1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fitting wiper stalk with DIS

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by Newbos, Oct 11, 2012.

  1. Newbos
    Offline

    Newbos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    Hi all

    Just bought a wiper stalk with DIS for my Audi, anyone got any instructions for install and programming?

    Thanks
    Simon
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 27, 2014]

  3. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    remove the steering wheel and install stalk and it should work with no programming
    #2
  4. Newbos
    Offline

    Newbos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    I was hoping someone may say that. So just plug and play?
    #3
  5. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    should be yes, as you already have dis installed but wait until someone else confirms it
    #4
  6. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    It will need to be coded with VCDS mate.


    Also as you do not have the washer level sensor, a warning will be thrown up on your DIS to say washer level low. Now there are two options to take, most take the 2nd option as it is cheaper and can live without the sensor as they never had it in the first place.


    1. Order new bottle and sensor and install.
    or
    2. Splice in to Pin 1 in the connector behind the instrument cluster, the one to the right if you are looking up from the footwell. You will then need to ground the other end if the wire. Job done, no warning!


    Now to do the install of the stalk, if you have ever fitted cruise, then follow the exact same procedure apart from the coding at the end.
    I suggest if you don't have cruise and have the MFSW, then you will have the correct module for cruise, so install all at the same time.


    PM your email address and i will send you a guide. there use to be one about on thd net but i cant seem to find it.

    Just a suggestion, but if your near London, I could fit both for you.
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2012
    #5
  7. Newbos
    Offline

    Newbos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    I haven't got cruise as of yet but it's on my list, but I got the wiper stalk dirt cheap. I have vcds myself do can I just program the water level error out rather than doing option 2?

    I'll pm you email addy for instructions. Really appreciate that.

    Cheers
    Si
    #6
  8. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    Have emailed you mate.

    Just go for option 2, ground pin1 of the blue connector behind the cluster. You will find there is already a wire in pin1, so with an additional bit of wire, just splice into it and solder and ground the other end. If you dont have a soldering iron then a scoth lock will do.

    Simon, for the cuise parts cost, roughly around the £60 mark, then you should do it, otherwise you will just be repeating the same process. You may as well kill two birds with one stone.
    This saying if you have a MFSW as you will have the correct steering module for cruise.

    Keep this thread updated on how you get on fella.

    Good luck
    #7
  9. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    When i retrofitted a full dis dash and the stalk, it just worked. I had danio make me a loom to wire it in and grounded the washer to earth.
    #8
  10. vas67
    Offline

    vas67 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    I have just completed DIS and cruise on my A4 1.9TDI. I found it easier to ground pin 1 of the instruments connector at the other end, ie where it terminates. (saves having to remove instruments)
    This wire is in the passenger side footwell behind A post plastic trim.
    Look for the black 14 pin connector and earth the wire which is at pin 9.
    #9
  11. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    No need to remove instrument cluster, just remove blue plug so you have some slack, splice into wire from pin1, ground to a bolt on the chassis. Job done, 5-10 mins max.
    #10
  12. vas67
    Offline

    vas67 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    Lol, did not even look at that method, I read factory wiring diagram prior to installation and thought the footwell area was easiest option, also no more than 10 mins. More than one way to skin a cat as they say ;-)
    #11
  13. Newbos
    Offline

    Newbos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 12, 2012]
    Cheers guys much appreciated will update once I have the cruise stalk as well.
    #12
  14. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Oct 12, 2012]
    Remember Simon, for cruise, you must have a MFSW or DSG wheel in order to determine you have the right Steering control module to accept cruise. If you have neither, then you will possibly need a new one which are around the £160 new.
    I do have a used one if needed.

    You will need a new lower cowling to accommodate the cruise stalk.
    #13
  15. VagCabby
    Offline

    VagCabby Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Oct 12, 2012]
    If you don't have the right steering wheel control module for cruise search eBay, I have just fitted cruise to my cab and managed to snap up a Q module with cruise stalk for £20 with £5 delivery, if you check every day a bargain will come up
    #14
  16. Newbos
    Offline

    Newbos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 12, 2012]
    I have a MFSW so i should be good to go i hope.
    #15
  17. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Oct 12, 2012]
    Now that is what I call a bargain fella, saved yourself around £180. Very happy days indeed :)
    #16
  18. VagCabby
    Offline

    VagCabby Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Oct 13, 2012]
    I know, most modules on eBay are £80+ this breaker has loads of modules all the the same price, mainly R and S modules. I was looking every day for a cruise module to come up u. Went on, click most recent and two popped up listed 10 mins ago. I snapped one up and within 20mins the other had sold aswell lol both on buy it now for £25 delivered with stalks
    #17
  19. Penninepete1
    Offline

    Penninepete1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 27, 2013]
    Hi all,

    So I have just retrofitted DIS and cruise control and all is working as it should, I just need to ground the wire to stop the washer bottle empty warning appearing.

    I removed the blue plug from the intstrument cluster and there is already a wire in pin 1 as expected. So as I read it, most people just splice into this wire and then ground the other end?

