1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fitting S3 seats

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by BromleyA3, Mar 10, 2005.

  1. BromleyA3

    BromleyA3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    im getting an S3 interior very soon does anyone have any fitting insructions im fitting them in to my 98 A3 1.6 SE will the airbag connecters just plug in or will i need 2 get new connecters or join them of some sort as the S3 interior is from a 2002 car many thanks
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. god_thats_quick

    god_thats_quick Numptie of the highest order

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    think you might have more fun than your banking on with this one... are the seats heated? if they are then there's not just the airbag connector, but also the heating connector and the power seat connector, could be fun to sort, good luck though, guess you need a wiring diagram for the seats, someone might have them on here???
     
  4. BromleyA3

    BromleyA3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    nah they are not but im not taht bothered about teh heated seats i thought that i would jsut have to run a cable 2 a permanent or switched live from the seat/lumbar
     
  5. s3tle

    s3tle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    1
    as i understand it, if the airbag warning light is on none of the airbags will fire in a crash. removing the seats is very easy, remove the plastic trim covering the ends of the runners behind the seats, then undo the torx head bolts below the front of the seats, which hold to the car, then just slide them back and off the runners, unpluging the wires underneath when you can reach them.
     
  6. BromleyA3

    BromleyA3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. s3tle

    s3tle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    1
    yep just need power to be on the ignition, i took the power from the buss bar, behind the lower dash below the steering wheel, the yellow terminal on the left is the ignition live. From here you can either buy the correct wires from audi so you can have a fuse in the board in the side of the dash with the others, or just install a inline fuse. The run the wire to the seats using their existing earth. I thought your old seats were already powered, so wouldn't need new wiring?

    As for airbags, i took mine S3 seats out at weekend to have a look at plugs. Connecting new plugs isn't the difficult part, like you say can get new ones from audi to replace seat ones so the car loom isn't cut. The difficult part is that the wire colours on the s3 seats aren't the same as on the car, so isn't as easy as just connecting red to red.

    Car has combination of yellow and green striped wires, And brown earth
    both seats have a brown earth
    s3 seats have a blue and a black wire
    a3 seats have a blue and another thinner brown wire

    now you would think the blues match up and therefore the black and brown belong together?!!!

    sounded a bit too risky to guess i thought!! so i put a 4.7 ohm resistor in the cars plug and reset with vagcom, so the other bags will work til i ask a electrician friend of mine.

    another safety point with airbags, static electricity can set them off!!!! also if you do replace the plugs ensure you don't touch the wires together, at any point!!! could get messy!!!!!!!!!
     
  8. BromleyA3

    BromleyA3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    many thanks settle does anyone else no the colours to math them up then
     
  9. BromleyA3

    BromleyA3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. Leddy

    Leddy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Settle, did you get anywhere with matching up the wires?
     
  11. s3tle

    s3tle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    1
    to be honest i haven't bothered, i'm selling the car with the s3 seats in it and don't wanna mess anything up with it. BromleyA3, the resistor just sits in the plug on the car, two contacts on the plug, one end of the resistor into each contact, easy as that.
     
  12. BromleyA3

    BromleyA3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    then will the airbag light have to be re set or will it just not go on many thanks settle
     
  13. BromleyA3

    BromleyA3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    khufu so are u saying the green wire goes with the black wire and the white wire goes with the blue wire and brown wire goes with brown wire ?????
     
  14. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,705
    Likes Received:
    31
    according to WinElsa, I will try to get the PDF for you - its a pain that you cant link to a pic/file off of your hard drive anymore.
     
  15. s3tle

    s3tle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks khufu, that looks like the wire colours of the a3 seats, don't suppose you have a similar diagram but of a latter spec s3??
     
  16. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,705
    Likes Received:
    31
  17. mlcadman

    mlcadman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    right as i may be able to get some S3 interior was wondering about this resistor? where from how much and what does it look like? if its got a part number or code which am i after?
     
  18. s3tle

    s3tle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks khufu i'll digest that pdf and see if i can figure out wires
    the resistors cost 14p for the pair from Maplins, there website is www.maplin.co.uk find your nearest store and just ask them for a 4.7 ohm resistor, just make sure you as for a 4.7 ohm not 4.7k.
     
  19. Leddy

    Leddy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    I shall be attempting to fit my new interior this weekend. I have no electric lumbar adjustment, so I will be running an ignition live to the front seats.

    What ampage in-line fuse should i use?
     
  20. Leddy

    Leddy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone?
     
  21. s3tle

    s3tle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    1
    leddy a 10 amp fuse should be fine
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. s3tle

    s3tle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    1
    also leddy i've just noticed your car is a 2002 spec, now i'm unsure what interior you've bought but guess it's an s3 one, in which case you might find you don't have any airbag connector problems that i had because later A3's have the same connectors as S3's, goodluck with the change over
     
  24. Leddy

    Leddy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    also leddy i've just noticed your car is a 2002 spec, now i'm unsure what interior you've bought but guess it's an s3 one, in which case you might find you don't have any airbag connector problems that i had because later A3's have the same connectors as S3's, goodluck with the change over

    [/ QUOTE ]

    That would be a real bonus, I won't know until I've got everything stripped really. The other fortunate thing is that the seller included the car end of the loom so I have the S3 plugs if I need to do some on-the-fly rewiring!

