1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fixing a brake light?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Johnnyb, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. Johnnyb

    Johnnyb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    299
    Hi,

    Does anyone know how to fix a brake light on an 07 S3? got the warning indicator today, is it just a case of changing the bulb? or would the dealers need to take it in?

    Thanks
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. h5djr

    h5djr Well-Known Member
    Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A3 quattro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8,347
    Likes Received:
    921
    Here is a link to the workshop manual page on how to remove the rear lights on a 3-door A3 - looks quite straight forward.

    Remove rear lights - 3 door
     
  4. Johnnyb

    Johnnyb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    299
    Thanks for that mate, very helpful:)
     
  5. Johnnyb

    Johnnyb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    299
    Just one last thing.....

    Will the DIS display automatically clear the warning message? or do you reset that yourself??

    Thanks in advance
     
  6. h5djr

    h5djr Well-Known Member
    Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A3 quattro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8,347
    Likes Received:
    921
    The DIS checks the bulbs etc every couple of minutes so as soon as the bulb is changed the warning on the DIS will disappear.
     
  7. bacardi

    bacardi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    be bl**dy careful taking the rear light assembly out, managed to break one of the lugs on mine when I first changed the brake light bulb!!
     
  8. h5djr

    h5djr Well-Known Member
    Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A3 quattro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8,347
    Likes Received:
    921
    It's funny but with all 6th of my A3s, I've only had to change a headlamp bulb. Perhaps that's a bit dangerous!. I'll probably go out and get in the car tomorrow and the DIS will go mad and tell me all the bulbs have gone!!!
     
  9. Johnnyb

    Johnnyb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    299
    Thanks for that,

    Im really busy at work the next few weeks, if i cant do it myself do you think the dealer could change it while im waiting? how long does it take?
     
  10. h5djr

    h5djr Well-Known Member
    Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A3 quattro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8,347
    Likes Received:
    921
    I think it should only take a few minutes. I find that if give them a ring first and get them to suggest a convenient time they are usually quite happy to oblige and do it while I wait.
     
  11. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    I believe they will charge you 0.1 of an hour's (i.e. 6 minutes) labour to change the bulb.

    Most garages do this.

    Although they may be helpful and do it FOC.
     
  12. Johnnyb

    Johnnyb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    299
    Thanks im gonna give them a call tomorrow and see if they can do it FOC
     
  13. a3guy

    a3guy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    it is so simple it is hardly worth going just 1 screw , done this twice now.
     
  14. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    I agree, I've done it two or three times too - all on the driver's side for some reason - and it takes two minutes.
     

Share This Page