    I was wondering though, where does this wire go, would it already be routed into the engine bay and be an easy job to fit the washer sensor? I havent had chance to try and trace where the wire goes yet, just wondered if anyone knew?
    #18
  20. Newbos
    Offline

    Newbos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 27, 2013]
    Im glad this has come up again, Im off for two weeks after this week so im going to do mine as well and im also keen to know what Pete has asked.
    #19
  21. rizzini7
    Offline

    rizzini7 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Mar 27, 2013]
    I haven't got mfsw but could be tempted with one as I want to install dis and possibly cruise. Could someone please list the part numbers of the correct modules

    Thank you
    #20
  22. Penninepete1
    Offline

    Penninepete1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 28, 2013]
    #21
  23. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Mar 28, 2013]
    Yes mate, splice into wire from pin 1, then the other end you just need to ground to the chassis, so just wrap the wire around a bolt. There is one to the left of the steering column.
    #22
  24. rizzini7
    Offline

    rizzini7 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Mar 28, 2013]
    #23
  25. rizzini7
    Offline

    rizzini7 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Apr 3, 2013]
    Just purchased this, 2005 AUDI A4 2.0 TURBO WIPER & INDICATOR STALK, CRUISE CONTROL 4E0953503B | eBay which I assume is correct for mfsw and cruise. And i ordered an Avant stalk as the one included is for a saloon. (so will have a spare saloon stalk if anyone's interested). Also this wheel AUDI 2008 A4 B7 S LINE SPECIAL EDITION STEERING WHEEL WITH 2 TONE GREY LEATHER | eBay which looks the same as mine just with multi function. So hoping the airbag is the same??? When fitting do you have to use vagcom at the same time? Or can I have the parts fitted the coded a few days later? Thanks
    #24
  26. Newbos
    Offline

    Newbos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 4, 2013]
    I did my DIS stalk yesterday and the only thing that was a little fiddly was splicing into the wire at the back of the cluster or at least it was for me being over 6ft upside down in the footwell with the clutch pedal against my head lol!!
    #25
  27. ESD1711
    Offline

    ESD1711 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    162
    [Apr 5, 2013]
    I've got a DIS stalk and cruise ordered up for mine at the moment, should all arrive any day now.

    I'm just wondering though - how much more cost / effort is it to go the whole hog and do it properly with the washer sensor fitted?

    I'm guessing that seeing as most folk seem to just bypass it then its either costly or fiddly or just not worth the effort......??
    #26
  28. Penninepete1
    Offline

    Penninepete1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 5, 2013]
    I fitted mine and drove around for about 4 days without any problems, Ive read that some cars the ESP doesnt work until you code it, but not the case with mine!
    #27
  29. Penninepete1
    Offline

    Penninepete1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 5, 2013]
    I dont think its expensive for the parts, around £17 I read on another thread somewhere. Its passing a wire through the bulkhead to the washer bottle that I would think is the fiddly bit.

    I always carry a small bottle of washer fluid in the car anyway and my "sensor" is when I pull on the stalk and nothing comes out!! ;)
    #28
  30. Steve220
    Offline

    Steve220 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Apr 5, 2013]
    Is there not a plug in the engine bay for the tank? As i've just got myself a new one with sensor in it.
    #29
  31. rizzini7
    Offline

    rizzini7 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Apr 8, 2013]
    Got a spare saloon stalk if anyone wants one. £34 posted and paypalled which is what it owes me
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2013
    #30
  32. Newbos
    Offline

    Newbos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 9, 2013]
    Just ordered my cruise stalk and trim, so I'm hoping this is even easier than the dis stalk because I don't need to do any wiring just programming.
    #31
  33. rizzini7
    Offline

    rizzini7 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Apr 9, 2013]
    Right I've got avant dis stalk, cruise stalk, mfsw and new steering ecu. Is that all that is needed? As I saw some threads on about new slip ring and some new ecu?? Gonna try cutting old trim (have a spare in case)
    #32
  34. dentsy
    Offline

    dentsy I HAVE THE OPTION CODES

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jan 30, 2014]
    Hi, I bought the wrong DIS stalk I need avant one and I bought the saloon 😡

    Just listed it for sale in classifieds or swap also the cowl I bought is not for cruise 😡😡😡

    Was not a good day on the Bay for me was it lol

    Anyone help out ?

    Si
    #33
  35. Newbos
    Offline

    Newbos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 30, 2014]
    I did exactly the same on the stalk lol!! I wondered why it was so cheap. Once u have right parts it's easy mate. Just make sure your clutch switch (common problem) is working.
    #34
  36. dentsy
    Offline

    dentsy I HAVE THE OPTION CODES

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jan 30, 2014]
    Ok cool keep any eye out for me mate if you see one 😃😃
    #35
  37. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Jan 31, 2014]
    Guys, I may have a couple of the avant dis stalks next week. PM me if interested.

    Cheers
    #36
  38. dentsy
    Offline

    dentsy I HAVE THE OPTION CODES

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Feb 11, 2014]
    Mine Arrived Saturday 😃😃 many thanks mate.

    All I gotta do now is get it fitted along with my cruise 😃

    I have a saloon dis stalk for sale if anyone interested

    Si
    #37
  39. dentsy
    Offline

    dentsy I HAVE THE OPTION CODES

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Feb 15, 2014]
    Hi all, if I fit the cruise switch and DIS stalk this weekend will my car still work ok until I can get the new parts coded in?

    Just thinking that you can't fit new bits as it may disable something on the car until it's coded

    Thanks

    Si
    #38

Share This Page