    The only tricky bit will be running power to the seats, i'm planning on breaking into the switched live at the fuse box, though this is already feeding the headunit and my bluetooth hands free kit - do you think this is okay or should i break into the hot side of that fuse and put my own inline fuse?
     
  25. Leddy

    Leddy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    hat would be a real bonus, I won't know until I've got everything stripped really. The other fortunate thing is that the seller included the car end of the loom so I have the S3 plugs if I need to do some on-the-fly rewiring!


    [/ QUOTE ]

    You should be carefull doing any rewiring on the original airbag wiring. Authorized Audi personal are not allowed to do this; they have to remove the hole loom and replace it with a new one. (a thing to think about if you're going to sell your car /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Thanks for the words of warning! I am only going to plug them straight in if the plugs are the same on my car as the plugs on the seats (as Settle pointed out, there is a good chance they are due to the year of my car). If they aren't, i'll leave the airbags unplugged, and take the car to my local specialist on Monday and let it be their problem!

    Any ideas on the ignition live feed I mentioned above?
     
  26. s3tle

    s3tle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    1
    i would definately go on to the switched feed on the buss bar, its rated for 75amps, i think, so running the headunit, bluetooth and seats should be fine.
    what are the new seats like? full leather, half leather? colour combination?
     
  27. s3tle

    s3tle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    1
    also are you going to wire up the heating?
     
  28. Leddy

    Leddy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    The seats are grey full leather S3 items, and for the moment i'll leave the heating as I haven't had a good think about where to locate the switches. There is a thread in here regarding the blanks either side of the esp switch that would be ideal, but I don't think anyone knows any good OEM switches that will fit there. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    Btw, the fuse in the SKontact feed is 10amps I think, would this be groovy for all the items that will be hanging off it?

    I'll be sure to post pics when finished /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif
     
  29. Markb

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    So Leddy what are you doing with your old seats? Also what colour are they?
     
  30. Leddy

    Leddy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    So Leddy what are you doing with your old seats? Also what colour are they?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    They are anthracite, was going to stick them on ebay as they are mint, unless someone on here wants them. I can get you some pics tomorrow if you want.
     
  31. olekvi

    olekvi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    [ QUOTE ]
    i would definately go on to the switched feed on the buss bar, its rated for 75amps?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Where is this 'buss bar'?

    regards
     
  32. Leddy

    Leddy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right, everything fitted. Airbag plugs were the same so that was nic eand easy, ignition and earth was run from the fuse box. All electric amazingly worked first time.

    Front seats

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Rear seats

    [​IMG]
     
  33. olekvi

    olekvi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    [ QUOTE ]
    Right, everything fitted. Airbag plugs were the same so that was nic eand easy, ignition and earth was run from the fuse box. All electric amazingly worked first time.


    [/ QUOTE ]

    Looks great!

    As I have S3 el recaros just waiting to get fitted; where did you run the cables? Did you buy a wire loom or did you create one yourself? (shouldn't be that hard) Where in the fuse box is ign-on found?

    regards
     
  34. Kevint

    Kevint Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Look nice mate /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

    Kev.
     
  35. Leddy

    Leddy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    As all the plugs were included with the seats, i just ran power and earth cables myself and joined them to the power plug. Ran the cables down from the fusebox under the carpet along the door sill and across under the carpet to where the airpug plugs come out.

    The connection you want at the fusebox is labeled Kontact-s in the handbook. If you do a search in the Ice section of this forum you should find a tutorial by AndyMac that shows you how to break into the correct fuse and it's likely location in the fusebox.
     
  36. olekvi

    olekvi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    [ QUOTE ]

    The connection you want at the fusebox is labeled Kontact-s in the handbook. If you do a search in the Ice section of this forum you should find a tutorial by AndyMac that shows you how to break into the correct fuse and it's likely location in the fusebox.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Thanks a lot :)
     
  37. FactionOne

    FactionOne Administrator
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    182
    Hey Leddy,

    Seats are looking sweet. I wish I could nip-out and just grab a set right now! ...Maybe some day.

    Regards,

    Rob.
     
  38. PaulJC84

    PaulJC84 Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    12
    does anyone know if S3 S4 seats are exactly the same?

    How easy are they to fit into a A4, anyone?

    My A4 has electric lumber support so how would i wire up the other movements.

    Cheers
     
  39. nervus

    nervus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    107
    S3 and S4 seats are essentially the same except the S4's dont have the forward tilt/release facility as in the 3-Door S3!
     
  40. PaulJC84

    PaulJC84 Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ok cool cheers.

    Anyone know about the electrics cos my standard ones are part electric (Lumber).

    Thanks
     
  41. s3tle

    s3tle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    1
    i'm not sure if your trying to fit S3 seats into a A4 or S4 seats? S4 will of course fit but i don't think S3 ones will?! pretty sure they have different runners, could get them changed i guess but would be expensive and effort?! but then i guess S4 seats are like rocking horse sh*t!
     

Share This Page