1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fitting Two Piece Projectors

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by diarmuid, Jul 6, 2005.

  1. diarmuid
    Offline

    diarmuid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally got some two piece projectors (I know one piece are the best but haven't got the b&lls to cut the wing, yet anyway!)

    I still have to to wait for the clear corners as I bought them off German E-Bay and the picture had clear corners so I presumed they came with them as well. My German is not the best (I know I should have asked this question but never mind). I've ordered the clear corners in the UK so I'll have them by the weekend hopefully.

    I don't think it should be too much of a job to fit but the only problem is the instructions are in German ( as I said my German is not the best!) I've e-mailed in.pro to request an English version of the fitting instructions have to wait and see if I get them.

    From looking at the instructions there is a diagram of some guy opening up the console on the steering wheel to get access to some wires in order to change them. From looking at it seems that if you change from H4 to H7 bulbs you must do this.

    Has anybody else had to to this when the installed two-piece projectors

    Thanks in advance for any responses

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #1
  2. imported_Yaseen
    Online

    imported_Yaseen Guest

    if you have got the normal 2 piece depo/Inpro style ones than no wire changes are needed.

    have you got any pics/link to the auction and the instructions?
    #2
  3. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    Hiya Mate, took the plunge then,lol /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/woohoo.gif


    Mine just plugged in, the only thing that will not work is the fog lights as the projector lamps are not fitted with them.

    I fitted mine seperatly using OEM lamps etc, and just dropped the wires down th the respective fog.

    HTH
    #3
  4. diarmuid
    Offline

    diarmuid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I scanned the instruction book page (see below)

    http://photobucket.com/albums/a84/ddsull/?action=view&current=InstructionsforLights.jpg

    I'm not too worried about the foglights as I never had them anyway. There was no fog light button on the centre console so I don't think I have them anyway.

    I wonder is it possible to get the instructions in English. I don't suppose anyone here has the instructions in English available?

    Just have to wait for the free corners to arrive before I start the install

    Thanks
    #4
  5. diarmuid
    Offline

    diarmuid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers Mark,
    Finally bought them after much deliberating. I also bought some 99.5 tail lights so it should look a bit fresher after I've finished.
    #5
  6. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    I have the 99.5 tails. they look good, i still wonder whether i should have bought the red/white FK ones tho....
    hmmmmm
    #6
  7. Danielson
    Offline

    Danielson Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi i fitted my depo 2 piece headlights in about an hour, its really easy, you wont need the instructions mate.
    #7
  8. mayflower
    Offline

    mayflower New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I took the pliunge and fitted the one piece lamps including angel eye sidelights, I purchased them from e-styling.co.uk and they look the dogs bo******. There isn't much wing to cut out but you will need a specialist pair of curved tinsnips to do the job. I've also fitted the lexus LED rear lamps, look good but are even better at night when illuminated.
    #8
  9. diarmuid
    Offline

    diarmuid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good stuff. Would like to see some pics if you have some. Cheers
    #9
  10. mayflower
    Offline

    mayflower New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm new on this site and haven't discovered how to post any photos yet, send me your e mail address and I'll forward them on.
    #10
  11. diarmuid
    Offline

    diarmuid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just sent you an e-mail
    #11
  12. diarmuid
    Offline

    diarmuid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey,

    I'm going to attempt to fit two piece headlights tomorrow (made by in-pro). I took of one of the headlights off the car earlier today to see what the story is with fitting them.

    I know people have said on here that they are plug and play but surely there must be some additional work to do to attach the motors. Below are pictures of the existing Valeo headlamps (sorry about the size of the images)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    The part in the bottom left is I presume the motor. There is a separate socket that fits in to this motor. On the inpro headlights there is no motor present. See below:



    [​IMG]

    I'm wondering whether or not I have to take the motor from the Valeo light and fit it on the In.Pro light. Has anybody done this before or has everyone else who have installed the two piece lights not attached the motors i.e. the lights can not be raised up and down on the light height adjuster.

    If you look at the instruction manual it seems as though you must take of the motor and attach it to the in.pro light (I may be wrong though). See belwo (left page)

    [​IMG]

    I'd appreciate any advice,

    Thanks

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #12
  13. Danielson
    Offline

    Danielson Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive still not fitted the motors, as i didnt ever tow anything or hav a lot of weight in the back. how often do you use the height adjustment?
    #13
  14. diarmuid
    Offline

    diarmuid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Snoop,

    I use the adjustment quite a bit as I sometimes have quite a bit weight in the back karting stuff around for work.

    It would have been much easier if the in.pro lights cam with their own mototrs installed. Do you know if it's a big job to fit them or did you not fit them because it's too much hassle.
    Cheers
    #14
  15. imported_Yaseen
    Online

    imported_Yaseen Guest

    look just like my 2 piece in the pics.

    You need to make sure the thin metal piece near the headligh bulb is in the right way so its LHD.

    To fit the motors is easy- as shown on your diagram As your existing adjuster motor`s end (the white stick) will be longer than needed for the new headlight you use one of the adapters to increase the gap so it sits right.

    Screw adapter to headlight, insert motor and insert and slide across into the groove in the headlight inner to fit.

    They supply two different size adapters as the oem two piece were first made by Valeo, then Bosch so motors were different.

    let me know if you need more help /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #15
  16. diarmuid
    Offline

    diarmuid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers Yaseen.
    I thought you had to take out the black insert in order to fit the oem motor (including the white "stick") to the in.pro headlight. I was trying for about an hour last night but to no avail. Unfortunately, I took out the rubber seal on the blcak insert. So I'll have to try and fit this back in tonight.

    So what you're saying is that the white bit pops off the OEM motors and it connects on to the black inserts on the in.pro headlights?
    #16
  17. imported_Yaseen
    Online

    imported_Yaseen Guest

    hard to explain. The motor stays as it is- do not break detach anything!!

    Headlight <--- adapter<------ motor

    as shown in pictures under your section 6.

    1) remove the cover to expose the hole.
    2) Look inside to see the section where the ball at the end of your motor will slide into
    3) test your motor with each plastic adapter to see which fits leaving no gaps
    2) screw onto the headlight itself that plastic pieces with the seal if applicable
    3) using a twisting motion slide the motor inplace. (ie start at opening and slide up to fit snugly in)
    #17
  18. diarmuid
    Offline

    diarmuid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok,
    Thats alright then all I have to do is figure out how to ge the cover off. It doesn't seem to just pop off as it is connected to with a thread to the white insert in the in.pro lamp. Did you have to get your fingers in the back of the headlight to try and slide it out of the ehite insert. I definitely thought it would be an easier job to ge the covers out than what it seems to be. When I try to pull out the covers it is still attached to the white insert and I can't seem to be able to slide it out /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif
    #18
  19. imported_Yaseen
    Online

    imported_Yaseen Guest

    can`t remember what I did as year ago.

    But most likely yes- it is quite tight in there so If possible stick a finger in and push it off the end of the insert.
    #19
  20. diarmuid
    Offline

    diarmuid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Yaseen. Will try that later on
    #20

Share This Page