, 2012]
    yeah i took the battery out yesterday and it was bone dry underneath. I was kind of hoping it was that so at least i knew what is wrong but still none the wiser. gonna have to get someone to have a look at the wiring from pedal to ecu as thats way beyond my capabilities!!!

    cheers

    steve
    #7
  9. murran
    Offline

    murran Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Feb 14, 2012]
    ah....... on the o/s of the plenum chamber theres a black plastic box that houses the engine ecu. undo the 8mm headed bolts (one at the back is an arse to get too), remove the top.
    undo the clip holding the ecu in the box. at the back is where the engine loom plugs into the body looms. theres around 5 separate coloured plugs. unplug all of these and check for any signs of dampness/corrosion.

    i bet there is!
    #8
  10. blucoop
    Offline

    blucoop Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 15, 2012]
    thanks murran ill do that , just gotta motivate myself to take the poxy battery out again, what a mission,!!!

    cheers

    steve
    #9
  11. blucoop
    Offline

    blucoop Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 15, 2012]
    murran youre a star, i just opened the ecu box/cover thing and although there was no water in there there was a damp patch right at the back and the plsatic had perished and the rubber seal was all loose....

    im guessing (hoping) this could be the problem,??

    on the box it has the numbers 8E2 967 613D can anyone confirm this is the correct part and also whether i need just the top half or top and bottom.

    also is it worth me giving the plugs to ecu a spray with anything while replacing it or just leave them alone to dry??

    cheers

    steve
    #10
  12. quattro tony
    Offline

    quattro tony Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 15, 2012]
    Yes this could be your problem, as im sure there is a big open hole that goes to the pedal area if you look through the box, this seal needs to be 100% or damp can get in and cause prob with the electrics, some wd40 wont do any harm on the plugs going through the box , id personally leave the ecu plugs alone unless there is visable damp in there.
    #11
  13. murran
    Offline

    murran Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Feb 15, 2012]
    you need to pull the plugs apart that go thru the hole at the back of the box into the car and check them for corrosion, your looking for any white/green dusty discolouration. the plugs are colour coded and you cant mix them up.
    the signal and power wires from/to the accelarator pedal sensor go thru these plugs to/from the engine loom and ecu. any resistance caused by corrosion will upset its operation.

    had a very similar problem on a '99 a6 2.5 tdi a few months ago, had an intermittent (but frequent) oil level sensor fault warning coming up on the dash. had signs of moisture in the box but no actual wetness as such. on separating the plugs at the back, one of the plugs at the back was partly corroded, on checking the wire colours these were for the level sensor.
    cleaned it out with rattle can of electrical contact cleaner and blew it out with an airline. spray of wd40 in the plug and it hasnt been back yet..... if it does we'll fit and solder in new terminals in the effected plug.
    #12
  14. Mr.Vagcom
    Offline

    Mr.Vagcom New Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 22, 2012]
    not thread jacking but i have the same happen today, no moisture wiring looks ok, etc i have contacted ross-tech so i will post reply.
    i had these faults.......


    Address 01: Engine Labels: 038-906-019-AVF.lbl
    Part No: 038 906 019 LJ
    Component: 1,9l R4 EDC 0000SG 4910
    Coding: 00002
    Shop #: WSC 63251
    VCID: 6ADE57421664C94
    WAUZZZ8EX4A AUZ6Z0C0290973


    2 Faults Found:
    17994 - Engine Mount Solenoid Valves (N144/N145)
    P1586 - 35-10 - Short to Plus - Intermittent
    18047 - Accelerator Position Sensor 1/2 (G79/G185)
    P1639 - 35-10 - Implausible Signal - Intermittent
    Readiness: 0 0 1 1 1


    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 03: ABS Brakes Labels: 8E0-614-517.lbl
    Part No: 8E0 614 517
    Component: ABS/ESP front 3429
    Coding: 04255
    Shop #: WSC 06435
    VCID: E5C4A47E7F7A66C


    1 Fault Found:
    01314 - Engine Control Module
    79-00 - Please Check Fault Codes


    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    any pointers will be great,
    Ta in advance
    #13
  15. mememe
    Offline

    mememe Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 22, 2012]
    I also have this problem. The plenum chamber mod has been done. I haven't had the coloured plugs out yet but, on checking the throtle switch, I found the plug was drowned in water and, there is water seeping out of the switch housing.

    I will be removing it tomorrow for inspection/cleaning. I will also take a look at the coloured plugs and try to make the 'hole' waterproof. Anyone got any good ideas for the waterproofing?
    #14
  16. blucoop
    Offline

    blucoop Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 22, 2012]
    brand new ecu box with all fixings etc was only £55 from stoke audi on this forum, fitting mine at the weekend whilst cleaning all plugs thoroughly!!

    mememe where is the throttle switch plug may i ask??

    cheers

    steve
    #15
  17. mememe
    Offline

    mememe Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 22, 2012]
    The throttle switch is attached to the pedal and the plug is on the top. Can be quite akward to get to see it clearly. There are two little lugs which you need to gently squeeze in, to get the plug off.

    Checking elsawin, you need to remove 3 cap head screws to remove the switch itself (tho I haven't done mine yet).
    #16
  18. Mr.Vagcom
    Offline

    Mr.Vagcom New Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 22, 2012]
    thats correct 3 cap head bolts bout half hour job with a bit of cleaning the only downside is the other 2 pedals look s**t next to the shine new 1 !!!!!!!
    #17
  19. murran
    Offline

    murran Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Mar 16, 2012]
    did you guys have any joy with this?
    #18
  20. blucoop
    Offline

    blucoop Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 20, 2012]
    yes murran you were spot on with what you said , just came across this thread trying to help someone else with same problem!

    100% fixed my issue cheers!!
    #19
  21. murran
    Offline

    murran Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Apr 21, 2012]
    cool, happy to help!
    #20
  22. jemd3@yahoo.com
    Offline

    jemd3@yahoo.com New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 16, 2013]
    This is the same issues I am having with my Quattro S-Line on an 07 plate. Runs fantastic most of the time, apart from when it is wet or has been over night. It has been into Audi 11 times, the last time they told me I was imagining it!!!! despite having been transported there by the RAC.
    I was starting to wonder if they were correct. The last time the chap from the RAC advised me to look on this web site, looks like I could have found the solution. Will get the Plenum chamber checked..... Thank you
    #21

Share This Page